Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Rectangle run

by IcyLava - Compo Entry

Run away from saw blades and evade your death as the level changes shape!..
or something...

WASD or arrows to move

For mac and linux:
you will need to download and install love2d - https://love2d.org/
then you should be able to launch the .love file.

Edit2: Here's a video by sirtetris (his entry: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=26418):
https://youtu.be/TGSdqg3ksJg

Source:
the .love file is a zip file. Rename it to a .zip file and you will be able to access the source and assets.

Edit: I had to update the game because there was a bug with jump height. It seems jump height is still wonky with framerates lower than 60, not sure how to fix that.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#77Audio3.68
#108Fun3.71
#165Graphics3.71
#189Mood3.37
#194Overall3.55
#392Humor2.40
#746Theme2.88
#757Innovation2.61

Comments

Apr 17, 2016 @ 9:06pm

Nice to see another LÖVE entry :) Nice game, those blades are hard to avoid - Will come back for more during voting!

Scoff Studios says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:37am

Yup, i'm mad.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:31pm

I think that the camera could be less bouncy, because this is a precision game and the camera makes it hard to have control over the Rectangle guy. But nice game, very difficult too, which is good.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:38pm

This was pretty challenging, nice entry!

sirtetris says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:50pm

Didn't have LÖVE installed on my system; installed it especially for giving this game a try (the cover image sold me on it) ... boy was it worth it! :)

Love the aesthetic, LOVE the music, LÖVE the game! Only point of criticism: too short. I want moar!

sirtetris says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:57pm

I made a Rectangle run run: https://youtu.be/TGSdqg3ksJg ^_^

Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:30pm

I made it a few levels further, but boy is that movement sensitive. What a good game!

IcyLava says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:14am

Thanks everyone for the feedback! Also, @sirtetris, that's awesome :D

Falak says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:48am

It's hard like Super Meat Boy.

teamross says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:50am

Really cool and pretty challenging!
Love the art, simply and clean.
Good job!

pi_pi3 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:10am

Hey, we actually had somewhat similar ideas

Citsua says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:15pm

Really clean and crisp game, maybe the movement was a tad too fast though. Hard but finally managed to finish it :D

rnlf says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:46pm

Pretty nice entry! Really loved the music and the style. The puzzles were good, just maybe in the wrong order, the second one with the long corridor full of moving saw blades was harder than all that came after it, so it should be further to the end.

The length of puzzles and short retry times were perfect to not get annoyed by the constant dying.

Very good entry!

Miziziziz says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:27am

Pretty good level design. I feel like the camera could be improved; couldn't see where I was going too often. But otherwise, definitely had fun

chaosBrick says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:17am

Damn, is that awesome!
I really like the music of that game.
Its overall really simple graphics, but they just fit.

Really nice work!

josefnpat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:19am

Nice game! The camera was very shaky and I could imagine long gameplay would make one nauseous. Very pretty and awesome music!

Imperial Unit says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:46pm

The game looks very stylish. The simple curving of the character during movement really sold it for me as it made the game feel very fluid and responsive.

jk5000 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:51pm

Music and graphics is super great. But for me the game was way to hard.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:10pm

AAAAAAAAAAAGH. Locking the camera to the character makes this pretty well unplayable because I can't avoid things and time my movements to them aqt the same time. I also really would have preferred the option of having jump on the space bar or some other key. Jumping didn't feel quite as responsive as I would have liked.

The graphics are nice and the music fits the game well. The bendy rectangle jump animation in particular was quite striking. It all feels very complete for a compo game.

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:55pm

Nice game ! worth playing

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:00pm

I LOVED this one! I loved how satisfying everything felt. The details like the rectangle warping back as it moved left and right really helped sell the sense of speed and that this rectangle was an organic thing. I loved how the world shifted to the rectangles presence. Thank you so much for making this game!

Freank says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:42am

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

jonask says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 11:20am

Good game with nice graphics, music and animation. I did not like the flimsy camera and I think some platforms should appear a bit earlier.

flummox3d says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 6:10am

A bit too fast, but fun anyway. Nice work! :)

janiq says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 6:32am

Nice game. Although I am not sure if shapeshift was actual part of the gameplay :-) I liked the actual fast gameplay and music complementing it. Also the details were taken careof nicely - looking down on down arrow and dust after jumping. Also the levels difficulty were on spot. Maybe one thing I was not sure of was the water because it was also black I couldn't see it coming up. This can be solve by adding more colors. Good work.

SUNFURY says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 12:40pm

FUUUUUUUUUUUUU *rage quit*
Polishing and animations are .. WOW
and it's an awesome game! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]