Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shape Assault

by thomz12 - Compo Entry

My Ludum Dare 35 game: Shape Assault!

I highly recommend getting the standalone, but the web version works fine.

Controls:
A/D or arrow keys : Move
W or Space or up arrow : Jump
Mouse : Aim
Left click : Shoot

Thanks for checking it out!

Update:
-Fixed level not showing up sometimes
-Made it a little bit easier to complete

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#44Fun3.93
#81Overall3.82
#101Graphics3.92
#169Mood3.41
#195Theme3.77
#297Audio3.07
#375Humor2.46
#546Innovation2.98

Comments

rfonseca says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 9:26pm

Great job! Loved it! But I found bug/glitch... Can't precise you where it was, but after the first swarm of enemies, I was jumping and shooting at some more enemies, and I bounced on something which sent me a little higher, and when I touched the top wall, the level disappeared, but the game continued as the health polygon stayed there while decreasing (since I was getting hit), but besides that there was only the background. Even still, awesome game!

thomz12 says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 9:32pm

Thanks for pointing that out! I'll have a look at it. :)

crisp says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:39am

Absolutely AWESOME!!!!

zugende says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:43am

awesome!!! Sometime I ask myself what the hell I'm doing in 48h when seeing results like this.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:46am

Very nice, I really liked the style of the health bar. Good design for the weapons for each shape.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:47am

Good job, simple but good visuals. The music was also pretty good. Good usage of the theme, but man, it was insanely difficult. Check out mine: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=49808

oal says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:48am

Crazy! Art, sound and gameplay works really well. Very professional game for a weekend compo. Superb!

seitnerk says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:30am

awesome feeling! i liked it a lot!

Cowa says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:53am

Wow very satisfying game! I love it.

sirtetris says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:31pm

The web version glitched out on me a few times (screen went black) but I got the standalone version to work on Linux (missed a few libs at first).

Apart from that: what a blast! The wild shooting reminded me of Trosh (https://youtu.be/l-yCtFtnQe8). Visuals, sound, game play ... everything awesome! And it wasn't easy to get to the end. (Stupid circle — would've liked to be a pentagon the whole time. ^_^)

grayhaze says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:54pm

Easily my favourite entry so far, and I actually made it to the end! :D

Really good use of the theme to produce something I haven't seen before and just the right level of difficulty. Excellent work!

Yrasin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:41pm

Really cool! Awesome job with the graphics and the feel of the game! Sometimes the camera moves too much, and it would be nice to turn off screen shake.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:44pm

Nice game, the gameplay is great very addictive and nice use of the theme.

Marsouin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:19pm

It's a hard game :O

Quique says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:27pm

WOW! it's awesome!!!!!
Good work

ezombort says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:30pm

I like the graphics and the gameplay. The music got a bit annoying but +1 for having mute functionality :)

BloodJohn says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:14pm

Arcade platformer, cool!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:16pm

very cool. It has kind of a Super Crate Box feel to it, which I'm really digging. My only real complaint was that some of the weapons felt a little underpowered or unsatisfying. What's especially problematic about this is that the hard to use weapons are the ones I tend to get stuck using most of the time, since I'll score kills with the effective weapons before I know it, and I'm back to a weapon that's tough to work with.

Jungle says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:20pm

Excellent job!!!! Very creative!!

Klaas says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:50pm

Occasionally had the level disappear on me - which was pretty frustrating. But I'm glad it didn't put me off! Great game!

Gtron says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:29am

Very fun! The game had a very even difficulty curve, and the different shooting behaviors encouraged very different play styles that I had to switch to on the fly! My only nitpick is that the music doesn't loop seamlessly, and though it's very good, it gets repetitious after a few minutes.

EvoGenGames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:36am

Good job and nice interpretation of the theme!
I would have been nice if you could choose your own form depending on the type and amount of enemies that are approaching.

tmpxyz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:37am

quite fun to play, simple and intense game.

wavertron says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:42am

Sweet glowing graphics, lots of juicy-ness in there giving player feedback. Felt very chaotic. Great game.

Headmade says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:42am

This is a very competently crafted entry, it checks all the boxes and seems very polished. I like the clean look and the screen shake is indeed very shaky. Well done.

My main complaint would be that the enemies take too much damage, this makes the projectiles seems weak and unsatisfying. And the music was too repetitive.

kariamoss says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:56am

Really good! I liked the graphics, and the theme is really well respected. Great job! :)

Holtenice says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:10am

Great tempo in the game! like!

Megalink says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:14am

Awesome!!! The only problem is that the music got a bit annoying but everything else is really well done, good job dude!

ploerre says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:18am

really cool! i like the gameplay and the massive shooting fun!
unfortunately the web version has sometimes black screen.
and the osx version doesn't launch here (10.8.5)

thomz12 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:24am

@ploerre That's unfortunate :(. I don't have a way to test the OSX versions. I have been looking into the webplayer issues.

Thanks for the great feedback everyone!

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:29am

Excellent Game, amazing effect.

MintArcade says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:30am

Mind blown! ->X__X<-
Awesome game - love it!!! Need 10 stars

ChatPion says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:49am

Super fun ! But my screen turned black, and I don't know why. Music is repetitive too, but at least I can mute it. Finally, I really like the neon-like color !

meganukebmp says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:54am

Very nice. Awesome arcade action!

