Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Particle Shift

by ccglp - Compo Entry

Hi there! I'm CCGLP a student video game developer, and this is my entry for this LD. ParticleShift!


I made this game as training with 3D games and cameras, but my efforts went down at the same time that I begin with the camera code.

Well, I made two games in one, one being more level based (and very short) and another being a runner without any relationship with the theme ^^"


************************INPUT***************************************
Move: WASD or Arrow Keys Also, in the runner the up and down is for flying.
Space: """"Jump"""""
1 and two: Shape your body with less or more particles
O: Slow time

Fly runner: Up and down keys or WS

**********************************************************************



*****************************CONTACT*******************************
You can check my other work at http://ccglp.es
Or follow me on twitter @CCGLP_DEV




Thank you and good luck with your own games!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#318Audio3.00
#488Humor2.16
#713Innovation2.71
#747Mood2.33
#760Theme2.86
#816Graphics2.29
#861Fun2.40
#884Overall2.53

Comments

_beta says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:02am

Nice game buddy. I had very fun

bobismijnnaam says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:54am

"./LinuxExe.x86: error while loading shared libraries: libX11.so.6: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory" :( I'm on Ubuntu 15.10. Screenshots look interesting, a very techy/computer ambient.

bobismijnnaam says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:04am

Did some digging. First I had to "sudo apt-get install libgtk2.0-0:i386", then "sudo apt-get install lib32stdc++6". Together with chmod +x on the executable it started. However when I pressed play I saw some purple triangles, and then it crashed with the message "Aborted (core dumped)".

ccglp says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:11am

Yep, sorry. I didn't test the game on Linux, and it might be unity export problems. Tell me if you check the game on a windows/mac environment and sorry for the trouble

Souperstrawer says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:16am

Really enjoyable game. I would like to see this turned into a longer game. Jumping and shifting mechanics were a bit unresponsive. The music, graphics and light-heartedness of the writing made this an enjoyable experience overall.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:19am

The controls was a bit uncomfortable. The runner part was bugged it seemed, couldn't really jump or do stuff.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:29am

Nice, complex game. A bit unintuitive at first but it doesn't make it even a bit worse ;) Gj!

jk5000 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:04am

Great idea, but really buggy.

Przekop says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:09am

It took me 15 minutes to finish "story mode", i guess because i was too stupid for tutorials XD. Long transitions between levels/respawn made dying very frustrating (i guess that good). Jumping and shifting takes long to get used to. In runner mode i would love a little shadow under the player, that would make fitting through holes easier.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:11am

nice music

The traditional wasd controls with fixed viewpoint camera doesn't really work.

See resident evil x

qu2 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:47am

Nicely done. Maybe make the tutorials shorter though, (or better, integrate them into real gameplay).

WayneTao says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:00am

It looks like some wrong in the second scene.
And it is a good game.

WizByte_Games says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:00pm

The controls could have been a bit better, but over all I had a little fun with this game.

SuperIzzo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:35pm

I'll start with the second game "Runner" as I enjoyed it more :)
The idea is very good, and you can (and probably should) explore it and expand on it - a 3D flappy bird/ hole in the wall.
This version of the game however has a few flaws:
1) you should take into account the size of the walls with respect to how far the ball is from the camera, I shouldn't have to go off screen to pass through a holes
2) it is hard to judge distances from this camera angle, because its perspective things move sideways as they come closer, consider casting a shadow of the ball onto the walls, a directional light behind the camera should do the trick (you can also project a marker)

Some notes on the first game:
If you fail a the last section of the first tutorial you have to repeat the whole thing. It is an odd design choice because you would normally expect players to have learned the mechanics shown in the previous sections.
Also when you add timed mechanics like the "O" key, it is good to provide some form of feedback on the remaining time like a cooldown wheel, or a timer or just play sound (alternatively you can signal the players right before it runs out with blinking or gradually speeding up). On the second level I am greeted with a wall and I'm not sure how to proceed, I tried climbing all 4 walls but the camera doesn't follow me anywhere.

Ibzy says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:35pm

Nice music, and an all-round fun little game.
Controls are a little unresponsive regarding the size shifting and jumping, and the WASD is hard to interpret once the camera spins around.

I god stuck at the start of Tutorial 2 as after I shifted bigger and broke the wall, if i tried to move past the wall ever I would die inexplicably.

A nice concept that has a lot of potential for a great puzzle-platformer.

Did't try the Runner as, as you say, it wasn't part of the theme.

Good job :)

SuperIzzo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:47pm

@Ibzy ah that's how you're supposed to get past the wall :D

same happens to me though

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:27am

Like everyone else said, the controls did not feel very comfortable. However, really liked the concept!

aemiliu5 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:36am

Interesting idea, although the controls and the cameras felt really clunky :(

eymrich says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:06pm

It was fun. Recycling by making another game with the same assets was well done!

frogcheese says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 10:26am

The controls were a bit clunky for me. I didn't get very far into the first game either since I kept dying in the tutorial for "two are better than one" without really realising why I died. The camera pans were cool, but I think you could've done without the fadeouts after each completed task.

In any case I liked the audio, and the endless runner was fun to play with.

May 8, 2016 @ 12:13am

Enjoyed the tutorial and thought it was nicely set up to learn the different mechanics. Liked the humour you instilled in the text.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]