Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

QWER

by orukinawa - Compo Entry

QWER is my submission for #LD35 as well as #LOWREZJAM. It's an endless game where you "SHIFT SHAPES" around to match them with their corresponding slots, trying to achieve the highest score. One wrong match and you're out!

Controls:
Use Q,W,E,R to select any 2 shapes in order to swap their positions. Make sure they line up with the incoming slots.

Don't forget to rate QWER for #LOWREZJAM as well ;)

Post-Jam-Fix: Fixed a bug where shapes would sometimes fly off the screen and increased the count-down and transition speed

References:
Engine - Unity3D
Art - paint.net
Audio - bfxr.net
UnityWebGL Template: https://ocias.com/blog/unity-webgl-custom-progress-bar/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#165Fun3.59
#194Overall3.55
#195Theme3.77
#465Graphics3.00
#541Mood2.82
#569Humor1.89

Comments

mutonizer says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:35am

Hmmm...
I liked the concept and enjoyed the first couple points but sadly, it seems quite bugged out as shapes clearly that should be working, don't sometimes (especially past points 7 or 8) and it's game over, which is frustrating.

Not sure if it's working via collision detection or something but for now, I'll consider it unrunnable and come back to it later on to see if it's working better.

Again, good concept and seems fun!
++

Dasginger says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:37am

Nice interpretation of the theme, I like it! Making the shape of the box not match its color really threw me for way longer than it should have done.
The first time I ran this, I got an error message when I started the game (after the title screen). Unfortunately I reloaded the page without copying it to see if it happens every time (it doesn't). Doesn't seem like a huge problem, but might be worth you knowing about in case it turns off some players.

zwrawr says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:53am

i lost my shapes :( http://prntscr.com/atodw5

orukinawa says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:02am

@mutonizer
The goal is to match the shapes, not the colors. Something tricky happens after 7/8 points. Are you sure you didn't fall in my trap? ;)

@Dasginger
Yeah some players don't realize right away (see @mutonizer :p). Thanks for the heads up on the error message, I'll run some test to see if I can reproduce it

orukinawa says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:06am

@zwrawr
Were you using the web build? Collision detection is a bit wonky on the webGL. PC/Mac should work fine though

mutonizer says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:56am

@orukinawa:
Holy geebus! Mind blown! It's crazy how the brain was conditioned to SEE the color and not the shape.

It's working 100% perfectly and at first, past 6-7, was a very strong inner struggle to NOT decide based on color but on shape only.
Past 15 though, it's just skill and I don't have that either so kept dying on 17 or 18.

VERY good fun! very addicting.
Thanks for clarifying and glad I came back to check :)

justinooncx says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:41pm

Hell, that wasn't as easy as I thought. Especially when those goddamn shapes flew away. Brain farted surprisingly often during the playthrough, well done!

Arvydas says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:19pm

Pretty enjoyable and addicting! Nice brain-game, fits well with theme

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:39pm

Hard game with good concept.

mountainstorm says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:28pm

Really nice shape swapping game; different control scheme. I also really like the graphics.

Le_Sarus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:33pm

Changing the colors so they don't match up with the shape after 7 points is a dirty trick! I like it

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:36pm

Neat concept, well done!

dustyroom says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:40pm

Sometimes the game ended though the shapes were shifted and were going to match. Perhaps it wasn't registering the shift after some time? Fun game overall!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:58pm

I love the concept

Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:06pm

Quite hard, sounds are a bit distracting but a great game nontheless 4/5.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:32pm

Nice design, a little hard. It should ramp up to having the shapes be different colors and the speed is a little fast for 2 walls at once.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:09am

Oh my god I love this. I was about to comment that there's a bug but NO YOU JUST TRICKED ME. Those wrong-colored shapes...

Really really great stuff. Great use of theme, simple art but it works nicely. Only thought is it might benefit from a taller screen, more Tetris-like instead of square. Super super impressive; one of my faves so far.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:45am

Got hard 25 upwards, very good mini game

redcubegames says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:15am

Nice, good looking game, quite tricky

medidog says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:16pm

Interesting idea, and the theme is very spot-on. Fun for a few minutes, but then it becomes really challenging. My highest score was 9!

jemooi says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:18am

simple and elegant :)

iossif says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:33pm

my brain! it hurts!

great stuff :)

CoderDozer says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:19pm

Cool reaction game, really shows how slow my brain is.

sftrabbit says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 8:54am

Neat idea. Mixing the shapes and colours really made things tricky. It got incredibly difficult when you started having to do multiple shapes at the same time. Nice work.

Shizor says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 8:54am

Such a neat game! Great job!

PowerSpark says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 3:08pm

Cool concept, I like how it adds in a new challenge later on.

May 8, 2016 @ 3:32pm

Really challenging but simple gameplay, great!

JefePapaya says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 4:08pm

High score 21.

Great idea and execution. One of the best takes on the theme.

Kudos.

Alphish says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 4:43pm

Got the score of 27.

At first it seemed like merely a curious variation of the shape-switching gate-matching endless runner, with swapping shapes around. Then colours started getting misleading, and things got a little more fun. Then multiple shapes at once started appearing... I managed to successfully swap a few, but things get pretty intense at that point.

Overall, it's really cool variation of that ever-so-present with this theme gate-matching endless runner. Maybe at later point even more shapes need to be matched, I dunno. Really neat, anyway. ^^

hippy dave says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 5:19pm

Fun! Best score 22, I'm too slow to do two switches in time.
Effective gfx & sounds, good idea, solid game.

smbe19 says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:46am

Interesting game! Very simple controls, but it still gets quite difficult.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]