Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

My Rachel

by nwestninja - Jam Entry

My Rachel is a Twine adventure that revolves around two figures: Rachel MacCormack--a beloved young woman who died in a mysterious car accident--and a mysterious figure who obsesses over the last night of her life. Taking the role of this unstable would-be paramour, the player uses his strange shapeshifting abilities to worm his way into the secrets that cling to the seemingly peaceful small town of Floyd River, and ultimately uncovers a disturbing truth that waits just below the churning water.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#34Mood(Jam)4.13
#104Overall(Jam)3.83
#193Theme(Jam)3.79
#441Innovation(Jam)3.18
#499Fun(Jam)3.17
#560Humor(Jam)2.40
#1201Coolness48%

Comments

dammit says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:39pm

Muted the music - it's irritating when trying to read. The premise of being able to turn into anyone is quite a literal and straight forward take on the theme...which is okay i guess... but I do like solving a murder.

zondarg says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:39pm

Oh, yes! I liked this one, great mood and the music and the sound effects fit nicely (I turned down the volume a bit..) Well written murder mystery, good plot, reminded me a bit of Infocoms "The Witness". Good work!!!

Benjamin-L says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:47am

This is very well done! You did an incredibly good job creating a mood here through both the text and the sound. I really liked the way that you had to guess what various people would reasonably say although I think it could have been a bit more in depth with this part. This is one of the best submissions I have played so far. Great job!

Henry00 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:46pm

Awesome idea, with that many writers that must have taken a lot of team effort.

medidog says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:50pm

Loved how you worked the theme into this mystery story. Very fun to play too. Great entry!

celia14 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:52pm

Wow, this is great. I had a similar idea, actually, but thought "That's too hard to do well" - but you did it well. The evidence was very well done, and it was engaging to try playing the different characters. (I liked the different colors for the different characters.)

The suspenseful, almost-normal but actually creepy tone was great. I accused the murderer, but I wonder, is there an ending that reveals more about who the main character is and why he(?) is obsessed with Rachel? What did the numbers 546/7 mean at the end? Maybe I missed something.

Anyway, nice work!

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:31am

Pretty cool! Nice story, mood and usage of the theme in a text-based game! Great entry!

Kate Kligman says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:46pm

I liked the music and the detective aspects of the story. It was short enough to hold my attention and long enough to feel like a complete game.

runvs says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 5:49pm

Very well done. I like the music!

Gord10 says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 6:39pm

WOW! I loved it! I'm giving 5 stars (except for humor) for all categories.

Yumeito says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 8:51pm

Nice Game:)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]