Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Pretty Kitty Katie

by ruthiepee - Compo Entry

Katie is the prettiest kitty with the prettiest babies! Protect her babies from the ghosts by chasing them away with the arrow keys. Press space to shift into 'rabid' mode.

######################################

My first game in Unity! It was basically a nightmare. ;) I programmed this game in C# in Sublime Text 2. I made all the artwork in Aseprite and Photoshop and I used Milkytracker (and my own voice) to compose the audio.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#9Humor4.24
#35Graphics4.26
#96Audio3.60
#155Mood3.43
#204Overall3.53
#366Fun3.28
#727Innovation2.67
#811Theme2.70
#1712Coolness35%

Comments

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:40pm

The art style is great, and the ghosts spawning from the top as the difficulty increased made the game challenging.

BigBrother says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:57am

This is actually really fun! I really like how the art is set up and the game play is really nice too!

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:19am

I LOVE THIS SO MUCH <3 HAHAHAHAHAHAHHAH

i laughed so hard when i saw the transformed racoon~ <3

this is very fun! a bit too easy, but fun either way <3

F4KETHIS says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:20am

Animations and art are spot on, gameplay is a bit lacking/samey. I loved it though. Great job, so funny.

samlo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:55pm

Ahahaha still can't get over the sad ghost

uvwar says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:35pm

Cool game Ruthie! I can't run out of 'rabidness' can I? I just ran around holding it the whole time. I also launched a top ghost into the air and maybe 30 seconds later it came back down and stole a trash baby instantly :(

fenwick says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:11am

This art is just too good, I absolutely love it. Like some others have said I wish there was a little more to the gameplay.

Drusilla says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:36am

I tried to push it real good. They still stole my babies!

Arvydas says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:07am

Fun, a bit too easy haha! I enjoyed playing though, good work.

TheColorMan says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:11am

I liked the simple controls and the music was awesome.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:12am

Art is cute :3. Should the game end when all babies are taken? Because it just kept going for me.

Jungle says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:13am

The art of racoon is very cool!!! The animaiton is fluid. I relly like to move with the player char heheheh. Very cool game.

doombrowski says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:18am

The scare animation is great!

ployer says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:21am

very cute, lacking in difficulty, stopped after 300 lol. raccoon looked great. gj

GrimGary says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:28am

Salt n Peppa in the house! I liked this cute and simple game about motherly companionship and spirituality =)

Raptorij says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:54am

game is easy

Jetro says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:47am

Good art, good sound, easy but funny. Nice game!!

bryGPO says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:34am

A simple game, but I had a smile on my face the entire time playing it! Katie is #1 kitty. Love the art and humor of it. Great job!

Rakowu says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:55am

Ok first of all, i love it. The animation is great,really funny and nice pixelart. Love the sound while getting crazy and the music is really good. Great job. Maybe try to make the "scare ghost" action trigger once while true. It is to easy if you hold space down. But great idea, and really funny. Good job. keep it on.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:20pm

Katie is indeed the prettiest kitty! The game was easy but it made me smile while I can hold the space as long as I want while Katie is in rabid mode. Great graphics style and music too.

jk5000 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:57pm

Hahahahaha

goost says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:08pm

A very nice game! I really like your art work :) It's a bit too easy, especcially at the beginning but anyway, it's great game!

esayitch says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:16pm

The sound effect when the kitty turns rabid is pretty funny xD

Like your last entry, the pixelart is top notch here as well.

Gameplay is a simple kind of fun!

Great entry, good luck!

woodenrabbit says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:13pm

Just :D

Gametery says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:47pm

I really liked the animation of the character and nice work on audio ! Well done.

Roland M says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:59pm

That was a FUN game!

plaguespark says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:00pm

532 score! I thought she is raccoon, not a kitty....

BrianSChung says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:58pm

Between the art, animations, Salt-N-Pepa, calling Katie a kitty, there's a lot I really appreciate about the way everything's tied together!

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:00am

Game was hilarious, loved the concept and art.

TiByte says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:20pm

Very fun game. If I press spacebar without moving, the cat/racoon is vibrating like hell. There is no Game Over screen, or is it? After I tried to let the ghosts steal every child, the game didn't end. The music theme isn't from you, but this version you made is pretty cool ;)

Interface says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:56am

194! Simple game, I like the gfx. A bit much of just going back and forth, perhaps some interesting powerups or jumping to expand it a bit?

garygreen says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:05pm

Great art style. I ended up getting Katie rabid in time with the beat. :-) Good fun.

Apr 30, 2016 @ 6:15pm

Pretty looking game about rabid animal which scare ghost for protect its stuff.

adsilcott says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 6:57pm

The humor and graphics for this one are tops! This is great for a first Unity game, congrats!

Tanton-H2X says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 2:58am

Really Lovely game! (found it by your comment in BrianSChung's game page) you built a great mood with rhythm and cadence(every thing just like danceing together! very cool and realx feeling! Hurry but not let people tired or hate~)
also very fascinated by the vivid pixel-animation and the scene(enviorment design/the lighting layout),they all unity together to build a nice sensory and then expand out more sense of humour and colour(intrest)~
btw~ 263 scores :P only lost 1 baby but it finish automatically... oh, at the second half,the ghost which just stolen my baby always flash again at the boarder of my screen-----> although dont know why, but this phenomenon really let me know my baby is not be destory from this world, i feel this feeling is unique but really Gratifying! ^-^

Rock Eaters says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 5:17pm

Nice graphic amd animation. But game is too easy, there is no real challenge.

01010111 says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:24pm

I really really love the rabid animation so much! Also did you throw in the nokia font? It almost looks like a flixel game :PPP

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]