Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Brutally Shifty Dance Crew

by Franklin's Ghost - Compo Entry

Another Ludum Dare and another game where I ran out of time. You'd think after having done a few of these I'd have learnt by now.

The entry is my attempt at a dancing game. My interpretation of the theme was that breakdancing is shapeshifting.

You have to keep dancing as long as you can by keeping your red energy bar across the bottom filled. If it runs out so does your time. The crowd will yell out shapes and you have to click the corresponding shapes to refill. You only have a small window to click the button so you have to be quick. Keyboard recommended for computer and icons are more for touch screens and mobile. It is meant to be a quick experience so you will lose to time eventually.

Keyboard will also work and the following buttons correspond with the shapes. Make sure game is in focus though or keys won't work.

1 or C = Circle
2 or V = Rectangle
3 or J = Triangle
4 or K = Square

Any button to skip screens.

UPDATE POST LUDUM DARE VERSION 28/04/2016
Thanks everyone for playing so far and sorry about confusion with controls. Feedback has been heard so I have updated with a post ludum dare version that has more moves, more little tweaks and makes it clearer that the buttons can only be pressed at specific times. You are only meant to be able to press the buttons/keys when the shapes are called out once. If you press the wrong button/key when it hasn't been called then you lose more energy.
Also new menu animations and ending.

Any questions feel free to ask me on twitter
@FranklinsGhost

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#72Graphics4.05
#407Audio2.82
#423Humor2.31
#440Mood2.98
#703Innovation2.73
#733Overall2.88
#783Fun2.61
#811Theme2.70

Comments

Nomys_Tempar says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:07pm

Love the arts.
The controls are odd and difficult. Can't activate the circle and the square, no with any keyboard keys or by cliking on it. Is there a limited time to activate them ? Maybe it's to small ?

Bemmu says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:22pm

Nice rotoscoping. Frustrating controls.

panurge says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:20pm

Nice! I always like your stuff and this was no exception. Great aesthetic design and simple but enjoyable gameplay. I still got the moves. :)

jordgubben says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:23pm

Not sure if it's intended but I'm getting a strong street art vibe from this.

Avant-Marde says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:44pm

Cool idea!

I've seen your animations before, and this was a cool use of them.

The voices are scary!

You did say you ran out of time, and yeah, it feels a bit short on difficulty, but it was a nice experiment and definitely something that could be developed further.

Like many others, my biggest gripe is with the controls. I really think you should've assigned the shapes to keys and made it more like StepMania for example. Mouse worked for now since the game was so easy, but for higher difficulties it just wouldn't have worked (touch screen controls might have worked, tho).

Would've been fun to dance to a long and speedy song using the keys. c:

I don't reeeeally see how it fits the theme tho TBH. There's a vague implication since you're clicking different shapes, but the shifting part isn't really there IMO.

Anyhow, I like the concept!

Chaoslab says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:40am

Enjoyed it. Thanks.

neondx says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:13am

i liked the concept, but the voice sounds was keeping me away from enjoying the music... It was a good experience anyway

DSSiege11 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:32am

Haha this game is great! I Love the graphics and audio!

The only thing that's missing (at least in the web version I played) is some kind of score that tells you how long you were able to dance ;)

Apart from that it's a fantastic entry, well done!

Tselmek says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:21pm

Nice animations. The gameplay quickly becomes repetitive and the music is slightly disturbing :P

Sean says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:17pm

I liked the use of rotoscoping, it gave this a really unique look! The audio could have used a bit more polish though, it felt a bit at odds with the visuals imo.

Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:18pm

What a lovely little game ! The gameplay is pretty simple but works pretty well and aesthetics are just awesome. From animation to audio, there is a lot to love there. Super memorable entry, congrats !

tanjent says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:25pm

This one I will remember for a long time - very trippy and really good animation :P I don't really know if I did it right when I clicked on the different shapes and if I did it in time, some feedback other then the red bar could be good.

retrograze says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:49am

I'm not quite sure what kind of instruments you used to make this music, but no offence, I couldn't get into it at all. Maybe it's just not my taste. Also, it didn't seem to matter how fast I inputted the correct shape, my life meter just drained too fast, and the amount of energy I recieved for doing a correct action didn't seem to boost my energy enough to compensate. I love the animation. Why is there no score system? I'm not really tempted to play again if I have no idea if I did better than the last time.

qu2 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 11:25am

Very nice animations, I'm not sure why the bar depleted so quickly though. It felt like my button presses weren't extending the time much at all. Well done for a good game.

