Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

windowframe

by managore - Compo Entry

manipulate the shape of the game itself to beat six nasty vampires!


///////// CONTROLS /////////


move with WASD or ARROWS
jump and wall jump with W or UP or SPACE or CTRL

shoot stakes with LEFT MOUSE BUTTON
pull pinned stakes toward you by holding RIGHT MOUSE BUTTON
recollect all stakes by holding R or SHIFT

toggle mute with M
cheat and skip level with P
exit game with ESC

visual aid: http://puu.sh/omjWB/511d7c92a1.png


///////// HOW TO PLAY /////////


your stakes (once collected) can be thrown into enemies, walls and the edge of the game's window, where they will pin down that edge and stop it from moving. once an edge is pinned, you can right click on the stake pinning it and, while holding right click, pull the edge toward you (you cannot push the edge away). you cannot pull edges while in the air. you can recollect all of your stakes in the level by standing still and holding down R or SHIFT until they pop out.

your goal is to defeat all six vampires. beating a vampire uses up one of your stakes permanently.


///////// NOTES /////////


there is no save feature, but you can use P to skip previously beat levels (or levels that are simply too difficult). In boss levels, pressing P will first defeat the boss, then on the second press will skip the level.

left click to skip through cutscenes.


///////// ABOUT /////////


this is my eighth ludum dare entry and it took until the very last minute to put it all together but I'm so happy I managed to get it all in! the game has six fairly unique boss battles (especially the last one) and a few puzzle levels that are quite mentally demanding, so if you love action but hate puzzles, or hate action but love puzzles, hopefully there's something there for you (and, if you really want to, you can skip the types of levels you don't like).

windowframe was made in GameMaker:Studio, with Aseprite for the art, jfxr for the sound effects and FL Studio for the music. it uses DawnBringer's 32 col palette (http://pixeljoint.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=16247).


///////// HELP /////////


the game may run strangely on some systems, so I've included an extra compatible version ("more fake window"). if it's still unplayable for whatever reason, please let me know in the comments, on twitter (@managore) or via email (...@gmail.com) and I'll do what I can to fix it for you!

if you're stuck in an early room, watch the screenshots above (they're animated gifs).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Fun4.48
Overall4.73
Innovation4.90
Theme4.57
Coolness79%
#20Mood4.07
#34Graphics4.27
#96Audio3.60
#105Humor3.31

Comments

FerraWare says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:42am

Best game mechanic I've seen in a while. Excellent, as always!

mokesmoe says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:20am

My favourite level was the second two-stake level. (The one with the long horizontal corridors)

iamevn says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:31am

that one took me a bit to figure out

Husky says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:01am

Another great game in Ludum Dare!

I quite like the idea you did, made game window in a game core, it's surprisingly interesting, and the feeling of exploration also get more tension in this way.

Really solid one, good job! :D

netgrind says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:10am

That intro sequence, was incredible, very inspiring.

heybudgames says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:16am

You're so clever.Bravo.

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:20am

You never fail to disappoint. Also lol those vampire names. xD

managore says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:41am

@mokesmoe: that one was a real nightmare to design, but it's my favourite puzzle level too

@Crowbeak: haha, I'm glad you noticed!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:53am

Love it! Saw a few tweets of your progress and was wondering how exactly resizing would work and it is really well done and very creative use of the theme!

Docjekyll says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:39am

This game was incredible. So much content with such an interesting mechanic for just 48 hours.

mklee says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:10am

Really awesome and clever. There's a lot of interesting puzzles coming out of the simple mechanic and it was really rewarding figuring that stuff out. I think my only complaint is the last boss is a bit frustrating with the single shot/recharge. Great stuff!

Pietdagamer says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:45am

An amazing mechanic, and it's very well explained through level design.

falloneus says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:51am

The design in every aspect was so fulfilling. Felt like a game I would've paid some amount for.

snowyowl says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:13am

Very nice!

Some very neat puzzles stemming from a very simple mechanic. I particularly like the ones where you have to control whether bullets are on-screen or off-screen; that's a mechanic that normally goes unexplored, but here it works great.

It's quite a difficult game, I had trouble with some of the twitchy platformer bits, especially the boss battles, and especially especially the final boss. On my second playthrough, I noticed that P skips the level - perhaps that could be made more obvious.

My laptop uses an Intel integrated graphics thing which doesn't always play nice with edge cases, and it gave me flickering triangular glitches whenever the window resized. The extra-compatible version worked fine. Perhaps this information is useful.

The SFXR sound effects were a bit cheap, but above par for a Ludum Dare game.

All in all: a very clever idea, executed well.

Sanguine says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:31am

Very interesting mechanic - not sure if I've seen it before ever. I had a really hard time with the puzzles

Insality says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:43am

as always. brilliant. all aspect perfect!

Eshford says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:14am

I like ambient music on the background. It feels nice. Love your experiments and this one is really well executed strong entry. Good job Daniel!

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:37am

Ha! Great game once again! I like how you made it very smooth and polished using only with very simple graphics.

Also, so many levels! :O

By the way, I found one tiny bug: Bats sometimes can stuck in the bottom window border if it's pinned and they hit it.

