Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shape Hockey

by dreadzilla - Compo Entry

Shape Hockey is a physics game written in JavaScript with the help of the Phaser framework.

Tools used:
sfxr for sound effects.
LMMS for music.
Paint.net for images.
SublimeText for code editing.

The game has been tested in Chrome, Firefox and Edge. (Internet Explorer can't play wav. I will create mp3s if there is public demand. ^.^ )

Tip: The further the mouse pointer is from "your" balls, the faster they travel towards your mouse pointer.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#180Innovation3.61
#435Fun3.18
#448Humor2.25
#485Audio2.63
#557Overall3.11
#618Mood2.69
#746Theme2.88
#798Graphics2.35
#1712Coolness35%

Comments

Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:47pm

Very well done. Quite original if you ask med.

monkeybit29 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:32am

pretty cool, never seen a (paddle?) like this

jdeuce says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:31pm

Very interesting concept. Fun to play. Took a bit to get used to the controls.

maartene says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:33pm

Cool new control scheme. Should work well as a mobile game also.

I didn't really get the idea of the changing shape. What was the point there?

Verz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:33pm

Cool and different game :)

joaomosmann says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:28pm

Well done! I really liked the idea of control. Another aspect that worth mentioning is the fact the the red object gets bigger after each click, making it easier and encouraging the player to finish the level.

psyxose says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:26am

Good innovative game, I liked it.

liva says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:46am

Awesome game!

Larzan says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:53pm

Wow, great idea, very original, but haaaaaaaard :)

Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:44pm

It turned out pretty polished! Very frustrating gameplay though!

LoneStranger says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:00am

Weird way to control the shape, but interesting. Not sure it works exactly as it is, but trying out some twists to it might yield something better. Not sure I understood what the deal was with the changing shape.

suppi says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 8:44pm

well done! very original and fun game :)

Yumeito says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 8:37pm

Nice Game:)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]