Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shapeshift

by suurin - Jam Entry

A 'tunnel-runner' game meets 'matching shapes' game.

Move with AD or left and right arrow buttons, and switch shapes with 1,2,3 buttons. Dodge lasers using your pyramid form. Switch to the sphere form to move left and right faster. Check in-game info about available pick-ups.

=== Important notice: Pressing ESC while in game quits you to main menu, if you need to pause the game press PgDown or F1 ===

Yep, there are no sounds. Sadly. Queue in some of your own music and have fun!

== KNOWN BUGS ==
- Level generation can sometimes (only happened to me once or twice out of like 20 playtesting sessions) overlap and cause the player to fall out of the level. Sorry if that happens to you.
- If WebGL (HTML5) version refuses to load you can always use standalone downloads, links are under the WebGL player, and on this page.

=== UPDATE ===
Post LD version is now up. Right now the only difference from the original is that it has sounds and some sick creative commons music in it. You can play it if you like. Standalone download links are big icons under the WebGL player.

Also a timelapse of the development process is now available - https://youtu.be/ZsVN2dGUwcI

Thanks for playing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#151Fun(Jam)3.63
#276Overall(Jam)3.53
#316Theme(Jam)3.63
#339Mood(Jam)3.36
#392Graphics(Jam)3.60
#721Innovation(Jam)2.85

Comments

nesis says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:36am

A nice fast-paced game with nice graphics. On the level generation side of things, some blind corners made it impossible to dodge incoming obstacles, and there were a few long periods of time when no obstacles appeared - but when level generation worked at juuust the right pace, it was good fun :)

TreenewT says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:49pm

Really enjoyed the game but I think it is limited by a lack of fast paced music to get the juices flowing.

Powersource says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:59pm

Only getting a white screen after pressing play in the main menu. chrome on linux

ekkiiiii says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:01pm

Cool game. I especially enjoy the minimalistic art style which works very well.

BrianSChung says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:03pm

Cool. Especially like the visual style.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:03pm

Game way better than its title! 4.5/5 :D

suurin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:22pm

@TreenewT The post-compo update will most likely include some of that. Sadly our music guy got sick litterally the day the jam began, and I absolutely did not have any time nor skill to make anything like that.

@Powersource Please try the standalone version, Unity WebGL player can be really bad at the thing it was created for.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:25pm

yeah, its a shame there's no audio at all - even just some electronic tones on collision would have worked well with your clean aesthetic

Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:57pm

Fun game, cool style. Often walls will appear in front of you so close that you have no time to react or move. Starts kinda slow but moving faster seems like a disadvantage. Sound would have been nice

docteurSid says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:04pm

I hope you will add music soon because it can be awesome !

orukinawa says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:04pm

Fell off the stage but I really enjoyed it. I dig the visuals too

Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:06pm

Pretty cool!!! 11600 Points!, have a little glitch when you got a boost (colliding obstacles gives you hp, at least in level 4), in general a nice entry, just need some active music and is a potencial addictive game, great job!

Skruffye says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:25pm

Reminds me of one of the later levels in Jak3 and an old flash game where you were a missile flying down a tube with obstacles.
Pretty fun, though the graphics need a little bit of work to make it really shine. Sometimes the camera clipped through the track or got hit by an obstacle.
Overall, fun game though. :)

siryakko says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:32pm

Nice take on it, some flow in the level design of the "tracks" that makes them frustrating sometimes. I've enjoyed the game.

Big Cow says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:37pm

Had a lot of fun playing this. The simple graphics worked well. Nice aesthetics as well as gameplay.

redcubegames says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:41pm

Very addicting, nice sounds. Did 10k points ^^, no issues. Great game.

crucknuk says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:42pm

Excellent entry! I love the design and the mood! I encountered the bug that put you out of the map, but I don't take that into account because I faced similar problems with unity in the past. Good job ;)

Chikoness says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:45pm

Neat game, love the simple yet elegant art :)

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:59pm

Good game, I haven't had a single bug in my session, it's fluid and good looking :)

Sir Magic says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:03pm

Really neat idea right here, reminds me a lot of a programme on TV called "hole in the wall"

nextreality says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:04pm

I really enjoyed the music so good job adding that afterwards, it pairs nicely with the gameplay. Only complaint is that I felt the speed took to long to become faster, maybe have speed tethered to your score instead of the blue gates?other than that, nice game!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:18pm

Was a good game, enjoyed playing it

Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:07pm

Really cool game loved it great work!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:45am

Pretty cool game, but there were very long stretches with nothing going on, as well as blind corners when something did spawn. It kept me playing for a good long while though!

teamross says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:50am

I enjoyed the game a lot!
Simple and clean art, really good. (UI included!)
Fun and polished gameplay.
Solid entry!

DuckTieTeam says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:54am

Great game, with great mechanic feeling. I like how mechanics of the game polished, very cool to play.

meownsk says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:00am

A good game!
14000 score :)

Imperial Unit says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:00am

What an amazing game. The combination of the simple yet very clear art style, the tight controls, and the new music you added creates a near hypnotic experience.

Tacohej says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:01am

Even tho I think the theme is a bit dull, it's a great game.

Sometimes it's impossible to dodge an obstacle due to misfortuned level generation, and collisions with mismatching colors didnt always result as dmg. Other than that it's great fun. Good graphics, flow and seems addictive. Well done

mountainstorm says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:21pm

Great game, fun to play and lovely graphics - simple but perfect. Not sure why/how it fits the theme ... but not sure I care :)

andyman404 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:08pm

Very cool game. Awesome aesthetics. I like how there's not just one "up" direction like in some tube runner games. Kudos on the sweet proc gen. Well done!

giordanno92 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:56am

One of my highest rated games in this LD. I simply loved the feeling of moving inside the tunnel and, as I did with my rhythm game, you decided to work with changes on basic shapes. I loved the audio and the minimalist graphics. If only the gameplay was synchronized with the music, it would've been perfect. Top notch entry!

justingood says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:28pm

Best game i played ever. 10/10 omg omg very good

GGAlliance says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:21am

Good concept. The window was cutted (Windows (x64) version).

flummox3d says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:12am

Some turns make this really unfair, but the game plays nice, and oh my god, so glad that music was added :) Great job! :)

iossif says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:27pm

the graphics are amazing. could use a bit more balancing with line of sight and sudden obstacles - but those are minor changes.

Jeasonfire says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 3:51pm

The graphics are cool, minus the occassional clipping. I like the gameplay, though sometimes it feels like there isn't enough "warning time" after a curve, so it feels a bit cheap when you hit an obstacle. Still, quite a solid game, and it's fun!

wboqm says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 3:48am

Love the graphics! I did fall out of the level at the end of level 4.

marmpa says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:01pm

Really nice game seems really hard worked

Miko says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 10:35pm

The flow and momentum was really good, and definitely my favorite part of this. Great entry!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]