Also, I have a question: On some level real window moves and resizes with ingame one, but on other levels real window remains big and fixed, only ingame window moves inside. Bug or intended?

dunin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:14pm

What I like in your ludum dare's games, is that it take time to beat it, but it's always pleasant to play.
For now, I'm stuck in two arrows left level, but I will rety later...

pixzleone says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:53pm

Amazing. Nothing more to be said.

sez says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:32pm

Really nice entry, well done!

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:38pm

sick

crazya02 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:53pm

Absolutely amazing concept, and very well communicated through level design.

Octave says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:01pm

This idea is outstandingly unique and it actually surprised me when i first saw it. This inspires me like almost no other game has.

flobster says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:21pm

Not an entirely unique idea, actually has been done before in a Ludum Dare but still fantastic work!

Danman9914 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:18pm

I would almost not believe this was made in 48 hours if it didn't come from the Leonardo Da Vinci of game jams. A+, holy shit.

Broxxar says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:31pm

Welp... that is the coolest mechanic anyone will ever make. Anyone making a pixel-art puzzle-platformer with a gimmick should just pack it in because they will never top this.

Jukepoks1 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:31pm

Really nice game! good implementation of theme! I wonder how you did that :D

WizzardMaker says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:49pm

Amazing Game, a great idea you've got

Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:18pm

Absolutely loved the concept. Art was very well done too. I down to just 2 stakes but couldn't get past a particular level as I couldn't solve the puzzle sadly.

From seeing this on Twitter I almost think it's a shame some of those gorgeous graphical glitches didn't make the final version :P I'm curious, why does it switch to a "fake" window occasionally, when in multiple levels you demonstrate that you can do it using default windows? Is it due to the graphical problems?

quaternary says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:33pm

I also preferred playing with the "real" window rather than the faked one. I imagine it's for making the mouse a bit easier to use because I can click outside of the window. The faked one does look very nice though :P

SmallPhil says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:45pm

This is just incredible! Good work :)

csanyk says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:17pm

You're amazing, as always. Your genius for innovative platformer mechanics knows no bounds, sir!

managore says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:26pm

thanks for the comments everyone!

@mklee: I've never made a bullet hell type of game before so it was a learning experience. I sort of like that you have to find a safe spot to get your stake back but I can definitely see how it would be frustrating!

@snowyowl: now I'm thinking about whether it would have been good to remind the player about the level skip feature once they die a certain number of times on a level. maybe for next time! thanks for letting me know what kind of weird effects you got, and glad to hear the alternate version fixed things. :)

@holyblackcat: whoops! thanks for the heads up, I think I know what's causing that (hint: hacky programming) and how to fix it. I'll address your question below.

@dunin: the two puzzle levels where you have two stakes are both really tricky, good luck!

@flobster: yeah someone mentioned the snail-shell game from LD23. hopefully the way you have control over each of the edges and the way the bosses use the window shape makes it different enough!

@danman9914: I set a program to take a time-lapse of the weekend, so if it worked out well I'll put that up, should be fun to watch!

@bradleypollard, quaternary, holyblackcat: quaternary is spot on, the fake window makes it a lot easier to see and grab pins, and runs a lot smoother for some people. unfortunately the real window is almost unplayable on some computers, which is why there's a second build of the game (which removes the real window mode from the main game)! another reason I have both versions in the game is because I wanted the game itself to shapeshift between using a real and fake window.

David Cookie says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:32pm

A really ambitious concept perfectly made. Well done sir, and huge respect o//

swamppenguins says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:10am

Not fair! This is amazing.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:17am

There's some crazy shit happening on my pc haha
Great job!

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:03am

Wow if this games doesn't end up in the top 10 then something is seriously flawed with the voting system!

This game was amazing! Most unique take on the theme I have seem. Absolutely amazing.

tgrehawi says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:58am

I have no words

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:04am

How do you create something like this? I'm impressed. I was anxious to play this game since I saw some previews you posted and this is all I imagined and even more! I really hope you win.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:26am

Incredible mechanic and solid execution. That is quite a monster to code in 48 hours. Some areas were incredibly hard, especially the last battle.

vctr_seleucos says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:30am

Awesome!

DeltaF1 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:56am

Absolutely phenomenal. More than 30 minutes of my life just disappeared, and I couldn't be happier. The concept is awesome. I had a similar idea for a mini-ld a few years back, but I never got it to work. This however, is phenomenally well executed. It fits the theme on 2 counts (shape-shifting window, shape-shifting bats), and overall is really fun to play. The graphics are excellent, the controls are tight, all it's missing is some background music :) I would legit pay money on steam to play this, idk how many levels you made, but you should add some more and post it on greenlight.

swinestudios says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:18am

Definitely got stuck on the second two-stake level!

kestrelgames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:20am

insane genius. this concept is so original and well-executed.

thomz12 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:19am

My favorite so far. very well done!

gingerBill says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:33am

This is amazing concept!!! I love this game!

ccglp says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:42am

Please, be my senpai.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:58am

just excellent 5/5

fullmontis says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:14am

This is an original gameplay mechanic, for sure. The way the window moved around was psychedelic to say the least. It is interesting to see a game that gets over the limitations of the screen in such an original way, and still fitting the theme.

About the gameplay, I really liked the puzzles and the design, and the wall jump took a few tries to get used to but then it went smooth. An excellent entry overall!

