Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Alien Shape Shifters

by legendpaul - Compo Entry

Alien Shape Shift

Designed for Android Phones

Web Link is the Download from Android Store

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=alienshapeshifters.alienshapeshifters

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#357Humor2.52
#536Theme3.26
#549Audio2.38
#711Mood2.47
#780Innovation2.56
#788Fun2.60
#822Graphics2.27
#860Overall2.61

Comments

legendpaul says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:05am

Available free for Android here - >

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=alienshapeshifters.alienshapeshifters

Dooskington says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:19am

Looked interesting, but I had no way of trying it.

TechXSoftware says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:19am

Love the gameboy feel

sepharoth213 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:21am

graphics and all were tweaking out on my phone
also the web link on your ld page is broken

legendpaul says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:29am

Thanks, the link is fixed now

makiki99 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:26am

Don't put misleading links. You also need to put link to source code, because you submitted game to the compo category. No rating for now.

legendpaul says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:10pm

Will get that sorted after work, bit of a rush so late in uk last night

Marsouin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:19pm

Cool game gg guys !

legendpaul says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:26pm

Source and Windows Version now added

Swynfel says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:48pm

I couldn't read the windows file (I suppose you need a certain player to read that file).
So I had to download it on Android.

First and most important comment : you can't restart a level (or I haven't found the way). It's very annoying ! I had to restart the game multiples times to be able to test the latter levels, and I had to redo the first levels.
There is also no tutorial. It should be okay because you could fiddle around and find out about how the game works, but since there is the "you can't restart" problem, you're scared of trying new things out.

The concept is interesting, and the controls okay... You could have used the touch screen in a better way I think. Having half the screen taken by buttons is meh.

The graphics' quality is poor, and sometimes feel heterogeneous (the tile style is completely different from the rest for example).

Anyway : First Ludum Dare Game I tried on mobile platform, was worth testing.

Jadernak says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:01am

It could really use a restart button for levels.

Spud says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:19am

Cool game, though I couldn't finish the 4th level

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:18am

Interesting. A post-compo version could use a way to reset levels, or at least get out of your situation with the characters swapping. Love that you went with Android and our aliens were cute.

legendpaul says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:18pm

Thank you for the constructive criticisms, I will get a post-compo version with retry functionality and look into the Windows executable later tonight.

ZeroFaction says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:28pm

Great idea but I wasn't able to complete any levels. Playing on a Samsung Galaxy Note 5. Whenever I pressed the movement button on a single alien they would pop up to the top left and then fall. Water filling seemed inconsistent as well. One play the water only filled to the bottom, another time it filled to the middle, and once the water filled to the top of the level. I was unable to get to the ship successfully. Finally, the scoreboard did not fit on my screen, it extended out to the right and made it unreadable.

Kalm004 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:46pm

I love the idea. A restart button would be great, I hate to repeat once and again the same screen.

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:14pm

Interesting concept. I like being able to play it on my phone but I got stuck and could not restart :(

Joozey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:21pm

Cool idea. Frustrating to start over again everytime. Couldn't pass level 3.

Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:58pm

Fun concept, but could use a restart level button.

legendpaul says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:10pm

I get the feeling a Restart button is the first thing I add in my next Ludumdare

themadknights says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:46pm

Original idea, I tried the android version :D

Hempuli says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:30pm

F-Secure warned me about the Windows version being on a malicious-rated website; I didn't have an android phone to test it on, either. :(

legendpaul says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:01pm

I have changed the Windows Version to download from Google Docs now

in3orn says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 2:28pm

Nice concept :) However it's irritating that I had to replay all the levels after failure. I'd add the "retry" or level menu features as next updates.

I played my phone as Windows installer doesn't work.

davor10105 says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 9:01pm

nice game, good job!

Yumeito says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 9:11pm

Good game:)

Fabraz says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 3:14am

Could only play it on the pc, which makes for an awkward interface. Didn't quite make it through unfortunately as I failed. Fun concept!

adam says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 9:00pm

I like the premise - it has a sort of Lemmings or Lost Vikings feel. Unfortunately as many others have said I lost patience with trying the game very quickly since the lack of restart means figuring out how the mechanics work by experimenting is not encouraged. Couldn't work out level 3 (would have spent more time trying if I hadn't had to exit and reload the app every time!)

gelisam says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 10:09pm

The source link says there are no files?

legendpaul says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 11:07pm

sourcelink should be fine now

neilcorre2k6 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 2:39pm

Cool! :D

CodeNMore says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 1:25am

Neat idea, liked it!

scorched says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 12:13pm

Trying to download directly from phone, main link is Install->Login->404, and second is Download->.apk->Can't install...
Android 4.2

scorched says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 12:29pm

That was Firefox. Chrome says device not supported on first link, and tries to extract apk instead of installing on second

legendpaul says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:20pm

Post Jam Version now available on Android Store

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]