Cerno_b says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:14pm

Visually beautiful game. Did you rotoscope from an existing source or did you record the dance moves yourself?

Unfortunately the music was a bit grating and it took me a while to understand that I had to push each shape multiple times to stay in the game.

One complaint: You might have chosen to punish hitting the wrong key as the game is easily winnable by spamming all four keys at the same time.

Skaz says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 12:44pm

Nice entry! Having to click or press the button is a bit distracting from the dance itself, the animation is great. Keyboard is vastly easier than mouse controls.

kopo says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 12:49pm

Original concept ! The graphics looks nice, but even though I pressed the keys right the bar kept falling and I never seemed to gained some
I did not try the updated version though

I liked it !

Rulrite says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 2:06am

Nice job! I really like the concept, and the rotoscoped graphics are gorgeous. The art and the sound come together to give the game a very surreal mood, which I like a lot - and it's all nicely tied up with the message at the end.

deepnight says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 2:25pm

The idea is interesting and I especially liked the sort of rotoscoped dancer :) But to be honest, the music was... well... I had to turn the sound off on my PC. Not sure if it was intended to sound like this of it was a bug (tried on both Chrome && FF, latest player installed).

blackoptics8 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 7:30pm

looks great and has a nice vibe ;D

OddballDave says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 8:22pm

Great graphics and interesting audio.

Good stuff.

Miziziziz says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 2:24am

Great animations, but yeah, the controls were confusing to figure out. Also, I think it would be better if they were mapped to wasd or arrow keys
I feel like a design similar to the duel in FF9 would be better ( perhaps a dance off?), e.g. you press the button only once after each one is called.

GrooveMan says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 7:54pm

I really love the visual style of this game! Though with a dance that funky, it seemed a shame that the music really didn't match and had a loop so short.

If you want to return to this no longer beholden to not using outside assets, definitely find some hip hop, or some vogue beats to set this to!

EvanEGibbs says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 6:50am

Your games always have such a cool and unique feel to them! I absolutely love the interpretation that breakdancing is shapeshifting, what a novel idea! :) The animation was very cool, I am always impressed by how you animate people. Nice job!

Geckoo1337 says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 10:31am

Great aesthetic for a funny game. The music is a little bit too loud, but overall I like it. Well done ++

methylenblub says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 4:50pm

nice game, original graphics!

Ellian says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 11:54am

Really good audio and art, but sadly the controls are weird and the game doesn't feel really satisfying to play. You're onto something tho, theorically it could be fun!

Rock Eaters says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 1:48pm

good idea to make a breakdancing game ^^ but it can be better, the scribble guy animations are fine and i like the idea that the audience request the movement.

Nolocality says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 10:35pm

That's one confident scribble dancer.

Very very smooth and enjoyable animations on the breakdancer...I've only seen that animation technique a few times but when it's pulled off nicely it's great.

I admit I wasn't sure if my inputs were on time or not at first, perhaps consider a bit more player feedback on the important inputs for future projects.

On the bright side yours is one of the few entries I've played that has all it's elements (music, sfx, graphics, gameplay, etc..)intact and feels 'complete'...taking this and the fact that it's a safe bet you ran solo (I see no mention of a team) that's an impressive feat.

yuigoto says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 3:46am

Love the art, the rotoscoped animations and the "crew" watching and yelling, I know how hard rotoscoping and testing the animations are, and it's always good to see it being done! :)

The audio lacks something, I don't know, the music feels like in a club, with a crew and all, but I think it lacks some "punch". The voices are kinda creepy, like the audience is talking with a deadpan face, so more variations and feeling would give a real great vibe! :)

The controls are simple, but enjoyable, maybe adding more combinations, people yelling shapes in sequence, could give a bit more challenge! :P

But really great! Nice work! I want to do a dance/music-based game too now! :P

Tanton-H2X says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 4:52am

omg! real play be more cool than just read from the page/screenshots!~ so fun and the animation very smooth,genius and clever! At first several times it alittle bit hard for me ,but found the flow feeling quickly~
well done!

Xanjos says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 1:42pm

Really needs a proper restart mechanism rather than just refreshing the game page but I like the animations a lot.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]