JoeManaco says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:53am

This is awesome. Best idea of ld35 :)

Robber says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:05pm

this game is genius! so much fun to play and discover new ways of using the mechanics,

Felladrin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:13pm

Wow! What a splendid idea! Awesome!

Togimaro says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:47pm

Just brilliant, undoubtedly one of the best game of this edition!
Lovely graphics, fantastic mechanic, excellent idea of level design

Really great job!

batmagus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:57pm

Fantastic work! Very original idea and gameplay, with perfect platforming and puzzle action. Really nicely polished with slick graphics and sounds. It gets way too difficult for me in the last two levels, but still loved it all.

Yakka says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:26pm

What the fuck did I just play, 5/5

Ithildin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:58pm

I was already expecting something innovative, but wow...Brilliant concept perfectly executed and a lot of content (I've only reached the third vampire so far!). It is insane what you achieved in 48 hours, I'm so envious...

Amazing job!!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:00pm

Wow I had tons of fun! And I loved the "narrative" through the mechanics: how each vampire deprived you of one of your stakes, but also forbid you to use your powers during the boss fights.. but then, their only weakness: one of your blue stakes forever pierced through their hearts. You shaping the walls with blue, they with red... For some strange reason it made me imagine a very epic quest for my avatar to be in.

The level design was super good too. Congratulations!

pokipsy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:12pm

I'm just blown away.You're a genius.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:26pm

Nice Idea, solid game, this is why i take part of ludumdare to see these games.

ranmaru90 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:27pm

WANT. MORE. MANAGORE.

Chikoness says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:39pm

One of the best I've seen in this Ludum Dare.

PoliteWhale says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:17pm

This was amusing! A great example of how keeping such a simple (but well thought out) mechanic and adding great level design and challenge to it can give a refreshing sense of accomplishment. I think I learned a thing or two about Game Design itself on top of enjoying playing it.

Also, was there any pattern to the vampire's names? I could swear there was something there, uh? ;P

Oliver_MB says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:28pm

Very interesting mechanic... good job!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:36pm

I've never played a game like this - the mechanics are absolutely brilliant, I loved it.

lambda- says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:46pm

Genius

Rakowu says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:03pm

That game is a lot of fun. Really nice idea and really smooth everything. I'm impress ^^. Keept it on.

Quique says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:08pm

THE BEST GAME OF ludum dare 35
WOW!!!!

Le_Sarus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:20pm

Amazing game and a very cool mechanic!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:22pm

Wow. Just Wow. Really awesome mechanic. Looked a bit smallish on my Retina Display, but it really was an amazing experience.

I really enjoyed the fact that there were a ton of moments when I would be stuck for a second then I would figure it out and be like "Aha! So the level design is *this* smart!".

Overall, I think taking the game outside of the constraints of the window just brought it closer to the player and made it incredibly more immersive.

ozukamusic says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:33pm

Awesome concept, could easily become a full-fleshed game. Congrats for putting it together--specially in such a short amount of time. :)

recursor says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:46pm

This has neat game mechanic that I've never seen before and it's really fun to boot. It had me far longer than I expected to be had. Excellent job!

Rafos Games says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:56pm

Omg, each of your games I play is better than the last.

Sean says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:07pm

Definitely one of the best entries!

Been says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:10pm

This is fantastic! I saw the gifs on twitter beforehand and I had no idea how much was your machine, and how much was your game. Turns out that just the right amount was the game. I got stuck on one of the 2 stake levels, but I'll be coming back to this later to try and beat it.

I couldn't to think of some critical feedback to give, but I can't think of a thing. There were a couple of graphical glitches at times, but considering how the game I'm a) not sure it wasn't an intentional part of the game, and b) completely willing to forgive it for the crazy coding that got something like this working in the first place. Best game of the jam for me.

PinkIndian says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:18pm

Amazing innovation! For me the best game of LD35 so far. Can't believe you had time to make all that in just 48 hours!! Good that you put easy levels between hard ones, my brain needed those breaks.

mat1er says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:37pm

That was...
Fantastic!
Genius!
Give that man a cookie!
That was one of the best concept I've ever played!

Headmade says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:55pm

Just incredible, very inspiring.
My only complaint is that it is very easy to miss a click and accidentally close your window.

madalaski says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:38pm

Lot's of fun, great mechanic. A definite contender for the top spot...

Anikki says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:42pm

As always. Respect!

CaptainPilot says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:51pm

Awesome game, really great mechanic

Knowledge says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:57pm

Quite innovative, solved almost all levels without 'P'.

RetroSpecter says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:07pm

Amazing game! It was such an interesting mechanic and so well put together. I'll have to try to beat it when I have a bit more time.

Saiodin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:08pm

That was an incredible mechanic. I wouldn't have thought this was even possible to do. I do like the graphics too, amazing work, nothing to add here.

Petya says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:25pm

That was an absolutely fantastic entry. All I can really nag on is maybe more interesting sound effects and/or music.

rodobodolfo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:42pm

Wow, Ive found my 5/5 game. The mechanics are incredible! really good job!!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:15am

Exceptional.

avinashd says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:21am

This is absolutely fantastic. I really hope you're working on a post-jam version.

