Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

JellyBean

by marvalgames - Compo Entry

Windows, Web or Android (Linux Link). Game pad recommended.
Note: Web edition seems to show black background on 1st run. Sometimes exiting
and rerun fixes issue.
3 levels
level 3 is an escape level.
WASD controls
SPACE swing
LEFT MOUSE jump
RIGHT MOUSE sprint

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#169Humor3.06
#531Audio2.45
#663Graphics2.65
#762Mood2.22
#887Innovation2.20
#892Theme2.30
#912Fun2.10
#930Overall2.32
#1483Coolness41%

Comments

blinry says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:11pm

"Windows" link is dead.

eduardogacn says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:19am

not found :/

OrangePop says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:13am

Windows link is dead man

dringy says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 9:38pm

The controls was a bit clunky but it was fun. That attacking noise though....

candlesan says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 11:08pm

Funny sounds. I think I would have liked jump on space and attack on LMB but that's minor.

legavroche says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 5:08am

Wasn't a fan of the sound effects. I liked the models but controls are a bit counter-intuitive imo. It took me a while to get use to using space to atk and left mouse to jump.

LeReveur says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 4:32pm

I... don't know what to say after what I'va seen. And eared. I lose after 3 or 4 mobs, and didn't understand all of this, but perhaps I'm not as high as I would need. ;)

ezombort says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 6:23pm

Not very polished but I was entertained :)

knason says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 6:33pm

Difficult, but I loved the audio, it was quite moody :-)

yuigoto says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 6:50am

Windows link is dead, so my review is based upon the Web version. :)

The graphics are nice, and the model animation is nice too, but needs some polish. Soundtrack is good, but I don't feel like it "fits" the style of the game, the same thing goes with the voice effects.

The controls work, but not 100% as written on the description, didn't get the "sprint" thing to work too. Some attacks didn't connect and I often die too, how does the collision work for this? :P

Congrats on making, though! :)

marvalgames says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:56am

Thanks,
Didn't realize the windows link was still dead. The web player doesn't seem to work well with the Audio Mixer so the pitch is off. I wanted a faster tempo. Also more problems with the collision in the Web version... The enemies can only connect when punching... Not sure about sprint

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]