Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The Critter Within

by Adam Gould - Compo Entry

A 2D platformer (I know, how original) where you can shapeshift into two different animal forms!

It's a really short game, but I hope you'll enjoy it!

Features:
A fully original soundtrack comprising of three tracks
Home-made sound effects
Slightly crappy pixel art
A difficulty curve

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#60Audio3.75
#102Theme3.94
#155Overall3.65
#204Fun3.50
#288Graphics3.44
#447Innovation3.13
#1808Coolness32%

Comments

Lee1121 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:06am

Pretty funny game :)
I also like that the music changes depending on which form you play as

PinkIndian says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:05pm

Nice game and good music. But the hitboxes made me quit playing. Felt like the birds hitbox was 2 times larger than the sprite.

ekkiiiii says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:15pm

Very catchy music, cool sound effects. Controls/hitboxes make it a little bit frustrating sometimes.

Freank says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:59pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Joror says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 8:04pm

Well executed and balanced shapeshifter platformer! :)
Each shape felt different enough, and the learning curve was good.
(did not finish because I am a crappy platformer player ;))

Yumeito says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 8:56pm

Nice little game :)

notime4games says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 4:30pm

Awesome!
Level 7 though grrrrrrrrrrrr that was hard! But finally made it! :D
Great controls, great graphics, great music! Loved how the music changed depending on what form I was in!
Only thing I would change is make the hitbox on the bird smaller, level 7 was only hard because of this.
Great game loop, auto restart on death was good

May 7, 2016 @ 5:26pm

Very well done. Nice puzzles, nice controls overall, hitbox issues as mentioned, but other than that I just wish there was more.

knason says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 6:10pm

great game, great puzzles I had a hard time get past the falling fireballs, I guess, practice makes perfect :) but overall it was great, nice graphics as well. Good job!

sftrabbit says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 6:26pm

Really nice work! Level design was good and taught the mechanics nicely. Graphics and musics were done well! I had a couple of minor issues: the movement was a bit too slippy, and I felt like the collision of the bird/fireballs was a little too unforgiving. Still, great work!

Faulkin says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 6:30pm

Nice game. The change of music when you switch form is a nice touch! :)

aucguy says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 6:56pm

Short but sweet. The bird jumping controls was annoying though.

Njinwezen says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 7:01pm

Hey,

Very interesting game. I like the changing controls when you change animal. I think it really serves the theme well. My hand got really tired on that last level though. Flying up took a long time.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]