Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shifty the Spellthief

by vethan - Jam Entry

Shifty the spell thief is a stealth platformer where you play as Shifty as he uses his shapeshifting ability to sneak past guards and steal artifacts.

Objective is to make your way from the red/blue cell where you start to the green room, take the artifact in the green room, and make your way back out again!

It's a bit buggy at times, suspicious seems to have broken a little bit so the guards spot you even when you've shapeshifted.


Game features Procedurally generated dungeons, and basic AI for the guards, but we didn't manage to finish implementing some of the behaviours. It was intended that suspicion was a representation of how appropriate the item you shape shifted into was for the environment.

The windows download is the original from the deadline. The WebGL build is updated with an optimisation because it ran TERRIBLY in browser if the whole dungeon was always rendering (which it was) but no game-play/content has been updated.

P.S. Follow me @vethan4 and Egon @fiddyfyre on Twitterz

Team:
Programmers: Nathan "Vethan" John & Egon Erdelyi
Artists: Patrik Skog & Mathias "Generic intern 5" Karlsson
Animator: Christian "Cheese" Christiansen

Controls (PC):
WASD: Movement
E: Interact
Shift: Shapeshift
Space: Jump / Double Jump
Escape: Pause

Xbox 360Controller:
Left stick: Move
A: Jump / Double Jump
X: Interact
Right Trigger: Jump
Start: Pause

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#184Graphics(Jam)4.00
#399Humor(Jam)2.70
#558Theme(Jam)3.33
#637Overall(Jam)3.13
#738Fun(Jam)2.87
#771Mood(Jam)2.79
#845Innovation(Jam)2.67

Comments

Max Amaden says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:20am

Really awesome game. Keep up the good work!

Powersource says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:25am

At least on my machine (chrome linux) the fps was bad enough that some of the platforming was almost impossible.

siryakko says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:27am

Nice concept, love the graphics and the ambiance. You should continue working on it

Verz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:30am

Good work!! nice graphics :)

Raphael_ says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:30am

Decent. The gravity is too strong and objective isn't really clear.

pokipsy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:02pm

So cool to see a stealth game in a ludum dare entry ! Graphics look really good. I would have like to have a player indicator on the mini map, because I got lost esaily.
Please change the jump sound, it quickly gets boring ^^
Overall, very nice entry !

studdert249 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:26pm

Loved the music and the art style nice work!

remiv says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:37pm

fun sneaking game. good work.

RealityCheck says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:50pm

Definitely release worthy graphics here. Beautiful to look at. Gameplay felt nice an polished as well, apart from the map which didn't help me at all. I kept running around in circles and couldn't find the end goal. Also, sometimes the guards could see me even if I had changed shape before their cone of vision caught up with me. I found it smarter to just jump over them... which is cheating and defeats the purpose of the game. However, with some more work - this could be a really fun game.

2kah says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:46pm

Really nice concept! I'd like to see a version with the other features you suggested (and a bit less buggy)

jk5000 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:55pm

The idea, music and graphics is great.

vethan says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:02pm

Thanks for the comments so far guys :D Let me know if there's any other build types you'd wanna see

SIN Gaiiden2 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:58pm

Nice Game. keep up :)

hadesfury says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:16pm

I agree with above, the jump could use some work! But pretty nice graphics, congrats on making 2 rigged character models.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:19pm

Hey :) quite good ! I had a hard time jumping to the top of the plaforms, forcing me to lure guard and then jump on them, but the idea is cool :)

hadesfury says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:20pm

I agree with above, the jump could use some work! But pretty nice graphics, congrats on making 2 rigged character models.
Maybe you should say somewhere that there is a double jump, I almost gave up on the first platform !

Insality says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:15am

BE LAMP && STAY ON GUARDIAN'S HEAD

Alex Rose says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:58pm

Nice idea, graphics were cool, good fit for the theme.

I felt the gravity was a bit heavy. The main thing though was that I feel the shapeshifting should've been a "hold" rather than a "press" thing. If I shapeshift too early before the guard sees me, I unshapeshift right in front of him. If I shapeshift in front of him he still gets me.

I ended up finding it way less hassle to just jump on their head all the time and ended up never shifting. It'd be nice to have other forms too.

Other than that, solid entry. Nice one.

iossif says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:36pm

the graphics and the mood are nice. the controls are very weird for me though. the jump could use a little tweaking.

pirate_shell says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 1:33pm

I quite enjoyed the graphics, and they sure were impressive for a LD entry. The game was also quite solid with a few exceptions here and there. For example, the jump felt way too heavy in my opinion. The map was completely useless(at least for me) and maybe a slightly more fitting choice of music would have been nice, as the current one sounds just a bit like porno. Other than that, solid entry.

ocarson says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 8:15pm

Looks really nice, like a bit of procedural generation too!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]