Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Hunters and Hunted

by Jadernak - Jam Entry

About:
You, member of Brotherhood, are tasked with hunting down dangerous heretics and pagans. Travel across the realm, balance your resources and experience the story.


Things you should know (or will figure out):
- Move around the map by clicking the green nodes (green = accessible from your current position, red = current node, blue = visited node)
- You have three resources: Supplies, Food, Money
- If you run out of food you loose
- Each movement between nodes costs 1 food
- Actions in nodes cost supplies and can yield food, supplies and money depending on the node
- You can buy food in villages/towns and supplies in towns



Controls:
Mouse only + Escape to exit
The slider in bottom left corner is volume control for music

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#46Mood(Jam)4.07
#224Fun(Jam)3.50
#268Graphics(Jam)3.82
#293Innovation(Jam)3.37
#304Overall(Jam)3.50
#409Humor(Jam)2.68
#896Theme(Jam)2.79

Comments

PanicTheFirst says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:29am

Pretty nice concept and visuals!

eeely says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:55am

good graphics, and pretty fun. :D

Skipi says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:17am

I really liked the writing. It set a great mood, and I was kind of sad when it ended.

MerriGrape says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:39pm

The art style of this is gorgeous, with the old weathered type of map, and the concept of the game is interesting as well, with a simple form of gameplay.
Having your stats shown at all times would be pretty nice, and it would help to be able to scroll across the map, so you have a better sense of the direction in which you are going. But I love the overall idea and direction of the game, very pretty and interesting.

mf1214 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:45pm

Great concept and mood. Well done!

Drusilla says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:55pm

Did that say "wet feet lovers"? I was wondering if it would take an unexpected turn away from hunting the shapeshifters.

The art, music, and story meshed very well.

Jadernak says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:00am

@Drusilla :D I am afraid it reads Wet feet lows.

zaywolfe says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:01am

Great game. Would love to play an expanded version of this with more story.

uprightpath says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:24am

Rather fantastic; however, it feels WAY too luck based. Especially since there's no way to save scumming or way points. >.> But then, that might be me hating at having 15 supplies and 0 food.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:24am

Great graphics, mood, and music! Had fun playing.

Jadernak says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:38am

@uprightpath In average (statistically speaking) you should buy supplies and spend them on food plus go for gold whenever possible. I didn't want to make it too easy so you could last the entire story with just starting items :)

Red_Fan games says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:05am

Astounding visuals, loved it.

ramza says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:11am

One of the best I've played so far!

uprightpath says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:30am

@Jadernak That's just what I did. I bought supplies (2 money) and then foraged/hunted at every stop I came to. I was just short of... Bishop's seat? I don't remember the name, just south of the Marshes when I ran out of food. xD

gurkenlabs says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:34am

Great art style right there!

kestrelgames says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:44am

The Brotherhood is not doing well and it's all my fault...

The map movement is awesome, really liked that concept! Like the wistful audio too. Map effects like wind particles, smoke/fog would look really cool -- hoping for post-jam updates!

Jadernak says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:00pm

@uprightpath You are right, while in the long run what I've described is the best, personally I start by buying food in Farreach and save supplies for scavanging and gold in desert. :)

Rulrite says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:21pm

Great entry! I really like what you did with the theme, and the whole experience was really enjoyable. The narrative kept me engaged all the way through, and the mood is great, thanks to the art and sound (very well done on the map; it looks amazing).

Freank says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 1:59pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 10:14am

This was a great story and it got me hooked the entire game. The overall feeling of this game was great and everything fitted really nice into it, beginning with the nice old style map and ending with the goose quill sound.
Some typing errors, though. ;-)

Swynfel says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 10:20am

Finally I finished the game !

It was really fun at the beginning, it started being a little painful after, when you had to restart 4 times to have go enough loot to pass the path on the left of the map.

The music and graphics did a very good job to put you into the game. The blending of the text-box and the map was nicely made. Some extra visual effect could have been cool, (like foot-steps). I think have your ressources always displayed could have helped, and show + and - over them when you find some of them. I also didn't always knew how to reach a certain town, and where had to go first. Maybe a good idea could be that when you hoover a town too fast it shows you the path you should take to reach it ? A "fog of war" could also add a little to the exploration dimension.
Zooming out and being able to drag the map when your not moving could also have been a good mechanic.

I think the game was a little too hard in the sense that due to randomness, you could have awsome suply and food stock one minute, and loose everything by failing a lot of attempts. You could make the randomness more in favor of the player, reduce the randomness range, of artificially make the player less/more lucky depending on his last rolls. Having check point will make the game less frustrating, and you won't have to re-do everything again once you lost.

Apart from that, I was really happy playing a good not-action mouse-based game. The writing was really well done, the story catchy, and there was a pretty big diversity of encounters, and that was awesome.
The resources balanced themself pretty well, and, apart from the raging randomness, the game flow was perfect.

You did a very good job ! You have my respect. I would love to play a longer version.

Jadernak says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 1:28pm

@Swynfel Thanks for the feedback and the praise. The main story is relatively short so I can see why the randomness could be very punishing. I couldn't just pump up starting resources because than you could finish the game just with them. However I do agree the dices could be more in the players favor.

May 3, 2016 @ 7:52pm

Nice looking map! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/8gYXle65h9c

Yazara says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 10:20pm

I enjoyed the game a lot :)
It really reminded me of adventures in a fantasy novel. The ending felt a bit anticlimatic and sudden though. But following the clues was really cool!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]