Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shapeless Island

by tanjent - Compo Entry

In The Quest of Shapeless Island (TQoSI) you star as Shapecules, the only hero on the island that can fire magic bullets. These bullets are handy when recapturing the shapes that have escaped into the multiple dungeons on the island.

Controls: Move with WASD or Arrow Keys. Shoot with X, J or Space. Shoot to make the Colored Shapes collect their own kind.

You can bump into Colored Shapes to change your Shooter. But you will loose a life if you get hit by purple bullets (Yeah, I know, don't we all?)

So venture out young hero! Collect the shapes and make the king happy again!

Made with Phaser.JS, TypeScript and lots of cursing...

BUGFIX UPDATE 2016-04-18:
- added WASD-controls and so that you can shoot with X or J as well

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#373Humor2.47
#376Graphics3.25
#381Innovation3.23
#696Overall2.93
#723Mood2.44
#736Theme2.91
#746Fun2.70

Comments

tanis says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:52pm

The game looks nice.
There's a problem with Chrome though as pressing the space bar actually scrolls down the page even if the game canvas is focused. Is there any way to avoid that?

neondx says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:55pm

concept is cool but it's a little too long to finish a level, because of the size of the rocks

ChrisMingay says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:58pm

Unless I am just completely pants at this, it never actually felt like I was in control of things, it was more a case of sending the blocks on their way and hoping for the best.

Original concept though!

mikedirl says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:58pm

Interesting game, the game play was very different than anything I've seen before. You did a great job making an intro and having the island graphic with the levels. I enjoyed it.

One problem I did notice was that when you pressed the down arrow key the whole page scrolled down as well as your character, it could get annoying after a while.

ito123456789 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:01pm

Fun game, good graphics. It needs sound and maybe some particle effects to make it a better experience as a puzzle, but I enjoyed it.

I like your web too, I might get one to host my own stuff.

Ibzy says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:02pm

The concept is interesting, if at first a little confusing. Once I got the hang of what I should be doing (knocking the shapes towards their shaped tiles on the floor) it was a lot more enjoyable.

Basic yet charming graphics, and physics which worked and made sense. Plays a lot like breakout, so once you've nailed the angles you can get the shapes where you want..if it weren't for the shooty things adding the right level of challenge.

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:48pm

VERY tough to play as each time I hit space in the browser the entire page sinks to the bottom and you lose the screen. Is there a standalone somewhere I can play?

tanjent says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:13pm

OUCH sorry about the Space and Chrome. Thanks for letting me know. Stuff like this is why I need the comments :P

I've added so you can fire with X as well. Hopefully that will work with Chrome.

tanjent says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:28pm

And now I added WASD-controls + shoot with J and also added some keyboard capture calls, hopefully this will work...

bigpan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:05pm

Interesting game, but very confusing for me, maybe i'm just stupid. I've really liked the graphics, you have great design skills, congratulations.

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:18am

Nice graphics and interesting concept, though it was a bit hard, specially the last level... I also didn't see much point with the shooting... There was little control to them and didn't seem to make that much of a difference other than keeping the shapes moving.
I tried to beat the game but twice the I cleared all shapes but the counter finished at one T_T

Congrats on your entry!

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:57am

Very cool game idea, nice implementation, good art style. It was unique and fun, great work!

tanjent says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:07pm

nihil: well, *blushes* apparently one of the enemy towers was placed on top of one of the shapes... I've moved it now so the game can actually be finished :P Damn I hate it when you are so stressed you can't playtest enough!!

pythong says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:19pm

sooo shifting shapes, am i right?

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:36am

Nice art. This feels like it would fit an Indirect Control theme.

Unfortunately the purple bullet turrets made the game too frustrating to play past the first 2-3 levels. It is already very difficult to maneuver the colored shapes into the last few gray shapes with them bouncing off each other, and having to constantly dodge just makes it more tedious in my opinion.

neontropics says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:08am

Nice mechanics and game!

I might have liked the bouncing shapes to be a bit larger, as it was a bit frustrating do finish off the end part of the levels. Also some visual feedback when finishing off all of a certain shape would add to the satisfaction of doing it.

Larzan says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:26pm

Very nice twist on the breakout concept, interesting, liked it!
+1 for the intro and shapekules :)

Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:37pm

Nice game. Quite fun to play. Sort of like Arkanoid / Breakout but with a twist.

Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:55pm

Good job making a game in Javascript and web canvas :) A good idea but the levels take a while to play, it is difficult to control the shapes sometimes, but I guess that is the point and why they escaped ;)

grayhaze says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:56pm

A fun mix of breakout, a twin stick shooter and air hockey, creating something unique. I had a lot of fun with this, but mostly found myself completing levels due to luck rather than any skill (or lack thereof) on my part! The graphics were really good for a competition entry. Really could have done with some sounds, as it wasn't always obvious when I was taking damage. Otherwise, a really enjoyable game which I'd like to see expanded on. Well done! :)

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:59am

"Shapecules" lol!

geekguy100 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:36pm

Cool!

HunGARE says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:30pm

The mechanics were new and kind of cool! It felt a little weird once you are attacked by the turret, but with a little balancing I think it would be great. Great pixel graphics, too.

Apr 28, 2016 @ 1:14pm

Interesting, combination of gameplay elements. Took me a bit to realise how to play properly but once I did and got the hang of it, I was able to control the levels a lot better.

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 10:16pm

Interesting concept, and something I haven't seen before. I felt like I got the mechanics if I started thinking about it like air hockey.

I think my only complaint is it's hard to get fine control, so I found it easier to ignore the bullet patterns and just push the shapes around.

torcado says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 11:59pm

really interesting gameplay, havent seen anything like it. but i dont feel like the player has too much influence on the game

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]