Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Grim crash

by umb16 - Jam Entry

Noble vampire prevents construction of the new research center of global corporation.

CONTROLS:
A, D - run
Space - jump
Left mouse button - change form
Right mouse button - change form
Mouse cursor - dash direction when changing the form

All except the music and some of the sounds made for three days, three man team.
Music: Distoche - Vassobaurus

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#360Fun(Jam)3.34
#389Theme(Jam)3.53
#429Humor(Jam)2.66
#431Overall(Jam)3.35
#441Innovation(Jam)3.18
#502Mood(Jam)3.15
#737Graphics(Jam)3.02

Comments

Gametery says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:17am

Great concept and smooth controls. Nicely done!

stefvanschie says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:24am

I liked it. But I think it started a little bit too hard.

Remdiky says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:33am

I have a lot of fun!
Very nice shapshift from vampire)))

Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:06am

Really nice work here! Thought the controls, animation and sound design were all great. I had a few issues with getting stuck at certain points in the level where I couldn't find a way up and over, or go backwards, as the puck only seemed to shoot to the right, regardless of which way I was moving. Overall though really enjoyed it!

Would love your thoughts on my entry, Tito's Revenge!
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=65699

CasualCat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:24am

Wow I really like the coffin launching mechanic thingy! It was really nice and satisfying. It's different and it's pretty fun, I wish there was more though.

Verz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:41am

Nice. Cool shape shift going on here!

Draft says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:42am

I like the graphics. However, I think the control is a little bit too hard to handle.

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:02am

Very nice game playing. The control is very good.

Jimjam says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:25am

Really fun entry! Pretty difficult, but fun :)

Lumicgames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:09pm

Good concept, music is great, game-play is fun and it controlled really well.

A little difficult at the start but you get the hang of it.

BrianSChung says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:14pm

Really difficult, but once I got the hang of it, it's pretty fun to launch yourself.

Raphi says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:21pm

Nice game very fun to play! The controls are really pleasant!

NPC23 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:26pm

Took some getting used to the controls but once I did it was really fun trying to get massive kill combos. I wasn't a fan of how slowly the energy meter refilled though. The rest of the game felt so fast paced that the meter just felt out of place. Still it was a great game. Good Job!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:21pm

I took me a bit to understand the mechanics at first but I loved playing it once I understood how it worked. Great idea and a really fun game!

luquio says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:08pm

great idea, i loved when it gets into coffin and smash :D

marod says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:48pm

Nice graphics and game!

Hendri says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:33pm

In the menu the instructions for the mouse cursor is cut out. The game is great, maybe the energy could refill bit faster, but the controls are very good.

ChummyWinds says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:09pm

Really put you in the mood of like a dark 80's retro vampire theme. I liked it.

IcyLava says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:38am

This is the best :D

samlo says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:49am

Haha what a fun concept. A bit difficult but not too bad. Personally I thought the controls were pretty great!

FrozenCow says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:08pm

Really nice game. The bashing through walls felt satisfying, although it wasn't always clear why I couldn't get through some walls. The combo system was also cool. Once you get that with speed things are easier (because of the draining energy) it'll keep you wanting to go faster.

bytegrove says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:16pm

Nice implementation of the theme, the level design however felt a bit lacking as I always got stuck and I just wanted to smash my way downwards, like in the gif.
The shapeshifting mechanic is really satisfying but the input felt a little unresponsive at times.
Overall nice work, I think you should develop this even further! :)

pyokoanarogue says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:59pm

Great!

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:39pm

Very cool concept and mechanics! Graphics are very nice too! Got stuck in level 3 though =x

Anyways great entry!

LinealGames says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:17pm

Fun and addicting!

AsixJin says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:35pm

I think the controls for this are over complicated. The mouse isn't really needed and it would feel more natural to jump with 'W' otherwise the game is really great and I had fun dashing into the bad guys

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]