Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Paperchase

by DragonXVI - Compo Entry

Just a little platformer I made. Didn't get the usual amount of time to spend on Ludum Dare as normal (On holiday with limited internet and an ancient laptop :p Excuses excuses!) so this one's a little rushed, but pleasant enough!

Controlled with arrow keys and number keys to change form. Other instructions in game. Guide the little paper dude through the levels to reach the exit, changing between different forms to get about the place.

Apologies for all the bugs.


Made with Unity, Aseprite, Paint.net, FL Studio & BFXR
Helvetipixel font by pentacom

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#4Audio4.39
#4Graphics4.63
#5Overall4.32
#5Theme4.44
#14Fun4.13
#2304Coolness0%

Comments

Andy_Voz says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 5:51pm

That's great!)

bwalter says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 6:14pm

Gorgeous game! fun to play, and gave a chuckle or too, although i somehow flipped upside down and got stuck in a block and that pretty much ended things.

Qrr says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 6:55pm

Good work.

I usually write the criticism of the game here and have some good to say before, but this time the criticism is not of the game, but more of the game engine and the values of control in it.
As all platformers on Unity, this game have really clunky controls. Most of the time I feel that the difficulty of the game came not from the design but from bad controls. I feel that I need just a tad bit more force in my jump, a tad less gravity, a tad less speed as a plane and a tad more friction with the chute (parachute that is).

Also one hit kill is... unexpected. I did not think that this will be a precision platformer. This is again because of the controls.

But good visuals, good animations, good effects and the game is playable! If not for controls...

runvs says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 7:22pm

Very nice game. I really like the juice, the music and the super-cute animations. Controls are not as precise as they could have been. (probably check unity's input gravity setting for this).

Very well executed for a 48h jam!

norseware says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 7:59pm

Wow. Good controls, nice art/animation, a brilliant take on shapeshifting... Overall, great work. You'll do well! :)

qikcik says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 8:07pm

Nice :D

HealogiK says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 9:49pm

Great ideas, but the airplane mode is sooooooo bugged >~< I got stuck two times in a wall and I can't control it (maybe a lack of skill from me ?), Music and pixelart are great !

Apr 17, 2016 @ 10:11pm

Really cute and really nice!

PremadeGames says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:01am

I really like it!

pianoman373 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:57am

Man.... this is such an awesome entry.... One of the best I've played actually.

One of those games that makes you check twice to make sure it is in fact a compo...

Tharky says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:46pm

Couldn't even believe this was made in 48 hours. Wow. Well done sir. Had so much fun with the levels, made it to the end. 4.8/5

Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:15pm

Great game! Really well done.
Had some problems with the aeroplane mode though, kinda hard to control.

unnamed1334 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:35pm

Nice game and good graphics. I would have liked it if the airplane mode was more useful. It never seemed to have a good use due to the sensitive controls and the gliding mode did the same job in most cases.

fooify says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:26pm

The game looks awesome, and plays very well. Great job!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:18pm

lala lalala lala lalala... This is me singing the game theme :D very good music, the gameplay is great too, very simple yet challenging, well done.

SnedHlepPls says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:53pm

I REALLY like the look of this game- it's beautifully animated and the art style is great! The music is also pretty darn good.

TheCain says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:58am

Should have done humor voting.

lumscum says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:27am

Aesthetically, this game is absolutely beautiful! The gameplay was really well done and polished as well. I had a really good time with this one!

LukeZaz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:34am

Short and simple, but enjoyable! Given the secret signs, I'm fairly certain you're aware, but I found out you could fly anywhere with just the arrow keys if you mashed 2 and 3 repeatedly, and after a while of trying was able to use this to escape the map in one of the levels.

tgrehawi says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:10pm

Love the aesthetic! My only criticism is difficulty curve; the levels get a little too hard a little too fast; a really quick fix would be to add checkpoints as dying later in a longer level can be very frustrating. Other than that, great job!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:19pm

Great mood and cute aesthetic - a good entry. However I am stuck with controls that seem to me really weird. Overall, I like this project. Well done ++

Saiodin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:19pm

Amazing :)! Cute graphics, very enjoyable music and the idea in general is very cool. The controls felt a bit too floaty for my taste tho.

blinry says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:22pm

Whew, this is nice! I think the letter box animations are absolutely adorable! <3 You don't have any reason to be so self-critical in the game! Graphics, sound effects, music, level design is all very awesomely done! Found the plane form a little hard to control. Plain 5/5 in each category, never did this before. Thanks for making this! :)

CaptainPilot says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:35pm

Great little game, the platforming is a little too precise but otherwise good

SojaBird says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:19pm

Stunning art!

