Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shapeshifter on the Run

by Vantaug - Compo Entry

The game is a endless runner, you start with just jumping and sliding, but eventually unlock animal powers (the shapeshifting part).

Controls: Arrow keys.

I have uploaded a fixed version, this one has a simple fix that is... Time.deltaTime, because apparently I had forgotten to add it in a certain place in my code. The fix just makes the game playable, since not having dtime would make most obstacles impossible to get past.
To quit the game, just press alt-f4.

Tools:
Unity 5.2.3
Adobe Photoshop CS6
Audacity 2.1.1

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#225Graphics3.58
#354Audio2.94
#375Humor2.46
#401Mood3.00
#641Theme3.08
#711Fun2.76
#717Overall2.90
#882Innovation2.22

Comments

jdmazz says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:45am

Endless runner. Not my favorite. However, you are a very talented artist!

ougrouk says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:16am

Nice art and music! You could have made the obstacles a tad smaller maybe but that my opinion.

Dasginger says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:24am

Pretty much what others have said, really nice art, animations and music, but also really hard. Could be because I'm half asleep, but I hit boxes waay more often than I manage to jump them.

Casey Jordan says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:31pm

Excellent graphics for a compo entry. Unfortunately, more time should've been spent on balance.

I want to enjoy the art, but the game is so unforgiving and jump windows are so narrow, that I (literally) couldn't make it over the third box after 10 minutes of play across two play sessions.

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:36pm

Nice music! Graphics are nice too, though sometimes it's hard to tell whats foreground and whats background... also specially the rhino is a bit bloated. Jumping was also a bit weird, I did tried the fixed version but when the jump was at the normal height he wouldn't get passed the obstacle...

Anyway, great work!

VividReality says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:45am

I'm impressed with your animations. well done!

themadknights says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:56am

Great game and the art is awesome.

WERT Studio says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:08pm

The art looks good but i dont know how to control this game sorry

Atridas says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:26pm

Nice art and music, even thoug it becomes a little repetitive after a while.

Let me give you some advice:
- Bound boxes are larger than the objects. This is SO frustrating.
- Try buffering the jump option a while before landing. This makes the controls more user friendly.

Nice game overall.

candlesan says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:28pm

Really great art! The collision areas don't match expectations very well but the music and sound and challenge were a lot of fun to take in!

gelisam says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:48pm

I really liked this game! I'm not a fan of endless runners precisely because they're endless and thus offer no sense of progression, and so I really appreciate how this game takes the mechanics of an endless runner and yet delivers progression in spades: manually ramped-up difficulty, checkpoints, and even new powers!

My only nitpick is that I would have allowed the music to continue in a loop instead of reseting it every time I touched an obstacle, which in my case meant every few seconds :)

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:48pm

Nice runner game with plenty of obstacles. Mechanics is great

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 11:41pm

I'm a sucker for the endless runners!!! THANK YOU for adding the auto save feature because that was hard!!!! :) Excellent game!!

qikcik says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 10:03am

Good Game :D

thedashdude says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:58am

The collisions were a bit off, and I'm not one for endless runners, but I enjoyed it all the same.

Yumeito says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 8:18pm

Nice Game:)

Tselmek says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 9:47am

Really fun runner, there should be a way to lock the game on the page so that pressing on up and down doesn't scroll the page at the same time.

Vantaug says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 11:50am

@Tselmek that's odd, don't understand how that happens, for me Game Jolt opens the game in a kind of "window". You should be able to solve the problem by going full screen, which you can do by pressing the button on the bottom right.

Skruffye says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 7:46pm

Okay, so I liked this a lot! The game was adorable. The art could have done with a little more polish, but the animation was very nice and it all fit together well, so well done there!
The music is legitimately stuck in my head, so I suppose well done..? XD
Also, perhaps it's just me, but the game is very, very difficult! (And I've been playing Dark Souls all week.) Perhaps spacing objects out a little more in the first couple of levels would have made the game a little more approachable. (I couldn't get past the bunny level, although I really wanted to see the rest!)
Additionally, I noticed that if you pressed a button before the character had quite landed, nothing would happen and often this would be a frustrating cause of death. Personally, I would make it so that the character performs the action if the button is held down, not if it is pressed as that would alleviate almost all of the player frustration coming from the controls.

Overall though, I genuinely enjoyed it, so good job! :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]