I'd buy it.

oxysoft says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:35am

Really good game with a unique mechanic but I think it would have worked better with a smaller set of levels that were more polished.

nicotuason says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:07am

wat. WHAT!? mind = blown. BSSHHH

image/31 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:08am

Very innovative! Hardcore and I fell in love with the mechanics, it is very cool! You transcend yourself each time.

jollyserpent says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:15am

This is probably the best compo entry this time.

Proximal Pyro says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:30am

This is by far the coolest game mechanic I've seen! Great job!

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:37pm

This concept is brilliantly executed! It is both bizarre and fascinating seeing your game window move and shake so smoothly across the screen.

It reminds me a lot of an entry done back in LD31 (http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=14496), where you had to move the screen along to progress through the platform world. I wasn't sure if you were inspired in anyway by the entry, but I'm confident in saying you improved vastly upon it by having the screen move independently so well.

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:37pm

Very fun and frustrating at the same time. This game is awesome!

Lythom says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:13pm

Graphics and audio are neat. Everything else is just excellent.
Thanks for the game =)

NPException says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:30pm

Gorgeous!

Alex Rose says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:36pm

So, the game was really good, to start. As I gave you running commentary I think you know how I feel about it anyway. It was very clever.

Now for the LD Feedback loop stuff. My feedback is really more of an opinion from just me this time so I'm not sure how valuable it is but still:

As I said, I got a bit confused about the mechanic at first, like.. I didn't fully understand the capabilities of what I could do until much later. But it wasn't like an "aha" moment thing, it was more like a "brute force trial and error" thing where I felt it could've been introduced in slightly smaller steps to make me fully understand it.

I mean, at first I was playing it like a platformer, but by the end I was examining levels, thinking about it and then deducing the solution, which worked. Like, I'd almost call it a puzzle game with platforming elements. The point of the game is to solve it.

And I think something that kinda threw me off about that is that there are levels which aren't about solving a solution, they're about twitch platforming. I feel almost like there's two games here, the boss levels and the normal levels, and honestly I think the puzzley levels are all you need - those bits of gameplay felt unique, while the platforming bits felt like another twitch platformer (of which there are loads, I am also guilty of contributing to this problem) but with a reduced field of view.

I don't think those levels really explored the mechanic in the same way the other levels did - they didn't involve the stake/window stretching feature at all and I think that was your great idea here, the unique, interesting mechanic, I don't think you needed the other stuff.

Either way, it wasn't like the platforming bits were /bad/, they played well and they weren't too frustrating, they just felt a bit unnecessary. But again, that's just a personal opinion and I can see how someone would completely disagree with me and think the bosses enrich the game experience so whatevs.

It's another great game man, you strike again. Good job.

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:35pm

I love this mechanic!! It's so originial!! Congratulations!!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:44pm

Best game in Ludum Dare 35, congratulations. Amazing work.

timeshapers says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:59pm

Sometimes a little glitchy, but no doubt this will come out top three in the competition.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:50pm

You probabily win this Ludum dare. Awesome job :)

eolhing says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:54pm

Great game once again, Thank you !

Roland M says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:22am

Awesome mechanic. =]

TheCain says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:21am

This was immensely good. So polished, and with a surprising amount of levels.
I have other games to rate, ya know!

TheCain says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:22am

And it's a Compo!

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:49am

Best entry I've played so far. So original and nice clean crisp graphics too. Well done game, and I hope you continue. Stop making such awesome LDs man! No I'm kidding, keep up the AWESOME work! :)

josemwarrior says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:05am

Just... the winner of this LD...

aeveis says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:34am

Very cool! Beat it, had fun. first puzzle was probably hardest for me haha.

Miziziziz says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:08am

Awesome as usual!
Also, could I request a walkthrough?

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:22am

Thanks for this game, this was so fun to play!! :D

freeloader says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:38am

It's just awesome, really mind blowing.

mukult says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:54am

I made a similar mechanic! heheheh... but ur execution is much cooler :)
Great work dude!
Try my game out if you get a chance... its incomplete but its fun! :)

http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=65633

mitya1234 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:28am

I think this entry will be at the first place. But all versions dosen't work correct :(

norseware says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:30am

This was awesome! I really enjoyed how innovative the gameplay was. Nice work!

legavroche says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:45am

Unbelievable game. It was a pleasure to play

Malvern says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:29am

Very well thought out mechanic with an interesting visual style that leans on the fourth wall quite a bit I'd say.

My primary issue was that the controls made going through some of the levels a bit of a chore. There were definitely instances where I felt like I understood what I was supposed to do but failed to execute it properly because jumping is so hard to do precisely on a mouse and keyboard. I would recommend adding controller support for future versions.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:45am

Great Game, and great mechanics really innovative i think its really interesnting!

distemp7 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:52am

brilliant game

Sandyloisa says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:13am

Very fresh mechanics. Liked the concept a lot.

panurge says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:17am

Very innovative mechanic and lovely mood. An impressive amount of content for the time limit. Great work!

Dread_Lord369 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:30am

Loved it! I've seen similar mechanics before in a game called "in a window", but this uses it in a more intense puzzle platformer style. Again, loved it!

Croze says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:13am

Wow. Simply wow, incredibly well done. Feels as original as Portal, you have to keep working on this! I got to semag but unfortunately have to go to bed, I'll definitely have to finish it tomorrow though!

Ken Ichi says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:15am

Awesome game!!!!

