Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Random Rally Rodeo

by Lee1121 - Compo Entry

In Random Rally Rodeo (RRR) you drive randomly generated tracks in off-road RC vehicles.

RRR differs from other top-down arcade racers, in that every couple of corners, your car randomly shapeshifts into one of three RC vehicles.

RRR is extra fun if you play it with a friend and compete for the fastest time:
Use the same seed and number of tiles, so the random generator will give you the same track and random vehicles.

=======================The RC vehicles===============================

Rallycar hatchback, which has an average speed and likes to drift
Stadium truck, which is very fast and very slidey
Dakar truck, which is slow and grips very well

============================Controls=================================

Keyboard:
Arrow keys to move
Backspace to restart
Escape to pause

Controller:
Right trigger to throttle
Left trigger to brake/reverse
Left stick to turn
Y to restart
Start to pause

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#370Audio2.91
#499Fun3.08
#519Humor2.06
#611Theme3.13
#695Innovation2.74
#733Overall2.88
#736Mood2.38
#830Graphics2.25
#1248Coolness47%

Comments

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:11am

I liked the differences between the three cars. Takes me back to my autocrossing days. Great job!

zugende says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:00pm

I like the concept but missing a booster powerup. But this is just my personal opinion. :)

Headmade says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:29pm

Fun racer! I like the sound effects, they fit the vehicles very well.

Opponents would be nice or something else to increase the challenge.

Saiodin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:52pm

The mechanic reminded me a bit of Sonics All Star Racing, interesting. I constantly drifted off the road with the faster cars since I couldn't see very far ahead, but maybe I'm just bad at racing games ;).

MerriGrape says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:18pm

First off I want to tell you that the mechanics are really well implemented into this game, it runs smoothly, and the controls work perfectly, the vehicles also handle very well. The art is very simple, but it doesn't drag down the title that much, same with the audio.
The only thing I feel is missing is an indication or countdown of when your car will shapeshift, or at least what car is next, it feels pretty random right now.
I like the gameplay, and overall it's a really good idea.

ekkiiiii says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:42pm

Very nice racing mechanics, well done!

whilefun says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 9:56pm

This controlled well, and was fun to play. I found it a bit annoying that the next car and time to shapeshift seemed random and was a bit punishing as a result. The drifing felt nice, and the audio was effective.

phoenix1987 says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 12:34pm

Great game, would love to see a multiplayer version. I liked the vehicles changing throughout the game. Kepp it up :)

Drury says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 3:36am

Man I'm so glad my car doesn't randomly shapeshift mid-curve.

And doesn't sound like a malfunctioning electric toothbrush.

3T3A says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 6:25pm

I like a lot this game. It's very fun, the mechanic should make a good party game with friends. Maybe you should add dynamisme. Good job! ;)

Yumeito says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 8:26pm

Nice Game:)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]