Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

You Are What You Eat

by MagnesiumNinja - Jam Entry

You Are What You Eat is a fast-paced, frantic top-down action game in which you must fight through densely-packed levels, killing enemies and taking over their bodies.

Every time you defeat an enemy, you become them -- weaknesses and all. You must learn to constantly adapt to new play styles and craft strategies to survive as the game gets more and more difficult.

All controls are explained in-game. Speedrun Mode allows you to skip all dialogue and have a visible timer. We would love to see your fastest times/Lowest death counts!



This game was made in 72 hours for the 35th Ludum Dare Jam.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#9Overall(Jam)4.31
#10Fun(Jam)4.26
#30Theme(Jam)4.25
#90Mood(Jam)3.88
#101Innovation(Jam)3.79
#159Graphics(Jam)4.06
#262Audio(Jam)3.40

Comments

luquio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:53am

It's fun, hope u could add more content! Cheers

avinashd says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:08am

Beautifully tutorialized and quite well made. I really like how you took Hotline Miami's mechanics and expanded them to a whole new level!

11Schotter says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:13am

Very good and pollished tutorial texts and cool shapeshifting! but the controls are really disturbing, when you aim with the mouse...

Ilseroth says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:16am

Quality submission.

morrilet says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:20am

Very difficult and very entertaining. Loved it.

Danman9914 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:27am

Amazingly cool. Each different stolen body felt great and also unique. A+ art, A+ overall.

CyberAmbient says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:50am

Hotlime miami meets Kirby! Im still playing the game, beautifully and fun!

ramza says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:52am

This is a top notch submission. Very fun and challenging gameplay.

d3garcia says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:11am

Excellent gameplay, cameras and sound, this could get very high very soon.

RttStudio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:14am

One of the best entry I've seen so far. Really good use of the theme.

Wisedawn says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:19am

Incredible and really polished! Easily the best game I have played so far.

pogo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:20am

I really enjoyed this entry - its got a Hotline Miami feel, but with a unique spin. Every enemy has its strengths and weaknesses and they all feel good to use.

yokcos700 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:38am

Good fun, very well balanced, good sound design, funny ending. Main problem is how I have to stop to read text at the start of each level. If I could spam click to skip that quickly, all would be well :P

lumscum says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:42am

Ugh, this is so good! Everything feels so polished and satisfying!

Broxxar says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:45am

Definitely worth pursuing this project post jam. Love the HLM look and feel.

Jeff0029 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:06am

It has a Hotline Miami feels to it. Fast paste and very brutal. Super polish, great job!

blockdroppers says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:08am

Really fun game!

Syldarion says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:12am

I really like this one. Definitely add more levels in the future. The way you introduce the mechanic is also well done. It's pretty fun once you get into the groove.

norseware says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:19am

Really well delivered. Loved the animations, text system, combat, art... All really well done! Just the aiming bothered me a bit, but I still enjoyed dashing around, and whipping things. Nice job :)

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:25am

Really quality work and great use of the theme!

It could benefit from more theming of the rooms with furniture and cover items (as opposed to just empty rooms with the same basic walls/floors) but I know it's hard to fit in doing that much art in 72 hours. Perhaps you might continue work on it post-jam?

tmpxyz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:48am

It's very fun, well implemented game

Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:18am

Incredibly fun and polished. Great tutorial and lots of levels. Each character feels unique and the sound effects make everything awesome. Its so epic when you chain together strings of enemies. I played it all the way to the end.

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:53pm

The controls feel really good and I like the graphics (it was very easy to tell each enemy apart), but being forced to take over every body wasn't so great. I also liked not having to go through the tutorial again when I failed on the first level.

Sir Magic says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:51pm

I Really like this game, I thought the concept was amazing and I really liked how you carried the abilities over. Put it on steam and take my money xD

zaywolfe says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:45pm

Wow very well made. Hard to believe you made something so solid so fast. Almost felt like I was playing a full release game.

Subrosian says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:51pm

The game was good, especially aesthetically, but I felt like the gameplay got a bit repetitive; adding more varied level design and obstacles, perhaps puzzles or creative ways to use abilities, could have helped. Also, I though the ending was somewhat abrupt and not that fulfilling in my opinion. Well, hopefully the game is hard enough that people won't see the ending anyway, haha.

MrMordem says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:04am

Solid entry that fits the theme, i like the fact that you have to determine which enemy you gotta kill first since you shift on every kill and the little detail like the stompyness of the "leader" well done :)

Saladon says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:13am

Great game. Really enjoyed it. Mechanics seem solid.

Yumeito says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:15am

Love this game:)

Benjamin-L says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:00am

This is very well polished and probably the best one I have seen so far. The graphics, audio, and mechanics are all great. It is difficult, but also very fun. Great job!

namrog84 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:07am

nom nom nom!!!

Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:39am

Really enjoyed the different mechanics for each character and the way you took over a body, was well implemented. Graphics also worked nicely, definitely a favourite so far.

stoarch says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:30am

Great game. I like it. Tough and interesting.

Freank says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:47am

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

mitkus says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 8:50am

One of the best jam games!

WERT Studio says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 9:00pm

hOtline miami with a bit of kirby well done

Aaranos says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 1:56am

Really great game! Reminds me a lot of hotline miami and those kinds of games. Nice diversity in characters.

Apr 30, 2016 @ 1:38pm

Very polished and nice game! It reminded me of Hotline Miami at certain points. It was quite difficult at some points, but not too difficult. My only complaint would be the fact that it was very hard to survive as the dasher type. I kept dying to everything and purposely avoided that form as much as possible. It was also quite literally impossible to kill the tongue enemies when you were a dasher, because they eat you if you even try to attack them. Overall I'd say this is one of the best games in the jam though, and I enjoyed playing this one a lot.

I also uploaded a video of your game on YouTube.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O-OFSQcxIR4

Nolocality says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 5:38pm

Aw sweet...I do like my 'The Thing' RP.

Surprising entry for the short time it was put together. Also the squishy sound effects were great.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 8:35am

Nice work! :)

oxysoft says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 3:07pm

Great game, played it for 27 minutes actually, but you NEED alternate controls other than WASD. If you can't remap the controls in your game, you need to offer arrow keys or something else because you basically deny all colemak/dvorak users from having a smooth game experience. I'm a colemak user and I had to play with what would be WADG on a qwerty keyboard, and where R is in place of the S, meaning that I accidentally restarted more than once

Acuity says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 7:26pm

Okay, this was a REALLY cool entry. And the tutorial flowed pretty well, too!

May 10, 2016 @ 1:32am

Thanks for the feedback, everyone! We're glad you enjoyed the game! :D

@oxysoft: Thanks for letting us know; the way the game is right now means it'll be hard to implement control remapping, but we'll definitely consider this in this future.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]