Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Orbshard

by SuperIzzo - Compo Entry

Originally it was supposed to be a Kirby style game where you turn into the monster you touch with your orb, but the end result is nowhere near what was originally planed. Halfway trough I realized I won't have the time to draw everything I needed to make it work and the game sort of changed... drastically. A lot of it was a rushed work and this game is not quite for everyone. After the first 2 or 3 checkpoints the game becomes really hard - it takes around 100 deaths (and roughly about 30 minutes) to finish. If you are not a hardcore platformer fan chances are you will find the second part unfair, evil, torturous and frustrating and that's fine you don't have to finish the game, you've seen enough, move on to the next thing.

== CONTROLS ==
WASD or Arrows (or gamepad left stick) - move.
Space or Numpad 0 (or XBOX A) - jump
Shift or Numpad Period (or XBOX B) - orb form

== MECHANICS ==
You will learn how to play by playing (read the tips), but just in case you get stuck here are the mechanics in a nutshell (spoiler alert):
* No health, infinite lives, flower checkpoints
* The orb form cannot be damaged
* The orb form is unaffected by gravity
* The orb form lasts only 2 seconds, you have to land before being able to use it again
* You have to step on the ground to "land", jumping on critters is also considered landing.
* Stepping on critters' heads will bounce you up in the air.
* Jumping immediately after a bounce will give you a boosted jump
* While stomped, mushrooms can be pushed around
* Transforming into orb preserves previous velocity, i.e. jumping and transforming before gravity starts pulling you down will get you higher

Hope you enjoy it and be warned - it's hard.



== ENGINE ==
Unity - http://unity3d.com/

== ART ==
GIMP - https://www.gimp.org/
Krita - https://krita.org/

== AUDIO ==
BFXR - http://www.bfxr.net/
Abundant Music - http://abundant-music.com/
Ofoct (MIDI to MP3) - http://www.ofoct.com/audio-converter/convert-midi-to-mp3-or-wav-ogg-aac-wma.html

== FONTS ==
JWERD - http://www.dafont.com/jwerd.font


== POST JAM RELEASE ==
Addressing a few remarks made in the comments, plus some minor improvements.
* controls are now sensitive and smoothing was removed
* speed and jump were boosted (making the game easier)
* added a few more sections to the level
* fixed a few bugs and improved some UX aspects

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#320Theme3.58
#345Audio2.96
#428Graphics3.11
#439Humor2.28
#523Overall3.15
#549Mood2.81
#603Fun2.93
#773Innovation2.58
#1248Coolness47%

Comments

swamppenguins says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:17pm

The controls could be tightened up a bit, especially with the shapeshifting mechanic. The momentum of the character is a bit off when you shapeshift. The acceleration should reflect the change. But overall it's awesome, play this game!

Hempuli says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:18pm

The collisions are pretty strict, which felt somewhat frustrating once spikes came into the action. I like how many uses you found for the orb form, though! A nice solid platformer.

SuperIzzo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:09pm

@swamppenguins that's a very good observation, the acceleration is indeed not carried over, part of the reason is because I'm mostly dealing directly with velocities rather than actual forces in code. I didn't expect to make as much use of physics.

@Hempuli point taken, smaller collision boxes next time

bazkur98 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:38pm

I see what you were going for but it seems pretty difficult to me. Maybe the collisions is too strict or something but moving around was a bit of a chore. Looked good and sounded good. I liked the orb mechanic!

Arvydas says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:48pm

Pretty fun! Can be addicting. Music is a bit loud. I enjoyed the sounds, though, very iconic

SuperIzzo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:02pm

@bazkur98 yeah it was a rushed work, I had no idea what I was doing with it, and by the time I got the mechanics down I realized I have no time left to make levels. So I made it bloody trapland difficult to artificially add more play time.

axoona says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:04pm

cool little game but quite difficult! Nice idea with the orb. and I like the graphics

Pellanor says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:05pm

Very nice. Controls felt a bit awkward and I managed to get stuck in the ground a couple times. http://valsarn.com/ludum_dare/ld35/superizzo_stuck.png

SuperIzzo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:19pm

@Pellanor - that's the orb not using continuous collision detection as well as scaling not playing nicely with physics. I'm not sure if I'm allowed to fix it though.

Also if you happen to reply what about the controls felt awkward - the mapping or character movement? Unity adds some gravity by default and I didn't tweak it, so I'll assume it's the latter.

edgeofcode says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:13am

Good game. I got blown up a lot!

fafastudio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:40am

Really confortable to play, the interactions and the gameplay are nice, and the main caracter is very cool , nice job :)

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:55pm

Challenging but I keep trying ! This game is really addictive, quite fun !

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:04pm

yeah...............it got to me. it would take less time to get to me if (a) the bloody music didn't start over every time you died (b) there was any sort of margin for error (IF precision required for puzzle > precision of controls THEN frustration) and (c) there was more of an indicator of when the orb is about to switch back. Maybe have it flash?

Verz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:10pm

Nice! A little bit hard to control but very fun to play :)

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:20pm

Would have been nice to have some sort of indicator as to how long you have left to 'orb' - like an energy bar or something, but thats a pretty minor gripe

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:56pm

Turning into a orb is fun indeed hehe. The tutorials were a bit late since i already had to do what they were teaching before they showed up.

I do enjoy SMB a lot and i see how you wanted to implement the same level design into it, the only problem is that the controls were not "natural", because of the new mechanic which is a totally different (unlike jumping, running and wall jumps which feel like an natural extension of our reflex). The new mechanic has a cool touch but it is a little bit difficult to control, maybe zooming out would greatly increase the control since i could then see where i would land. Also a meter to know when i would run out of "orb magic" to prepare myself, i never knew when it was going to be over and ended up panicking and dying when it did. The sound queue is nice, but not everyone can associate.

Difficulty is what gives an extra challenge to the game making us wanting to play it more, but because of the controls and camera the difficulty became frustration, and that's a really bad thing to happen.

Overall, i would love to see you implement more this game after the jam and see where it goes. Well done!

ocarson says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:24pm

I liked what you did with the orb mechanic, I died a whole lot! Glad you added checkpoints! I like using inertia as a thing, also feels very complete, especially for a compo game.

SuperIzzo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:40pm

@MrNyarlathotep, @CzarSilvestrini @aberdeenphoenix
Thanks. Yeah, I see the faults, but it is what it is :)
I would make a lot better game if I had more time. I won't be able to develop it further after the jam, but I'll take it as an exercise to improve the gameplay in the next couple of days.

jk5000 says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 11:02am

Great idea, but i find it very difficult.

Apr 29, 2016 @ 4:26am

80 is maximum points to get
Innovation: 2/10
Fun: 5/10
Theme: 5/10
Graphics: 4/10
Audio: 3/10
Humor: 0/10
Mood: 3/10
Coolness: 4/10
Overall: 26/80
Good Game

Afendar says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 11:48am

Interesting game. Fun mechanic and graphics. Nice work !

Rock Eaters says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 7:10pm

Funny Game ! I love to be a flying poo !

SuperIzzo says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 8:29pm

@Rock Eaters always happy to grant wishes :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]