Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Battle of Britain 2

by SuperChihuahua - Compo Entry

Who said happiness lasts forever? A few weeks after the great war in Europe ended, the aliens attacked. Your job is to defend Great Britain against hordes of green slimy squary attackers. To your help you have the distinguished 75th Royal Fighter Squadron, nicknamed Shapeshifters. During the great war, the Shapeshifters flew their Spitfire planes and shifted the shape of the enemy into dust.

You are the 75th Royal Fighter Squadron's new air traffic controller. You have to direct the planes against the enemy and redirect them back when they are out of ammunition. This is how you do it:

- Select a plane with left mouse button, and deselect with escape

- To give the plane a path to follow (it will fly around the latest waypoint if it doesn't have a path), you have to select a plane and then move the mouse (while holding left mouse button) in the same path you want the plane to follow

- The Spitfire will automatically fire its weapon if it can, so you have to make sure not to make a too curvy path because it can't fire its weapon and turn at the same time. The red sphere moving infront of the plane is the zone where it can hit an alien

- To refill ammunition, you select the plane and then click on the runway. The plane will fly to the runway, refill its ammunition, and then automatically fly away when it's done

- The difference between rockets and bullets is that rockets will kill within a larger radius of where they land.

- The green boxes are the aliens and they are attacking the base. They will damage the base when they stand close to the wall, and you fail when "Base" (top-left-text) has gone down from 100 to 0.

- If you can't see what's happening, zoom out with mouse wheel or I or O keys.

Summary of the keys:
- Move camera: WASD
- Zoom in/out: IO or Mouse wheel
- Select Spitfire: Left Mouse
- Deselect Spitfire: Esc
- Add path: Hold Left Mouse while moving mouse
- Reload ammo: Select plane, click on runway and the plane will land

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#466Innovation3.11
#603Humor1.59
#605Audio2.00
#616Graphics2.73
#764Mood2.21
#881Fun2.34
#889Overall2.52
#930Theme1.75

Comments

sol_hsa says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:45am

I got the plane select and path drawing and that works quite well, but on top of that I have no idea what was going on in the game. There were explosions and green boxes that appeared(?), but I have no idea where those came from.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:59am

Like sol_hsa, I was pretty confused as to what was going on. Drawing the paths felt very unresponsive. The plane pathing and circling was very impressive though; with more clarity and polish this could be a fun idea!

jk5000 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:04am

The idea is great, but to make the planes do what I want is really difficult.

wavertron says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:09am

Interesting. Maybe too ambitious for the compo? The pathing didnt really work too well for me. The green towers I assume are aliens. I think its a good idea overall, just needs some time and refinement. Also, I wanted to click/hold the mouse wheel to move around the map, rather than WASD. Maybe cause I've been using Inkscape the last day or two, haha.

hildegarbage says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:19am

It took me a while before I found I could zoom out and I kind of got the idea after a while, but by then I was already kind of bored unfortunately. I like the idea though, would have liked to see more of this.

simon says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:21am

well done!
zooming out helped to understand what to do - enemies are difficult to see - choose other color than ground...
orbiting around the base would help too
could get addicting...

TLansdale says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:15pm

A little confusing, but the planes looked great swooping around. I couldn't really read what the green squares were or where the attacks were (from either me or the planes). Maybe a few quick particle effects would make that clearer?

Good job overall though!

whilefun says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:15pm

Kind of felt like missile defense in a way, as the paths had to match the projected movement of the green rectangle monster things. I played for a while, reloaded the planes, and killed a lot of green boxes. It wasn't clear when the next wave would happen, or if I could win. Pretty fun to control the planes with paths though. More polish would probably result in a neat little game!

monkeybit29 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:26pm

like everyone else, I didn't quite know how to play the game, and the sound effects were too loud for it having no music

Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:09am

Not really sure what I was supposed to be doing

Headmade says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:47am

The controls are a bit weird but I figured it out, so it's not so bad.
I like the concept and the planes are well animated and modeled. I don't see the connection to the theme though.

lordsavage says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:50am

A Very ambitious project for the compo, but well done! that must have been a huge amount of work getting the planes to bank and swarm etc.

I too found it difficult to understand what was going on to begin with perhaps having flags or arrow indicators for approaching enemies would be a good addition.

Well done - a great entry.

danieldsj says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:57am

The game started with me zoomed in too far, and when zooming away, I started seeing the ships. The controls were not intuitive and the the goal was not really apparent. I was impressed with the 3d graphics and flying animation, so I gave points for innovation and graphics.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:45am

I'm really confused about this. It barely is a game, unless i'm missing something. Controls were wierd. And it seems like something you already had made and you just changed the name to adapt it to the theme.

CalmKai says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:36am

Good game!

TeamKawaiiju says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:47am

Pretty fun! I like RTS games and I felt like the controls worked pretty good. The path drawing element worked pretty well, even if it was a bit difficult to use, controls-wise.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:43am

very impressive concept, i like how crazy the gameplay is for such a short amount of time, i think that if you had more time you could add some nice polish and the game could go next level. nice work. well done :)

zillix says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:40am

I enjoyed playing this quite a bit. :) controlling the planes felt very fun and tactical. it was sometimes difficult to tell which enemies were still alive, so I'd often spend some time at the end of the wave to try to find what I had missed. great work!

brainybeard says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:00am

Really interesting game mechanic, I just wish it played a little bit better, i.e the line drawing felt a little sluggish and the plane didn't seem to follow the path properly. Some epic music would have been great too! Although perhaps a little bit quieter than the gunshot noises. Ambitious project, I really hope this is taken further as is defintely a game I'd want to play!

mutonizer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:54am

Interesting concept but not sure how it fits the theme plus you need to be quite zoomed to do anything, which takes away from just seeing the planes go around and do their thing.

Feels more like a testing run for the mouse drawning/pathing system than something made for this ludum though.

caporaltito says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:21am

Great concept but you obviously ran out of time. The path system should be more readable to the player. Keep it up!

kabel says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:49pm

Very simple, very fun.

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:36pm

Haha neat controlls, a good idea. Overall a good entry. Enjoyed it, thx!

LeftRight92 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:10pm

Regretably frustrating due to the flight mechanics making moving difficult.

Big Cow says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:10pm

This was a really ambitious entry - I like that you've introduced mechanics I've never seen before in a game, good job! :)

ermrk says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:25pm

I didn't know how play the game at first. I didn't know how the planes shoot. The idea of moving the whole squadron of fighters is cool.

Ironhead says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:53pm

Being a fan of aviation, I thought this was a really cool and fun game. I didnt have much trouble with the controls as others have stated. worked pretty good for me and I could see the little rockets heading toward the enemies before the explosions so I could tell what was happening. Maybe make them and the bullets a bit more visible though. This could be a great game with some improved graphics and SFX.

Freank says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:24pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

drazil100 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:49am

I had a few roblems with trying to figure out the controls. But i liked the plane models.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]