Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Last Quest

by ianb96 - Compo Entry

As an adventurer it is your duty to complete quests you have accepted - no matter what gets in the way! Be it death, bears, or other adventurers you must complete your quest at all costs!

To play download and extract.
RenPy says it will work on all platforms (Windows, Mac, Linux).

This game was made in RenPy even though I was unfamiliar with it and suck at art.
I hope you like it anyway.
Happy Ludum Dare!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#49Humor3.67
#211Mood3.31
#258Fun3.42
#300Innovation3.39
#322Overall3.37
#416Theme3.44
#540Audio2.42
#553Graphics2.83
#1712Coolness35%

Comments

aegypticus says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:39am

I really appreciate the Undertale-esque game you've made here. Weakest point would be graphics, but it is an overall enjoyable game and quite funny.

Dooskington says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:40am

I had no idea what I was doing. I couldn't get the bear to go away, and he couldn't hurt me because I was a ghost.

CoderCameron says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:50am

That was really fun. I guessing an under-tale inspired game? I love the dialogue its finny and witty. My only complaint is that your mixing pixel art and high res which doesn't work.

ViliX64 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:59am

Works on Linux (Ubuntu 15.10 64bit). I appreciate your humor and programmer art. Nice entry. :)

Vantaug says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:21am

The music was kinda... annoying. But everything else was great, fun dialogue, interesting story, with an interesting end that made me think. graphics weren't half bad either

fullmontis says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:47pm

Really nice idea. I found it really funny and enjoyable, and laughed out loud at the ending.

namrog84 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:06am

rawr bear!

gelisam says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:45pm

Nice! I enjoyed finding all of the endings.

ChronoCrab says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:59am

So good. Too funny that you clarified that yes, you can steal all the could and somehow be all of them :) The graphics worked for this type of game, I think and did not distract me and got the point across nicely. Really the only game I gave 5 for everything so far out of over 30. Fantastic job!!

Rock Eaters says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 1:43pm

i had a lot of fun, , idont want to spoil but it was funny, until i met the bear and then i wasnt able to do anything. But it was a good and funny text based game ^^

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]