Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

ShiftShape

by killthealias - Compo Entry

Work your way through the 10 Marble Madness-inspired puzzleboxes of ShiftShape! In keeping with the theme, the only button you can use is Shift.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#140Innovation3.72
#485Audio2.63
#504Graphics2.94
#513Mood2.87
#591Overall3.06
#669Fun2.83
#784Theme2.78
#1754Coolness33%

Comments

GGC_Language says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 10:33am

Very interesting game, love it very much!!

Apr 17, 2016 @ 9:15pm

Really interesting puzzle mechanic! I'd love to see you expand on this, super unique idea. This feels so rich of potential, I hope you move forward on this project. Also I wasn't able to get passed level 2. :P Think about ramping up the difficulty slowly, too.

WizzardMaker says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:45pm

interesting Idea with a lot of potential, I would have loved to be able to control the rotation with the Numpad, but I guess the It wouldn't be a ShiftShaping game xD

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:53pm

I really like the idea, but in my opinion this game needs poper controls instead of a single button.

dunin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:03pm

interesting idea and nice looking game.
Maybe it's too bright to undestand the 3d space...
(I dropped at level 7)

This simple music is cool for a puzzle game!

IDidGame says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:07pm

the concepts is very cool, audio and visuals are both pleasant and clean.

i think a small arrow to display the upcoming direction would have helped my tiny brain immensly

TimBeaudet says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:26pm

Was very difficult to see what was happening and the controls could use a button per axis, but I see the moving shapes with shift button.

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:16pm

Really interesting game! I like it!

Hope you had fun making it =)

Arvydas says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:46am

Great strategy game! I enjoyed playing this.

Horsed says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:28pm

Looks good, feels good to me. Clever spatial puzzle, though the difficulty mostly comes from the unpredictability of the next rotation direction.

Kuality Games says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:03pm

The mechanic is very interesting, however maybe you need some sort of a visual indicator showing what rotation you are going to change next. As it is the difficulty seems to high.

Geckoo1337 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 9:18pm

Really interesting puzzle mechanic. Minimalist aesthetic. Well done ++

sftrabbit says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 8:07am

Very interesting concept. Agreed with others on needing some visual indicator about direction of rotation (or even just having control over which direction it would go). There are lots of places this mechanic could go!

TheCain says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 7:10pm

I only got to level 4, but it's very polished, and the one button control put an interesting spin on it.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]