AnaGF says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:23am

Brilliant as hell, 5/5.

tanis says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:52am

Man, this is so damn good! It's super polished, it's got a brand new mechanic, very nice graphics, challenging levels. Definitely one of the best games of this LD!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:16am

By far the best LD game I've yet played.. Ingenious game mechanic! :D You never think to use the window itself as a mechanic, but you did and pulled it off very well :)

One little hiccup: It took me quite a while to figure out how to get through the fireballs and was tempted to quit the game there.. It took me a lot of trial and error to figure out that you can DRAG the spears to resize the window! maybe that should have been a little more clear..

other than that, GREAT GAME!! :D

Odyssey says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:25am

fun

kev9318 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:03pm

just... amazing !

uheartbeast says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:11pm

Really cool idea!

Snowtato says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:37pm

i'm offended. what if i do not want to kill vampires at all?

nuuup says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:42pm

whoa

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:47pm

Awesome mechanics! Great artwork too! The music I couldn't really listen though, I guess too low? I also have a huge problem with platforming with only one hand >.<

Unfortunately I had to skip two levels and one boss... Anyways congrats on your entry!

PelvicThruust says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:59pm

Wow...just wow... this game ist awesome!

Riftpoint says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:26pm

Very creative and innovative gamplay mechanic, I have never seen something like that, congratulations! Great game

Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:06pm

Ridiculously cool. Can't offer any real criticism on this. Music? I don't know.

I guess some of the rooms are quite dull/easy to pass, even after you've done some puzzles, there's rooms where you just jump to the door and that's it.

The sounds are nice, the graphics are simple but great, the mechanic is genius, etc etc

Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:36pm

Awesome work! Really nice, unique mechanic. Took me a while to figure out how to play though. Puzzles were really clever.

pirate_shell says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:00pm

This is probably the best entry of LD I have played so far. I adored the main mechanic which was super simple to understand yet so creatively forth wall breaking it was unreal. I like the simple visual style and the amount of content for a 48h time limit was mind blowing. The only thing that could have made it better would have been some music, but I totally understand if time did not allow for that. Overall, amazing entry!

hildegarbage says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:24pm

I don't know what to say. This is so good it hurts. I can't believe this is made in 48 hours... You even have the graphics and the audio, like wtf?

gillenew says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:24pm

Great entry so far!!
the window control is neat and the overall game is 5/5 for me :D

CarlosPidox says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:29pm

48 hours...

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:56pm

Your games are fucking brilliant, all of them. I'm new but I remembered seeing you last time around too. Kudos again you overly talented mother fucker.

Seriously, do you work on larger projects? you must be working in the industry right?

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:35am

Maybe the most innovative game I've played so far!! Wow, seriously awesome job!!!

managore says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:49am

so many comments!! thank you all for playing the game, and for letting me know what you thought, it means a lot to me!

@matiasbontempo: I've added a timelapse video of (most of) the 48 hours, so you can get a rough idea for where I spent my time. towards the end it gets very, very frenetic.

@deltaF1: there actually is some background music, but it's REALLY quiet, and it's only there so that the game isn't absolutely silent when the player stops moving. if you include the 5 "filler" levels, there are 30 levels altogether!

@swinestudios: it's definitely the hardest puzzle! here's a gif of the solution if you're curious: http://i.imgur.com/ekTyD56.gif

@politewhale: no pattern at all, I swear. ;)

@omlette.du.fromage: I'm glad to hear it was still playable on a retina display!

@been: the glitches are a sort of happy accident. I like to think the game is straining at the seams.

@headmade: I know! I was scared of that happening to people, which is part of the reason the game starts to use a "fake" window for the trickier bits.

@oxysoft: I tried to make each level use something new, but yeah there are a couple which ended up feeling a bit like "X, but harder" which maybe could have been scrapped. there were two awful levels I took out before I released the game because they were pretty bad!

@alexrose: thank you for the detailed feedback, as always! regarding the twitch platforming levels, I wanted a mix between slow, puzzle levels and fast, frantic levels, since I wanted the game to have a little bit for everyone. and then the bosses let me explore ways the window could shapeshift that were out of the player's control, which led to some fun situations like sliding along the wall as it zipped across the room, or having to rush through a level before you get crushed. you're right in that the twitch platforming, by itself, isn't anything new, but I guess I don't mind that!

@miziziziz: a walkthrough is a great idea! I'll try to record one soon.

@mukult: I love seeing what similar ideas people have, so thank you for sharing! and wow, the window aspect of your game is really similar, hope you get a chance to finish off the game if that's something you want to do.

@mitya1234: sorry to hear that. if you play the "more fake window" version and endure the first two levels, the game should become a lot more playable. you can also press P twice to skip the first two levels, if they're too unplayable.

@malvern: thanks for the feedback! I don't mind using WASD but I know it's not for everyone. it's actually possible to play with a gamepad and mouse, but I don't know whether or not that's even worse. I would have loved to make it playable with a controller but there are problems with the cursor going offscreen and being hard to find (since the window moves around) that were too difficult to solve.

@codeartisticninja: I wish I could have made it clearer, maybe with some in game animations to show off the mechanic. I tried to make up for that by describing it in the controls, the how to play and showing it in the screenshots, though that's still easy to miss!

@snowtato: if you don't want to kill vampires at all, that's perfectly fine! you can hang around and chill with Oediv for as long as you like, and he's totally cool with that.

