Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Body Key

by vicious_br - Compo Entry

Body Shape is a puzzle game that requires skill to change the shape quickly. There are several rooms with obstacles that must be overcome by changing the shape, where each shape has a special ability.

How to play:
Press D, S and A to switches shape. You should get to the portal to move from room (one white triangle on the other side of the screen).

You can only pass if your body is the same shape of the portal.

A = square. You stop the triangle push to be heavy.
S = circle. You can bounce and still the movement is extended to be a circle.
D = triangle. The triangular shape is the only one that can move.

Press D, aim with the mouse and press D again to drive in the direction of the mouse.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#25Fun4.05
#67Overall3.87
#104Innovation3.81
#115Theme3.92
#119Audio3.53
#169Mood3.41

Comments

brandann says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:15pm

Great game, at first the controls are a little odd, but after a few levels it gets addicting! good theme and great music!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:20am

Fantastic, once you get the hang of the controls. The level design is fantastic, but the last level is frustrating!

blockdroppers says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:47am

Really fun game! Love the levels

okoto says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:52am

Well done.

jollyserpent says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:59am

Very fun, the movement feels pretty intuitive and you get the hang of it quite fast, and then the levels gradually start getting harder and harder. Well done!

Geti says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:00am

Fun, if a little annoying relying on physics like this :P a nice simple control scheme though and the difficulty curve seemed fair.

Idorrac says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:22pm

Super fun game! The mechanics are simple but make for some interesting challenges!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:35pm

This is seriously awesome, couldn't stop before I finished all 20 lvls, great job!

zookatron says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:18pm

Very fun! The level design was on point. I liked how you handled movement, very unique. :)

Raphael_ says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:29pm

Nice game, solid fun.

pirate_shell says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:13am

Not much art to talk about but I think for a game like this keeping it simple and clean was the right decision. The music was subtle enough to be enjoyable and not really get repetative. The main mechanic was really quite simple to understand, yet surprisingly enjoyable and fun to mess around with. I also liked how you built more and more on top of it as time went on. Overall, very solid entry!

Toonhawk says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:06pm

Bit awkward when you first start, but you once you get how the mechanics work it's very fun. I'm not sure about the limited transitions thing, as I find it a little annoying having to reset the whole level if I aim wrong once but don't die or accidentally push the wrong button, but that's mostly a personal taste thing I suppose.

Music got a bit droning and a big block of red as a background would probably strain the eyes if you played for a bit longer, but for a gamejam those are nitpicks. Other than that the graphics were very clear and I was never confused about what anything was supposed to be.

terryg says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:15am

The instructions in the beginning were pretty unclear, but once you understood the movement, the puzzles were fun. Got stuck on level 11.

Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:07pm

I loved it! the instructions could be a little clearer and the spike collisions seemed needlessly rough but other than that I enjoyed it!

Jin47 says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 7:55am

Very great game. The concept is perfectly in the theme. The controls may be weird at a first thought but they perfectly answer the gameplay. Good Job !

pjimmy says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 9:02am

Interesting, but visually ugly, and the controls felt weird. The audio is good though.

dcolgan says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:44pm

Awesome - many Ludum Dare games fail to be a complete package, but this game has all the required ingredients for a real and actual game: gameplay, sound, graphics, challenge, pacing, etc. Nicely done for such a short time!

flummox3d says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 8:46pm

Pretty solid mechanics, really fun game. Nice work! :)

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 6:02am

i lkik ethe red and black, level design is cool too

Kerdelos says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 9:15am

I have to admitt, I really wasn't convinced, the controls were really not easy and the game felt poor to me. BUT. Then came the shift limit on each shape and yay it became fun. Really fun. I just finished the game and I'm actually quite sad there are'nt more levels. Anyway, really good job man! And congrats for your son ;)

Yumeito says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 8:25pm

Nice Game:)

adam says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 3:25pm

Very neat little game. The concepts were clearly introduced although it's a bit odd that square and circle limit how many times you can change into them whereas triangle limits how many times you can jump. I appreciate the fact that you didn't make individual levels too long since it's easy to make a minor slip-up and lose progress. Level 18 took me longest by far as the limits came into play on that one unlike level 20. It can be annoying when you end up with a circle rolling really slowly but you know it will get where you want if you just wait for ages and ages.

ryjcio says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:45pm

Uh, dude, I really wanted to beat this game. But whole gameplay it's so frustring, when you cannot predict what is going to happen. I think this game is not hard, but just not fair. :( But I think whole art and feel & look is very, very well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]