Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Sunshift

by guimonpa - Jam Entry

SunShift is a twitchy action game, for more info... just play it!

There are 21 levels to beat, some manageable and some utterly nightmarish. Can you make it to the end?

Controls:

Arrow keys to move

You can skip a stage pressing S

--- Post Jam version info ---

The post jam version is virtually the same as the jam, we just fixed one bug for the stage skip that happened on certain occasions and added a version with an alternate control scheme.
In this last one you jump with Z instead of the up arrow. If we just allowed both buttons in the same build it would allow you to do some movement that is not possible if you only have one physical button for the jump, and we wanted to keep things simple and consistent.
Please pick the one you are more comfortable with :)

Sound effects made with chiptone.
Music by Kevin MacLeod (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_DOQuVH4eeg)

Rhinoceros Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#6Fun(Jam)4.30
#23Overall(Jam)4.17
#44Audio(Jam)4.00
#117Mood(Jam)3.80
#254Innovation(Jam)3.45
#294Graphics(Jam)3.78
#628Theme(Jam)3.24

Comments

Remicy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:45am

This is really fun! It's hard but I'm loving it. Art and music also great. Best game so far.

bigmangames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:35pm

The coolest take on Flappy Bird so far.

ChrisMingay says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:36pm

Very fun and very smooth as well. The window size change mechanic is very original :) Dare I say it, I prefer this game to Flywrench

Mieeh says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:37pm

Fun game! Altough sometimes it felt like it was unfairly hard and it felt like there wasn't anything i could do. Other than that good use of mechanics and for the most part good level design.

sudorossy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:39pm

Rock hard, amazing visuals, amazing graphics. Seriously, this is one of the best LD games I've ever played in all of them.

zugende says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:39pm

That is super fun! Would play it all day. :D

KappaIX says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:40pm

Really good visual style, liked the transitional effects between the levels!

Not sure you should have considered yourself for rating in audio when the main sound is a Kevin MacLeod track?

Well done!

Le_Sarus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:46pm

super hard but good controls and cool use of the screen moving mechanic.

JALgames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:46pm

Very hard, but also very fair., The controls feel extremely good and the fast respawn stopped me from getting too frustrated. The art ist very simple, but extremely good-looking.

motorherp says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:47pm

Loads of fun, really enjoyed it

LudumAnthony says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:49pm

One of the few games I will actually keep on my desktop, great job!

spiffl says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:51pm

Ahhhhhh this game is freakin good! The concept is solid, if simple, and the mechanics are fun. But what REALLY impressed me was the aesthetic, especially way each level takes place in a small frame and the frame moves around! The first time the frame moved during a level I was like WOOOOOAHHHHHHHHH. REALLY REALLY cool idea.

If I had one criticism it would be this: having up be jump really is never the right idea, in my opinion. It feels weird using the same fingers for movement and an action like jumping. I bet the game would be easier for most people if jumping was spacebar or z or something? Maybe it's configurable, in which case good! But I think it shouldn't be the default either.

But that's really pretty minor and I like the game a lot :)

torcado says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:53pm

this was really cool! reminded me a lot of flywrench, which was probably inspiration. nice colors!

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:53pm

This is really well polished, great game!

guimonpa says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:58pm

Thanks for the comments guys!

@spiffl You are totally right, arrow keys felt comfortable for me on my laptop keyboard but I understand the frustration, I'll upload a post jam build with alternate jump buttons tomorrow!

Marcellus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:01pm

awesome game, simple yet deadly. music fits nice.

I died 77 times.

Rey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:06pm

awesome! way too hard but it made me want to play it all day :D best game I've seen so far

bobismijnnaam says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:15pm

First off: my congratulations of being the first unity game to successfully run on my ubuntu 15.10 installation! It seems that, even though I'd suppose this is a "Just Works" feature in Unity, 9/10 Ludum Dare participants still seem to mess this up.

