Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Hotline Trump Tower

by Skipi - Jam Entry

You look upon America and despair. The economy is in ruins, there are riots in the streets, the people are clamoring for such silly nonsense like basic Human Rights. You yearn for a simpler time. A better time. A time where people were subjugated. And it was easier to rule over Humanity from the shadows as their reptilian overlords masquerading as government officials.

You seek to end these injustices. And make America Great Again™. How you may ask? By becoming president! Unfortunately, you're an [illegal] alien. No one would vote for you! You need a disguise. But who should you choose, you ponder. Why of course! That Trump fellow would be good. And Republicans love Art of the Deal! He'd be perfect...

----

You are part of an alien reptilian species that has been secretly infiltrating Human governments for centuries. However, Humanity is slowly undoing your work. So, you being the go-getter type, decide to hunt down Donald Trump, kill him, and use his body as a disguise to run for president!

*Inspired by things some people actually believe.

GAMEPLAY:
This game was partly inspired by Hotline Miami. As such, it plays like Hotline Miami, just not as good. :P

-Use WASD to move around
-Use the mouse to aim
-Left click to shoot/punch/hit someone with a plunger
-Right click on a dead body to transform into that person
-Press E to open doors
-Use shift to move the camera around

In the top right will be a tracker that shows what form guards will be looking for you in. Switch to another form to render them non-hostile.

But be careful. If anyone sees you shoot another person or transform, guards will be alerted. Guards can also hear your gunshots and will investigate.

In order to win the game, you must get to the stairs you started at in Trump's form.

Press R to restart, escape to quit.

HTML5 version coming soon. Possibly.

Music not by me! Music was by the talented DropADay: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1sXwlPyxwLA

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#93Humor(Jam)3.63
#138Theme(Jam)3.92
#199Fun(Jam)3.54
#269Overall(Jam)3.54
#325Mood(Jam)3.38
#747Innovation(Jam)2.81
#926Graphics(Jam)2.60

Comments

zaywolfe says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:09am

Error opening archive.On linux

Arvydas says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:49am

OSX crash

Skipi says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:14am

I fixed the linux issue. I exported the wrong thing. I don't know about the OSX one, though. Did it open? Or just crash outright?

Brice says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:14am

Would love to play this, but the windows Bitly link gave me a bitly virus warning error...?

Skipi says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:30am

@Brice, it's likely because I linked to a direct executable. I'll try putting it in a zip file and see if that helps any.

dcolgan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:51am

Windows download did not work for me.

MeritLeave says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:55am

Pretty good Hotline Miami clone, made me realize that some Hitman style personality-stealing mechanics could actually be a lot of fun in this style of game...

Great work!

hregrin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:59am

First game I rate is about an alien wishing to impersonate Donald Trump. The day is off to a good start :D

Malvern says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:02am

Great little game, I think you really nailed the Hotline Miami aesthetic in terms of music selection and mechanics. The art was definitely quite appealing, though I felt the minimalist aesthetic of the architecture clashed a bit with the more detailed character sprites. The premise itself though was pretty amusing and it was definitely a good 10 minute bite of gameplay.

jdselsor says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:12am

This is so funny and the innovation of the shape shifting is a well implemented addition.

antglynn says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:25pm

Very entertaining entry, excellent choice of music. I'm definitely getting that Hotline Miami feel. Nicely done!

zaywolfe says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:39pm

Hey hey! I found someone else using godot!

Absolutely loved the game! I never found trump but I had a blast murdering everyone in sight. Gave me a Hotline Miami + GTA vibe that I loved.

My only complaint was the faulty hit detection. Had to click multiple times to punch anyone right in front of me. Transforming is also tricky.

Overall this was really fun, and I think it has great potential for a larger game.

ponywolf says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:02pm

I was wondering if there would be Godot entries. I didn't get any music, but it was easy to pick up and play. Nice work!

Skipi says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:53pm

I absolutely loved using Godot. It was a pleasure to develop in and I learned a lot with this entry. ^_^

starpixie says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:29am

Good music, funny story, gameplay needs a bit of work. No Trump hair.

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:05am

Very innovative game, was impressed by the detail put into the enemy AI.

yokcos700 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:51pm

There's a lot of problems here. Enemy hitboxes seem to be rather inconsistent: Sometimes I have to mash click on an enemy corpse to become them (awesome mechanic by the way), sometimes I have to punch an enemy in the face three or four times because the first times don't register. Hotline Miami is very generous with enemy hitboxes in this way. Also I can't help but think things would be nicer if the camera automatically followed the cursor. The lack of sound effects is kind of weird (enemies can hear gunshots but I can't?). In general I think this game suffers from death by a thousand papercuts: There's a lot of little things wrong with it which add up to make my experience generally unenjoyable.

Skipi says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:07pm

@yokcos700, sprites were increased in size last minute and I wasn't able to update the hitboxes. You can also hold shift to move the camera around with the cursor.

PyroSneak says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:30pm

Played it quite a bit, but didn't get to complete it. great game, had a lot of fun with it. have never played Hotline Miami, which I assume was the inspiration for this so maybe I should give that a shot as well. Great game overall.

deathray says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 2:01am

Please add an HTML5 version! This looks great.

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 5:04pm

Haha awesome entry! You nailed it, if I had to give some criticism it would be that the punching felt a bit awkward and transforming didn't always work. The gunplay was excellent though!

Yumeito says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 8:23pm

Fun little Game :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]