Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The Golden Sphere

by smbe19 - Jam Entry

A lone wanderer in the alps sees a big golden sphere and touches it. A voice then appears and gives him transformation capabilities: The wanderer can turn into a wolf or a turtle at will. He is given just one task: To reach the top of the nearby mountain.

This is a jump and run puzzle game that requires the player to use his available transformations to get ahead. It can be quite frustrating at times, so beware.

The most remarkable feature of this game is the implementation of voice acting. This was a new experience for all people involved in the development.

This game should provide you with more than 15 minutes of game play divided into eight interesting levels. Have fun!

Controls
--------

Click the Golden Sphere in the menu to start the game :)

A / D - Walk left / right
W - Jump / Climb
W / S - Swim Up / Down
E - Interact
1 - Human Form
2 - Turtle Form
3 - Wolf Form
Enter - Skip Narration
P - Reset Level

Post Jam Fixes
--------------
- If narration sound is disabled no subtitles were displayed
- First Level was way too hard

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#25Humor(Jam)4.11
#121Theme(Jam)3.95
#139Audio(Jam)3.70
#208Fun(Jam)3.53
#269Overall(Jam)3.54
#377Mood(Jam)3.31
#519Graphics(Jam)3.38
#572Innovation(Jam)3.02

Comments

varuns says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:06am

The narration and music was so GOOD! You should really make it longer, I would gladly pay for this. Wow :D

The first game I'll be rating with almost all 5s!

Minor glitches -
In the third scene ("stones can be helpful") my turtle fell into the water and couldn't jump out.
The human keeps jumping for a while after ascending the rope.

DeinFreund says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:05pm

gr8 b8 m8 i r8 8/8

Hempuli says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:19pm

Very nice if very hard. The narration was really neat, especially in the very beginning! Also I liked how versatile the various forms were. The levels get pretty long in the end and having to restart the whole level felt a bit frustrating.

Xanjos says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:17pm

Pretty hard but fun game. Absolutely loved the hilarious narration.

MementoGames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:57pm

Awesome entry!
Loved the narration!
Tight gameplay although that sometimes the controls felt a little "weird".

Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:08pm

Very fun, great use of vocals. Tough, discrete little sequences. One of my favorites, will be coming back later to complete. Fantastic job!

SoulBound says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:09pm

Amazing game! The music and art where perfect and it is a really fun game to play.

rodobodolfo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:16pm

wow, i really loved this entry!! music, sound, speech, really awesome! The commentary system works really well, 73% people will know that.
The controls were annoying for me though, I had to do right hand wasd but maybe thats just me. Good job!

Kelpow says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:03pm

I like the concept, and your naration was cool, but I had a bit too much trouble with controls. The first level with the moving platforms frustrated me to no-end. Still a good game overall.

mightymarcus says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:08pm

Great! I really played it some time.

applejam says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:12pm

I think this was one of the best games I've seen on this ludum so far. Everything is great except graphics. 5 stars, my man.

dusho says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:27pm

frustrating indeed :)
died a lot.. also that 'double jump' was annoying
otherwise nice ideas

tobia88 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:15am

Great idea, but the controlling is quiet annoying, i think should be better using arrow keys instead of wsad

Ironhead says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:45pm

Great entry. I enjoyed the humor,(although 73% of people may not), and the art and mechanics were good. I got to a difficult part and stopped playing so I could rate some other entries but I'll be coming back to it. I'm determined to finish! Great job!

RNanoware says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:59am

Very enjoyable game, and the voice narration was a great touch! I found the controls a bit finnicky, but then again it was only a 72-hour development period, so there's only so much one can do.

nlbi21 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:23am

Lol this is one of the best games I've played in this Ludum Dare, I really love everything to me you have 5 star at all. The pixel art, sounds, humor, is fun and the music are the best I have this Ludum Dare. Really congratulations I would like to play this game in the future.

Pickens Inc. says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:41pm

Played your game on stream. Really enjoyed it. Platforming collision is a tad buggy, but everything is made 100 times better with the humorous narration!

Paskal007r says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 1:45pm

Great narration, good concept, well executed. I laughed a lot on the "34" jumpers joke.

lanestp says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:33pm

That was fun. Other than the start. I wanted to kill you guys with the falling rocks. But once I got past the first jump it was great!

MatMortatti says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:57pm

Hello!

The idea and the narration were interesting. The graphics were nice too, and handled the concept well.

There are some things, in my opinion, that should be adjusted, especially the difficulty. I mean, those falling rocks were evil.

Also, the controls felt weird (I think there was too much momentum), but that's comprehensible due to how hard it is to implement good platformer mechanics.

Orion Dev says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:53pm

Awesome Game bro! Love the art and narration :)

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:01pm

The narration was hilarious!!! I died a million times and the rocks at the beginning took me forever to get though but I loved that!! hahah.. that was a funny game and a great experience! Nicely done!

CtrlAltTea says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:58pm

Pretty hard for a butterfingers... I would prefer to use arrow keys instead of WASD. Great idea with the narration, it really added to the whole experience!

thedashdude says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:44pm

Funny and a bit too hard, an enjoyable game but I wasn't a huge fan. Smaller puzzles that took less time to redo would have been nice.

SpringCabal says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:51am

The voice narration and humour involved in it is what sets this game apart from the rest. I think it worked very well and I enjoyed how it seemed to respond to player's actions (most notably death). It does help make what would otherwise be frustratingly difficult levels fun.

The controls however could've been done a bit better, especially since this is a run/puzzle game. I found it particularly odd how my character would react on ropes, where it wouldn't be able to stay still or just strafe to the left/right side when on top. I also think that the three form buttons could've been positioned at some different place (maybe j/k/l), allowing you to move and change form a bit easier, as it's currently required to do most things with one hand. At the same time though, the slightly quirky controls adds a bit to the game's difficulty which isn't necessarily bad either.

On some levels (especially the one with disappearing jump spots), it can get a bit frustrating when you die, having to repeat the whole thing from scratch when it has easy parts that just take time (like walking with the turtle in the water). Checkpoints would help maybe.

To summarize, I think it's a good entry and I think it was a great decision to add voice narration.

Freank says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:51am

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

ZYXer says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 9:45pm

Those are some frustrating levels! But awesome take on the theme and great mechanic.

I love the voice acting. Am I hearing a slight Swiss accent there? :P

torcado says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 6:35pm

interesting game. good concept, and i liked the story and humor, but the game wasnt very polished. good job though!

gelisam says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 10:47pm

I gave up in the level in which the boulders are falling on you -- wait, that describes every level -- the one where you push a button to make them fall. I turned into a turtle and survived the rocks, but then I couldn't move nor transform, and getting there was hard enough that I didn't want to try again.

3T3A says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 6:27pm

A pretty fun game with very good graphic. I really like these, it look like mc pixel.
But that lvl 8, it's too hard and it's very punitive when you fail a jump :/
And the humour, pretty fun thought.
A very good game, short but it'll be a game that i won't forget in some days.

May 8, 2016 @ 12:25am

Nice audio! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/tTBSC0cP_38

Ellian says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 10:03am

Ahah, the game itself is functional, but the voiceover and the writing takes the crown; awesome work on that it was super funny to play ahah

BSODDevTeam says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 6:43pm

I really like the storyteller. He is such a little troll. Well done.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]