@tacospice: I'm not sure if it was a good idea or not but I wanted to have a few "breather" rooms before or after particularly difficult sections. the game actually has music, but I stupidly set it so ridiculously low that a lot of people can't hear it! :)

@weepingrupee: I sometimes finish experimental games outside of game jams, but they're still usually quite small projects. you can find them at https://managore.itch.io if you're interested, almost all of them are donationware! unfortunately I'm not employed in the industry, as much as I would like to be.

Dmitrix says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:59am

This is amazing!

dvdagames says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:21pm

This was absolutely brilliant. Some of the puzzles were really tough, the combat was nice, and the overall feel was great. The window mechanic was great.

I tried all 3 versions but always ended up with an empty black window behind my windowframe "window" after I got my stakes.

I really hope this gets some more content in the future because it's a really cool concept and really fun to play.

I do think the speed of recalling the stakes could be increased, or allow the player to recall them while moving. Some of the boss fights (notably the last one and the one with all the bats) are significantly more complicated because of the amount of time you have to sit still and hold the recall key to get your stakes back and release the screen. Also, walking over a stake on the ground and picking it up would be a nice addition.

Overall, this is probably my favorite game I've played from LD35 so far. Great work!

Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:27pm

Most innovative game I've played so far! The fact that it has been made under 48 hours is hella unbelievable! You guys are sure talented as hell! Really nice job and very beautiful game :D

Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:32pm

ducking brilliant, i'm almost skeptical that you got it done in 48 hours

blinry says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:33pm

Wow, this is awesomely polished, has an incredibly original game mechanic, nice graphics, nice sounds, and amazing level design! All design decisions (long recollect time, and not being able to recollect while in the air) make sense, and the levels are designed accordingly. I enjoyed the two-stake level with the two cannons shooting down most. Thank you so much for making this, managore!

Lullaby says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:47pm

You man made my Ludum Dare. You got my five stars well...Almost everywhere. It's the kind of game I would pay to play as a player. As a Game Designer, I can only respect how clever the mechanic is, and how well it's bringed to the game and explained to the player.

Full respect, well done :)

MiniBobbo says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:49pm

This was very good. I loved the mechanic and how it played. Very well done.

LOSTALLOY says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:50pm

Super cool!

Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:50pm

The best game in this Ludum Dare so far!

DifferentName says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:12pm

Wow, this game is amazing. Best I've played yet.

apalade says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:19pm

Super innovative idea and the way you introduced all the mechanics was brilliant. Really top notch tutorial sequence.

APantaloni says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:19pm

Cool original idea and the controls are spot on. Congrats!

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:41pm

The main mechanic is genius. I have to say though that the die-and-retry side of the game kinda killed it for me. Still, amazing entry obviously.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:50pm

Great game mechanic! Pulling and pushing the window to stop objects or walk on thin air great idea, very well done. @bytedesigning / Ashley

SojaBird says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:09pm

that was the most easy game to rate ever!
omg man this is really really neat!

I only had to skip 1 level because I just couldn't figure it out hehe :p

Really great, super sick mechanic, great art and holy snap how did you got time for this many levels.

Keep it up!

Fabraz says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:39pm

My personal overall winner so far, no doubt!

GaryS says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:58pm

Wow! This is a fantastic game. Really original mechanic, and kept me playing and exploring. Loved it.
Couldn't get past the second boss level though - the slowly shrinking window really fosters a sense of urgency!

Really enjoyed this.

Ghust1995 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:09am

For games like this there should be a six star overall

tmpxyz says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:21am

Brilliant idea and execution!

bigpan says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:38am

Really innovative and fun, great game! Was a little confused first but then i was able to play well, nice job!

kaovhmf says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:24am

This game is simply amazing. For real, the idea, the coding behind it, the level design, the art.. Simply briliant. congrats!

Sidnoea says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:52am

good

siryakko says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:18am

The most original take on the theme i've seen, great job

mukult says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:36am

THIS GAME IS AMAZING!! HOLY SHIT!!

Idorrac says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:50pm

Awesome game! The idea is very original and some of the puzzles are really challenging!

rahulparihar says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:28pm

Probably the best game out of those I have played far from this Ludum Dare. Amazing job, beautiful sprites and visual, music really builds up the atmosphere, and super innovative gameplay mechanics. I can't believe this came out of a game jam. You should work on this further and polish it. This game deserves to be played my millions. Had lots of fun playing it man, kudos. Perfect score for you. :)

edve98 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:50pm

this game looks soooo good! It's a shame that it's Windows only :/

bytegrove says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:57pm

Very very impressive!
It's funny to see your progress in your blog posts, looks like this was a very tricky game mechanic to get to work correctly. Nice work, the platforming- and arrow shooting mechanics are perfect! Really nice graphics as well. Lotsa stars!

Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:45pm

Another managore wonder!

JuDelCo says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:56pm

By far the most original themed-game of this LD i've tried to this moment. Very good job !

MatMortatti says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:33pm

I followed your development on twitter, it was awesome! Very inovative idea for the theme :D

Chaserbrown says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:32pm

Woah! I saw this on itch.io and had no idea it was for Ludum Dare 35, and I was INCREDIBLY impressed thinking that you had spent much more time than 48 hours.

