Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Tentacle Boy

by thegunmaster - Jam Entry

A game in which you must control the arms of a boy in order to get back home.
Your goal is to get the box out of the lab and drop it infront of the cave.
This will open up the cave so that you can pass.

the controls are: wasd-q ijkl-o and space
wasd and ijkl:
control the arms as expected
q and o:
fully retract the arms
space:
switch the hand that can crab stuff (indicated by the particles)

I used libgdx and the basics for another game i was working on. That game only required simple collision handeling, so i made it myself. For that reason this game has fairly poor collision detection.

I had some nice music in this game too, but unfortunately this for some reason doesn't play after the file is compled.

credits:
music by selulance:
https://selulance.bandcamp.com/
https://youtube.com/user/selulance
code by me:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC8mMfKO6VC-dpCNmbDSRolA
https://www.youtube.com/user/TheGunMasterDigital
graphics by Erica Leertouwer

update:
I have made a few slight changes 2 days after the contest;
-the music was included but didn't work before due to a bug
-the level was too short before so I altered it a bit
-fixed random crashes due to memory leaks

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#47Innovation(Jam)4.03
#193Theme(Jam)3.79
#207Humor(Jam)3.23
#260Mood(Jam)3.48
#335Audio(Jam)3.26
#431Overall(Jam)3.35
#474Fun(Jam)3.21
#678Graphics(Jam)3.10

Comments

sand6r says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:15pm

WOW, what a nice game, amazing graphics and shitstuff

remmy says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:04am

This was amazing! :)
I needed a while to figure the controls out but when you finally get it, it works quite well.
At the first try i fell into the pit, at the second i got the Nitro and even made it back, but when i dropped it on top of the cave (not before it) it only blew a tiny opening into the stones. http://remics.net/screen/210416015533.png
This was a bit frustrating and i did not have the motivation to do everything again, but i guess the game would have ended there anyway :P
Anyway, i really loved it, i think i played your game for the longest time so far this LD.

remmy says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:09am

Oh, i forgot to say that it would have been nice to somehow distinguish the two tentacles, i fell down a lot by mixing them up and having to guess which one i need to retract/bend now.

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:26pm

Wow very nice concept! Art and music are very nice too! But I guess it's too hard for me to control T_T Can't get through the reverse climbing part...

Anyway great entry!

fafastudio says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:49pm

Absolutely great, even if i couldn't pass the first 5 meters <3

DcrDro says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:01pm

very interesting idea! :) and very hard to play :)

Fanatrick says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:19pm

Bit too hard to grasp, nice application of the theme.

Odyssey says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 11:20am

Loved the art and the concept

Apr 25, 2016 @ 3:22pm

Good use of theme, cute tentacle boy, and lovely background music. The movement drove me mad, though. Gripping seemed to do very little, since it was so easy to knock yourself free, and so easy to let go by pushing the wrong button. I do love the idea though!

Perhaps you might want to check out another game I saw that uses similar mechanics, though it took a much different track with it. Maybe it might help with more ideas? http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=56711

johnbrynte says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 11:15pm

It almost felt like walking! Except you control each leg with the hand on the opposite side of your body, moving each leg independently up/down front/back by pressing unlabeled buttons, and at the same time being amazed by the peculiar things that your legs can do.

I would probably have liked this amazing game more if the poor boy have had no legs, since there is no valid explanation as to why he does not just use them to walk. Sincerely, I hope that you continue to develop this idea. Especially the control scheme <3

geekguy100 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 9:59pm

Looks like it has potential. The controls are a bit hard, but it reminds me of QWOP. Also, awesome graphics!

jofra says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 1:21am

Great ambient music! A little hard, but the concept was very cool! Reminded me of the game octopus dad.

ciaodavinci says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 1:40am

Really cool mechanic although I did find it hard to use. Great interpretation of the theme!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]