Matzigon says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:11pm

Nice game! :) I could probably live with less screen shake, as shooting massive hordes of enemies tends to give a lot of kills. But it has a simple and effective graphics, so the execution is nice.

rnlf says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:28pm

Finally a Unity game with style. These are hard to come by. Worked perfectly fine in the WebGL version. All in all, this was a very fun game. Made it all the way to the end in the first try, which probably means it's a bit too easy, but probably exactly right for a game jam.

I like the also health meter, it's pretty neat.

SkullPixel says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:31pm

Well done! Having the poor player switch weapons each time you killed something has some of the forced-adaptation of Super Crate Box. I'd have to say the pentagon seemed to word the best of them all though.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:30pm

This was a pretty neat game, I especially liked your UI choices. Nice job!

recursor says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:40pm

Definitely challenging and it has a nice retro arcade feel to it.

JoseArias says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:43pm

Wonderful job. Nothing bad to say. Congrats

Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:46pm

Now that was a long level, pretty good game, I liked the bullet effects and at the end I just dodged all the other shapes to finish levels, not much to say, good effort there.

luquio says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:00am

my gosh i love the glowing colors, dope for my eyes! luv it!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:30pm

Nicely polished. Kept thinking it would feel more natural changing into the shape I killed or something less random.

Ithildin says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:20pm

Cool job! Controls were smooth and I really liked the visual style. I had problems telling when I was doing fine and when I was being hit, though. Probably making enemy bullets a different colour or shape could help.

Nice entry! :D

Mieeh says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:36pm

Wow, gun game. Really nice work on the graphics and mood. I really enjoyed all the fancy effects, it really made the game feel so much more better. The core mechanic is simple but fun and intense. Great game you got here!

knason says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:55pm

great game! Hard but fun. I liked that you included the first learning steps of how to use the controlls into the game. Nice graphics. :) good job!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:49pm

Great game! All the different parts - graphics, music and gameplay works really nicely together! Good job!

Avant-Marde says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:30am

Nice simplistic graphics with an extra touch of lighting and CRT effect that really did a lot for it!

Music was neat IMO but the other half of Avant-Marde asked me to turn it off, so I'm not sure where we stand there in effect. ;p It's possible all the shooting sounds were the problem, tho. I guess I agree on that.

Personally horribly tired of basically every game ever being about killing, but since the style was so abstract I felt like I wouldn't have really thought of it that way unless you actually used that wording in the game, so that was a bit disappointing IMO, but I know I hold a minority view here...

I'm just bad at this sort of stuff in general. When there were only one thing shooting at me at a time I tried to stand in some corner where I could hit them but they couldn't hit me, being all strategic about it, but at the end of the level I basically just had to try and run through it while shooting wildly around me. It... didn't work. I'm just not good enough at this! :p

A little bit unsure about the use of the theme. While you do of course shift shapes, I don't really feel it's a mechanic that does much for me in this game, because it shifts every time I eliminate another target so I can't control the mechanic and use it to my advantage. Unless that comes up in later levels, of course, but I just couldn't make it through the first one. :c

Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:30pm

Great visual style and effects and nice tutorial, that is unusual for jam games. One of the best geometric interpretation of the theme.
P.S. Do not use RAR archives for OS X builds, please, it is not native.

kev9318 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:44pm

cool game ! loved the pentagon's power haha

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:34pm

The perfect example of how focusing on the mechanics rather than heavily on art assets can create a very honed and super fun game. SUPER fun.

My only complaint: I wish left click bullets did damage and stole powers and right click bullets just did damage and healed.

Or something like that.

I would just like the ability to make the choice of what powers i'm getting so there was more meaningful choices-- which is hard in a platformer meets shmup.

DuckTieTeam says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:43pm

Great game, fast-paced, dynamic, with stunning visuals. One of the best I've played. However, there was a glitch, and game send me to main menu in the middle of hot battle)

Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:27pm

Loved the visual style. Not sure if there was any reason to changing shapes, or if it was just random. The shooting felt really good. Would like to see this expanded on.

bytegrove says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:47pm

Nice work! I -LOVE- the catchy tune! The weapons got a really nice "oomph" to them as well. I had a hard time really understanding what was happening a lot of the time however, but I managed to beat the level!

AnaGF says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:27pm

Hey, that is a really funny game you got there. I specially like the smooth controls, and how you incorpored the shapeshifting on a 2D shooter.

mountainstorm says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:03pm

Great idea and brilliantly executed. So much fun!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 4:40am

this was great fun - couple of glitches where i could go between walls - sold gameplay - awesome job

Riftpoint says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 7:18pm

Really great game! The art and the special effects are awesome. Very juicy game, good to play

AinoraZ says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 10:29pm

Hahaha :D! A game that will always be fun to mess around with. I love the style, health bar and overall feel but the music definitely needs some work. It's not looping correctly and it gets annoying fast. Other then that, great job!

Kerdelos says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 1:02pm

Wow this is cool, love the way my shooting style changes each time I destroy a shape. But it is hard to distinguish ennemies' shot from mine when there's too much on screen.
Cool game !

Geckoo1337 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 8:58pm

Crazy game which is really frenetic. I like the minimalist aesthetic. Well done. One of my favorites for this 35th LudumDare session ++

Tanton-H2X says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 11:05am

ahhh! my fingger so tired!haha you really biult a very cool rhythm by the shapeshifting... super nice bounce and camera shaking! particle effect also neat and cool~
well done!

thiagoaw says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 2:57pm

Nice game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]