This is my favorite Ludum Dare 35 game I've seen yet! Overall, AMAZING JOB!!!

Arg410 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:42pm

Yet another comment saying how awesome this is! :) -- Although I have seen a few Gamemaker games that do the same concept, not sure whats up with gamemaker, anyways.. STILL GREAT!!!

CoderJoe says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:25pm

Really liked this game. Unique mechanics and challenging too!

RNanoware says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:51pm

Astonishing work. I did have quite a trial trying to get the game to render successfully (the "inaccessible" version ended up being the only one that worked!), and I had enough issues with Windows that I ended up having to stop early--but that didn't detract in the slightest from what was otherwise an incredibly polished, innovative, and appropriate game!

Looking at the other comments, it seems that you're well-known in these competitions (it is only my first). I will have to look up your past entries, if this one is any indication of the quality of your submissions!
Again, great work!

Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:35am

Fantastic mechanics to implement the theme. I found the keyboard tough to use with the double jumping and trying to coordinate my stakes, but still really enjoyed this one. Nice as always...

Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:07pm

Great game, hope you'll release a full game out of it, I'd buy it ! I can picture a grand platformer with lots of worlds.

DSSiege11 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 2:53pm

Everything about this game is fantastic!

ajayajayaj says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:35pm

Cool. Very similar to a game made from the LD with Entire Game On One Screen, but that one was made in java.

Zyow says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:31pm

Nice game with awesome mechanic! One of my favorites! Good job!

SUNFURY says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 11:15pm

Amazing! Masterpiece!
Very creative! I really like the game.
I haven't managed to pull stakes, so once I put stake i get stuck.

geekguy100 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 2:01am

Amazing! The mechanic works flawlessly. Great work!

mightymarcus says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:19am

Unbelievable good.

Apr 25, 2016 @ 10:29am

Such a clever use of the theme, like how you always seem to come up with an idea that isn't so obvious and straightforward. The platforming and framing aspect worked so well and was visually quite striking. Definitely one of my favourites so far.

WERT Studio says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:17pm

Buggy as fuck i cant even play it right, sorry. Looks awesome but i am too stupid for this

Djapz30 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:05pm

Good sir. This one is amazing!

I really love the difficult progression!

The window here got a little crazy but it didn't affected the experience.

M2tias says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:35pm

I think you are a bit too familiar with the Game Maker :D
Great game, good levels, nice graphics. Amazing job in 48 hours!

thedashdude says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:29am

Amazing. Best and most creative game I've played yet.

LukeZaz says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:04am

I am dumbfounded with the length of this game. This much content in a Ludum Dare game blows my mind, and with solid gameplay, graphics and sound to boot. Very, very good entry.

ciaodavinci says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:27am

Really interesting use of the theme. great job as always! Everything about this game felt like it was put together really well.

humble_ray says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 4:30am

My favourite one so far!

Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:46pm

Really excellent mechanic. Loved it!

Kerdelos says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:52pm

Excellent !

Toccio says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 4:01pm

Lol, i found this game in itch and i din't know it was Made for the LD, but i thought: "If this game was been made for the ld it would have surely won!".
Now i found out that the game has been Made for the ld, and lol i would have given U 10 stars if just i could have!

coborax says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 5:50pm

Awesome game!!! i loooooved the rezising of the window

StaNov says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 5:53pm

So this is compo? No way, this can't be done in 48 hours... I mean... this - is - just - so - epic!

The best I found. Oh my god I can't speak because how awesome it is :D

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 7:28pm

What a great game!
How do you do this every time?

Thank you for the great experience!

jonnopon3000 says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:28pm

Never seen this done quite like this before, and it's really fun. Nice work

CptDustmite says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 4:17am

Fantastic mechanics and good execution!

endel says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 2:49pm

This game is genius. Didn't played but watched bbytb playing live here (https://www.twitch.tv/bbytb) Please make it available for other platforms!

bigbatardyt says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 3:01pm

Insane game most impressive compo i've seen on this ld !!!!!

Lee1121 says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 10:19pm

When is the Steam release date? ;)

Crimson713 says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 12:14pm

Great idea and implementation of the theme. Very interesting and challenging puzzles, had me thinking for many minutes. And then out of nowhere a bullet hell. Beating Erad was so satisfying. Greatest fun I've had in a while. Nice job.

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 6:57pm

This is brilliant.

Palys Plays says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 9:57pm

Amazing one! Well designed.

aidanmarkham says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 12:21am

Wow! This was incredible. It was really hard to beat that boss, but I did end up doing it after many, many tries.

aucguy says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 3:21am

Best game played so far! Graphics great, bats annoying, everything!

okoto says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 4:46pm

I loved the idea

tomlum says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 9:12pm

Holy goodness. So absolutely unbelievable. I'm still so genuinely in disbelief, the concept is absolutely incredible, the graphics and sound and animation are all gorgeous, and the puzzle design is outlandishly rewarding. Absolutely unbelievable, fantastic work.

Xanjos says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 11:02pm

Absolutely loved the window resizing mechanic plus pretty much all the levels were so well cleverly designed. Without a doubt one of the best games I've played this LD.

cabezotta says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 2:41am

Awesome game! I don't know what else to say haha

EvoGenGames says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 10:10am

a job well done!

