Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

RescueBot

by tomdeal - Compo Entry

Rescuebot, the fastest rescue machine in the whole world!

Shapeshift in not one, not two, but three different excellent rescue machines!
You can be a paramedic!
You can be an ambulance car!
And you can be an awesome rescue helicopter!

Try to rescue as many people as you can, and don't anything! Especially if you've got a patient in the back of your ambulance :-)

------------------------------------------------------

===== WEB GAME USERS README =====
I've added WebGL as a build, so it is easier to play. However, the indicator arrows are broken in WebGL. This bug does not occur in the normal version.
===============================

-----------------------------------------------------
=== Post Mortem and LD Review available here ====
http://blog.dizelabs.com/2016/04/19/rescuebot-ludum-dare-35-game/
-----------------------------------------------------

Controls
========

===============
== IMPORTANT ===
===============
If you can, use a gamepad. It is easier to control and thats pretty important for a rescuebot.
The keyboard controls work too, but I did not fine tune them. Sorry, I know this is an issue and I will try to make it better for the next LD project.

Controller: (XBOX)
- LEFT Analog Stick: Steer Left/Right
- Button A: Accelerate
- Button B: Brake
- Left Bumber: Change Shape to „Man“
- Right Bumber: Change Shape to „Car“
- Button Y: Change Shape to „Helicopter“

Keyboard:
- LEFT/Right Arrow: Steer Left/Right
- Left SHift: Accelerate
- Left CTRL: Brake

- A: Change Shape to „Man“
- S: Change Shape to „Car“
- D: Change Shape to „Helicopter"

---------------------------------------
How to Play
===========

I hope the game and the intro screen show you what's important. If not, here is a small manual:

You are a rescuebot. Rescue as many patients as possible and bring them savely(!) to the hospital (indicated by the red arrow if not on screen). The green arrow indicates the patient to be rescued. Now go, drive or fly to the patient.
- PICK UP PATIENTS
To pick up a patient, you need to be in the "Man" Shape. That's the guy with the stretcher. If you try to pick up a patient while being the car, you will hurt him!
- DROP OFF PATIENTS AT HOSPITAL
To drop a patient at the hospital, drive onto the striped area and be in the "car" shape (that's the ambulance).
- THE HELICOPTER
The helicopter can only be used for a limited time (there is an indicator in the top of the screen). If you used your helicopter time, you will revert to the "car" shape. The helicopter time regenerates over time.
- COLLISIONS
Colliding with anything is bad! Well, if you are the man or the helicopter, you're fine. But if you are the car, colliding with an obstacle will damage your vehicle, and hurt your patient if you are carrying one.
- REPAIRS
To repair your rescuebot, drive on the striped area at the repair station, indicated with the wrench arrow.
- DEATH
If you are too slow or too careless, patients will die. Once the third patient dies, the game is over. You also loose a life if your rescuebot gets destroyed.

------------------------------------------
About this LD, Post Mortem
=============
I've written a blog post about this topic, read it here:
http://blog.dizelabs.com/2016/04/19/rescuebot-ludum-dare-35-game/

------------------------------
Questions, Bugs, everything? Write a comment, or write me a mail at support@dizelabs.com

Thanks for playing! I will play your games now!
Thomas Diehl

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#99Fun3.75
#192Audio3.31
#253Humor2.82
#265Overall3.44
#269Graphics3.47
#292Innovation3.40
#308Theme3.61
#468Mood2.94

Comments

iSasFTW says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:24pm

This is a super-fun game with fun mechanics. Issues i found: Quit button doesn't work on the web version. Overall a fun game, the music is cool, and so are the graphics!

hugheth says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:25pm

Amazingly detailed game to fit into such a short amount of time. Top effort!

Marcellus says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:28pm

A lot of work behind this entry, but unfortunately, the controls are mean with the player.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:46pm

I wasn't particularly expecting to be taken with this interpretation of the theme, but I think you did really well here. Shapeshifting to represent different roles working together is an interesting take, and there does actually seem to be a high degree of shapshifting required to get the hard missions. Switching to a person to make tight turn, and a helicopter to jump obstacles seems like a weird approach, but works well mechanically.

WizByte_Games says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:48pm

I don't know why but this reminds me of GTA2, but instead of a criminal you are a Rescue worker. Game could have some added things like a mini map, quests, score, or collectables. I think that you could turn this into something great.

Marsouin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:06pm

Not bad !

zacerhy says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:14pm

Really in depth game and cool idea, just think controls needs a little work, good job!

thomz12 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:15pm

Great game! had me busy for a while.

Yrasin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:12pm

Really cool game with some awesome game mechanics. Was in trance for 10 minutes trying to rescue patients :D

EvoGenGames says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:32pm

Very nice entry, the shapeshifting controls itself might be made easier somehow.
but it was a cool innovative idea!

LudumAnthony says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:39pm

The layering for the graphics is buggy (the person dead on the ground appears above the cars driving by).

The game was fun and was a good use of the shapeshifting theme.

Pellanor says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:18pm

Very fun. I love drifting through the hospital drop off :)

Controls are a bit awkward though :(

RealityCheck says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:45pm

Apart from the controls, which I found to be a little clunky, the game was fun to play. I like the graphics - simple but pleasing to the eye. Good game.

adsilcott says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:45pm

Cool idea, good controls, lots of fun to drive around. Nice!

knason says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:14pm

This is a really fun game! Good work, especially with such a short amount of time! Good job!

whilefun says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:20pm

What a fun entry. Nice GTA kind of vibe, but as a "good guy". The helicopter controls felt smooth, and glidey. I got 441 pts. Good music :)

iossif says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:22pm

the keyboard controls made me cry, the music kept me in the game.

siryakko says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:28pm

Please continue on the concept. It's so fun and the realization so clean for the time you had.

JJJANEE says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:59pm

This is super polished and a fun game! I love the graphics, the audio, and the game play itself. The controls were super smooth and the physics was just right! I love the collision system! It's super detailed.
Great work!

jakass says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:53pm

Great! I spent a lot of time playing this!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]