I played 14 levels, and I skipped the last 6 (give or take). Most of them are astonishingly hard. I managed to keep my spirits up, but when at the key-shaped level I had to do one parcours twice, but the second time the other way around, you broke my spirit. The game's aesthetics are very well crafted, and the music is nice and hypnotizing. I commend you, great job!

ManuSaiz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:36pm

Absolutelly brilliant, man beating this game was challenging! I almost give up 3 times but I just couldn't keep playing until I beat it. 5 STARS in FUN well deserved 100% engaging, Chapeau. Amazing. Perfect. You guys have design talent. Good job. Awesome.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:07pm

Quite challenging indeed, but it so smooth and fun to control. Presentation is solid, feels like a very complete game.

drazil100 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:49pm

I really enjoyed the moving borders

Naca says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:04pm

Extremely fun and well polished game, congrats!. Though I don't see the "shapeshift" theme anywhere but in the title :D

TheCain says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:29am

I couldn't beat it. I'm sorry. That level with the back and forth borders just killed me. I almost had it, but that L block next to the goal got me.
Really good though.

aCoupleGames says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:48am

All the comments here ar really truth! Best game ever played in Jam. Congrats guys, keep working!

Jolly Serpent says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:50am

Great idea, stylish minimalistic design, awesome!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:43am

Great solid entry loved te gameplay and minimalistic graphics :D

tppr2046 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:11am

Really fun! Love the music

AnaGF says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:44am

Great game! Difficulty progression may be just a bit strange, sometimes you pass a hard level and start a easier one, but the game is amazing! 5/5

Pibeex says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:11am

YES!!! Amazing game, I've spent almost an hour playing it! Unfortunately it's only after reading the comments that I realised you can skip levels...
http://i.imgur.com/CQKOgrx.png

reckhou says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:13am

That's... terrible, can't even beat level 1... sorry

Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:15pm

Really nice looking and challenging game.. :)

Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:31am

this game is very hard, but also one of the games i had most fun in this week

dvdagames says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:20pm

That was really fun to play even though it got frustratingly hard on several levels. I had to skip a few so that I could see more of the game.

Really great work on the puzzles and the pretty large number of levels for such a short Game Jam.

The music was spot on, too.

blinry says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:09pm

I absolutely adore the "window" style of the levels. Game is too hard to be really enjoyable for me, though ;-) But thanks for making it!

eduardogacn says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 1:35am

wow , amazing game

Fabraz says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:51am

So... Many... Deaths... Well done! (This must read very strange haha)

Tselmek says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 5:45am

Amazingly executed, the level design is superb and offers some really tight moments.

Insality says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:39am

Oh amazing, top marks.
when i see screenshots - i think what a strange game? dont want to play this. But when i tryed... The game is perfect. The Game dynamic is brilliant. No words anymore. Great entry!

avinashd says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 3:42am

You should probably slow down the learning curve. I'm not going to say turn down the difficulty because the levels were really fun, but maybe add some easy levels in between to slowly raise the difficulty :P

Alphish says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 12:52pm

When the theme said "Shapeshift", you actually meant environment changing all around, not the main character being "shifted" or "moved around" and being a shape, right? ^^'

This entry was pretty fun to play around, some levels were easier, some harder, some left very little room for error (esp. the questionmark one) or required quite an endurance, but in the end all were passable and none felt particularly unfair. I just have no idea why sun is involved in particular. ^^'

(also, it's a bit of pity you didn't use some opportunity for untold story; like, the environment getting more and more annoyed at that arrows controller flapping around; there seemed some episode with DIE level followed by some possibly sadistic (?) face, but wasn't eventually brought to conclusion)

Really cool entry overall. ^^

BSODDevTeam says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 6:09pm

Nice, really well done.

csanyk says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 2:43pm

Amazing. Great challenge! I am very impressed!

Ludipe says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 9:59pm

The game is amazing, visuals are super simple yet they fit in perfectly.

Really polished and well-done, level design is fantastic!

Marius says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 11:04am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! We're realizing a video with several winners of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

guimonpa says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 5:37pm

@Marius

Sure thing, it's already up on your site. Thanks for playing!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]