Alphish says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 8:17pm

That's pretty darn impressive game you got here, and one of the very best entries I've seen here (if not the best). The mechanics are smooth, the obstacles are varied, the levels creative, the progression logical (I liked the touch with lowering number of stakes), the graphics stylish and the bosses entertaining (maybe except for the first one).

I'm not sure if the silver bats weren't underused. Also, there might or might not have been some music; sometimes I got impression I heard something, but might be random noise around...

Still, really great entry here. Looking forward to more games from you. ;)

Khaoz_Fang says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 1:55am

Very innovative idea!

xesf says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 9:06am

Brilliant!!! What a clever idea. Keep up working on this and polish the game. This can be a success!!

Madball says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 11:59am

Originally I didn't want to write a comment, because I couldn't find any words to say except for praise. But then, I found a bug: if you crush yourself on the level where you get the stakes, you keep them, but you can collect them again. This way, you can have 12 stakes on screen at once. It's amazing that that's the only bug I could find in the whole game.

Geckoo1337 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 2:48pm

An amazing gameplay with a good prime idea. It could be very interesting to do a full game, no? Well done ++

plko says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 6:25pm

Fantastic game experience, A REAL WINDOWS GAME.

Tselmek says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 7:15pm

Yet another amazingly creative entry of yours, nice job!

fenwick says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 9:18pm

This game was freakin' unbelievable. It's such an innovative idea and, in addition, a blast to play. This is the best game I've found so far.

andyman404 says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 5:26pm

Amazing work, especially for a compo game! Innovative mechanic of breaking of the 4th wall, shifting the window around.

knason says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 6:26pm

This is totally awesome! :-) Well done!

Green Soda says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 2:34am

WOAH! very polished and it's topped in everything! o_o cant imagine doing this in just 48 hours wow... you're a monster! GOOD JOB... A TOP IN EVERYTHING

yuigoto says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 2:56am

I was watching the development on twitter and was like "WHAT THE...!". Technically amazing for me, and quite challenging too.

The graphics are simple, but convey the message and set the mood quite well. Nice work on the audio, with FL Studio, too! :)

I had to bang my head a few times on the puzzles, but they were all great.

Congratz and cheers! :)

wheerd says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 9:27pm

Fantastic mechanics, really great idea!

Yumeito says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 10:48pm

Awesome Game :) Love it

NightShadow0 says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 12:45am

Oh wow, this is amazing, both from a technical and a design perspective. Impressive amount of content, too.
It works perfectly with the fake window, but i had some issues with the real window where the game would slow down and the screen would keep flashing white; this eventually made the game completely unplayable in the second boss level where the screen is slowly descending.
I really enjoyed my time until then, though. Brilliant work!

Sabina Lis says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 2:57am

Great game, it was really fun to play with window displays, and stakes, nice graphics too, the hole thing, thanks!

May 5, 2016 @ 4:50am

Simply OUTSTANDING.

EvanEGibbs says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 8:05am

That might be the best Ludum Dare game I've ever played. What an outstanding mechanic. Not only was it cool and interesting, but it was so well developed! You really used that idea to it's absolutely full potential. What an amazing job. You have inspired me greatly. Incredible job!!!

TheMeorch says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 8:02pm

This is one of those brilliantly creative ideas, where seeing a 3 second animated gif sells you on it completely.

Really strong execution on a great concept. I'm impressed at how you thoroughly explore the various uses and ramifications of the core mechanic. Great work!!

General says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 6:20am

Made a video review for you: https://youtu.be/cov2SmkSm4E

SaintHeiser says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 7:16am

Good as usual =)

alyphen says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 8:06am

Absolutely stunning entry. Level design on point, ambient moody atmosphere, really fun to play through.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 6:40am

awesome

Arvydas says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 9:46pm

Awesome game, one of the best ideas i've seen in this ludum dare, great, great job.

May 9, 2016 @ 12:47am

I have never seen a mechanic like this before, Excellent!!

thebrainfuse says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 7:01am

Excellent mechanic and gameplay... the collapsing window level is one of my faves!

lkr says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 6:42pm

That's the most unique mechanic I've seen this LD :)
Love the pixel art and gameplay, as well as the impressive amount of content for an LD entry!

smbe19 says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 8:26pm

From a mechanics perspective, this and Splitter Critters are probably the best of this LD.

JoseArias says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 8:50pm

What to say... Amazing.

It is the best game I have played for sure. Just one thing.. I tried to pause the game and I pressed esc. The game is very very long and ok, esc = exit makes sense but without saving... A message saying "Do you want to exit? you will lose the progress" would be great.

The puzzles are great, the "combat system" is simple but funny (I was fighting Erad and enjoying it a lot). Just awesome. 5/5

May 9, 2016 @ 11:07pm

This game is amazing!

01010111 says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:16pm

I mean, what can I say? Great job as usual? It's better than that! Amazing work - you're really an inspiration :D

Qyboz says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 12:36am

This is a amazing game. The skip level is a life-saver because of the no saving. My number one pick for LD35!

May 10, 2016 @ 2:42am

Cheat and skip level with P (you cheater) =P

Rakowu says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 7:46am

Congratulation :D

Goutye says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 4:38pm

Excellent!

May 10, 2016 @ 8:51pm

Wow, congratulations with this great game, amazing!

May 23, 2016 @ 9:56am

That Ending =P

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]