Ken Ichi says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:34pm

Nice game! :)

Ghust1995 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:30am

Very nice pixel art and a lot of content for a jam =)

Dsnunes says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:57am

so much fun, I loved it

neilcorre2k6 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:31am

Wow! :D That's was fun! :D Love the graphics and the gameplay :D

pirate_shell says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:01am

I really enjoyed the pixel graphics and the flare the lighting added(although I am usually not a fan of smooth lighting with pixels, it worked here). I also like the music, it was suitably jolly. The flavour text was also quite amusing, especially with the little touches it had such as acknowledging the fact you can cheese that first airplane section with the parachute form. What this game lacked is some polish. I think the airplane controlled terribly, but then again that could just be me being bad at games/not getting it. It was a touch buggy as well, but nothing gamebreaking, at least for me. Overall, a great entry to LD 35!

kestrelgames says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:37am

seriously, 48h?! unbelievable! I had just assumed this was a jam entry from the screenshots alone. great lighting, love the paper particles, excellent (and yes why no humour to vote on?)

Jolly Serpent says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:54am

Loved it! Fun little platformer. I wonder if you can somehow reach the text pads that are out of level bounds...

mrnannings says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:30am

Very good game. This is one of the best i played. Graphics are top.

reckhou says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:07am

Solid gameplay, carefully polished, the only issue is some level becomes a little bit too long. Anyway, well done! 5/5

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:19am

-This game would be lovely with a controller

- LOVE the meta-humor and how self aware it is (genuinely laughed when I read "or you could just use the parachute I guess)

- Very smart thematic choices with your character design



I could point out how hard the paper air plane is to use as a con but I assume you're already aware of this as you referenced it directly in the game, haha.


Nice work!

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:09pm

I have been a fan of your stuff since Slam Jam Bakery and you never cease to impress. Always with the polish, great audio and fun core gameplay. Another great entry. well done!

Ithildin says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:41pm

The airplane is really hard to control, but the game concept itself is great, it reminded me a bit of Kirby :D

Graphics and music are beautiful. It's amazing the level of polish you achieved in 48h. Great job!

Paulgami says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:46am

Love the style and the effects. The mechanic (and the flavour text) really reminds of Paper Mario. A lot of content and polish for just two days.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:56pm

very good entry; third level was too hard for me; where is the source?

Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:41am

WOW. Straight fives across the board.

Seriously: my only real complaint is that it was possible to fall forever, and you have the restart key for that. And yeah, I guess the plane form was kinda useless, but at least you threw a lampshade on that.

Best one I've played so far this LD. WOW. Nice work.

Rock Eaters says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 8:59pm

Cute game ! Nice level design ! :)

Apr 30, 2016 @ 1:40pm

Lovely game! The art style was amazing in my opinion. I also loved the notes in the levels. It was like a mixture of developers' notes and tutorial notes. The airplane mode was extremely difficult to control and seemed a bit pointless to me, but the overall gameplay was nice.

I also uploaded a video of your game on YouTube.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Y4Jb1ONp9Y

knason says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 6:23pm

Awesome! Really great job! I had a hard time maneuvering the plane :)

May 3, 2016 @ 5:35pm

You are featured in today's LUDUM DARE TO BELIEVE! Check it out - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bmiRuxXuBqU

Riftpoint says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 4:37pm

Amazing game, very beautiful graphics. One of the best game of this ludum dare. Congratulations to the team

LeReveur says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 2:28pm

Great game ! I like the mood, the music, the humour, the well-think little puzzles, it was fun to play, well done !

avinashd says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 7:56pm

Difficult, but rewarding. Very charming use of the lighting effect (bloom?). I don't know how I feel about the slippery controls, especially given that the player is made of paper and not slime or anying.

Bonus points for a 12MB Unity game! I've abused my SSD so much downloading 200MB sidescrollers that I really appreciate the small download size!

scorched says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 8:53pm

Plane mode could be easier to control...
Can't say anything bad about other things ;-)
Well done!

BrainSlugs83 says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 10:06pm

The level difficulty had a really steep curve. I would tone that down a bit, and reserve the difficult parts for bonus areas / late in game stuff. Taking time limitations into account it's a very solid entry. Though, I'm a little sad that there was no fullscreen / gamepad support (doesn't unity give you those things for "free"? -- like effort wise, I mean...).

lkr says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 4:17pm

Love the pixel art and audio, and fun gameplay to on top :)
I wish the controls were a bit tighter, but that's just a minor gripe for such a great compo entry!

May 9, 2016 @ 11:56pm

Really lovely. I had a hard time with the mechanics (well, specifically the paper airplane) but the particle effects, design and general cuteness of everything made me want to keep trying just so I could see a little bit more. Great work.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]