Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Boyd, P.I.

by TTFTCUTS - Jam Entry

Meet Lucius Boyd, a hard-boiled detective who also happens to be a shape-shifting druid. Follow his exploits as he tells the tale of how he escaped a close call with an angry monarch's executioner. Help him find a princess worthy of his meddling fingers.

Controls are explained in-world as you go.
__________

Apparently not mobile compatible - there is no "not for mobile" option on the entry page, and because it's a web game it will appear in the mobile category. There isn't anything we can do about this, sorry!
__________

Things that would have been implemented if we'd had the time:

- Indivudual SFX volumes. Some are louder than others and it doesn't help.
- Sound on volume change so you can actually tell how loud it's going to be...
- Furniture objects, including breakables.
- Tongue mechanics.
- Archers.
- Arrow traps.
- More carefully planned puzzles (the whole level was made in the last 2 hours before submission)
- Proper music cues.
- Subtitles, in case Boyd's wonderful voice just wasn't enough for you...
- Trees, rocks and other outdoor background objects.
- Rain particles in the foreground - the background is soaked and yet closer it's mysteriously dry...
__________

Made by a team of four - one programmer, two artists and a musician (who also did the voice acting).

Art assets are eclectic and mixed due to neither artist being particularly familiar with pixel art. We all did some of the art - try to guess which bits are by the same person! Be gentle, heh.

HTML5, Dart compiled to JS, WebGL via Three.dart. WebGL requires a fairly new browser to use. Makes use of the web audio API, so IE and older Android browsers will probably fail to load altogether even if they can handle webgl.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#55Audio(Jam)3.97
#61Humor(Jam)3.84
#109Theme(Jam)3.97
#154Graphics(Jam)4.07
#156Overall(Jam)3.70
#232Mood(Jam)3.54
#360Fun(Jam)3.34
#575Innovation(Jam)3.00

Comments

BitDare says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:49am

This game was amazing for being finished in 72 hours with great voice acting, which isn't often done for Jam games to this degree of greatness. The graphics were also spot on for 2D.

lanestp says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:56am

Great game! The voice acting really makes it! Reminds me of Iron Druid. The one and only annoyance is the jump sound effect talking over the narration. Other than that A+

gurkenlabs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:59am

Nice graphics and hilarious voice acting! Good job!

TTFTCUTS says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:05am

@lanestp, ran out of time to implement individual sound effect volumes unfortunately.

paragonpawns says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:48am

I absolutely love the voice acting, well done!

F4KETHIS says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:17am

Really fun, love the voice acting and being a squirrel is surprisingly satisfying. Great job!

DivineOmega says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:08pm

Great comical voice acting. Very funny stuff. Really nice graphics, and pretty good gameplay. Especially like the chameleon stealth element.

I struggled a little with the platforming stuff. I kept overshooting my jumps.

I really liked how you built the instructions into the game itself.

ZeroFaction says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:35pm

The game is in the Android secrion, but I can't seem to get it to run. In browser it stays on the "getting things ready" screen forever. And I don't see an app I could use to install ut. Either it shouldn't be in the Android section or my device is incompatible. Samsung Galaxy Note 5. Will play at home on my comp later and provide you with some ratings then. Cheers!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:37pm

Nice game, controls a little bit hard especially jumping at the top of the castle

TTFTCUTS says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:40pm

@ZeroFaction, it's a web game, and the only link I set was web - I didn't do anything to specifically mark it as Android compatible... I'll see if it's possible to prevent that.

Zayron says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:50pm

Loved the voice acting and the art looks nice. I did not like the controls that much. I fell off the platforms more times than I would like to count haha.

antglynn says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:53pm

Great artwork, and the voice acting is entertaining. Platforming is quite difficult with the controls, but overall a strong entry. Well done!

Arvydas says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:38pm

nice game, the only thing is that i find hard to jump since you can't adjust your position while jumping, you can only stop the jump, is a little weird for a platformer, nice job overall :D

ployer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:14pm

the art is gorgeous, well played. the platforming at the begininng goes from simple to extreme really fast. should have ramped it up. other than that well done!

1qgl says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:24pm

Great game! Very funny voice acting. The lack of air-control made platforming a bit weird but that's only a minor thing.

kestrelgames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:27pm

The voice acting and graphics on the main character are great. Platforming is frustrating though, the hang time on the jump is just too long and it's really hard to control.

Le_Sarus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:32pm

Voice acting made me want to keep playing, only real problem i had was the inertia while jumping was a little too powerful.

LeftRight92 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:37pm

I'd love to keep playing this, but it crashes every time I try to restart. Good to hear some narrative in LD too.

Skruffye says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:51pm

Interesting. The main selling point was obviously the humour, so I found it a little odd that you stopped talking for a large chunk of the game! The animation was also notably well done.
The platforming was difficult, and not because it was challenging, more because the controls were overly floaty.
Anyway, it made me chuckle, so thank you! ^^ Good job overall. :)

Larzan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:53pm

Gorgeous gfx, love it. My favourite thing is how the squirrel walks, very cute.
The jumping and hurting sounds are a bit anoying though ;)
And the kinetic movement took some getting used to.
But a great game, well done.

TTFTCUTS says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:18pm

@Skruffye: that was mostly to do with team member availability. I was alone for the last 3 or 4 hours programming stuff - the guy who did the voice acting was unavailable while the level was being built proper and didn't quite know what was required!

arzi says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:19pm

Impressive voice overs! Nice art too, too bad I hate these kind of platformers :D

CasualCat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:55pm

Wow great art and animation! Story and voice acting!? That's some really good team work to be able to pull all that off and maintain quality and performance.

luquio says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:58am

strong design and gameplay!

TeamScripta says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:08am

GREAT voice acting and perfect use of the theme! My only small complaint was the platforming puzzles were extra difficult because the forward momentum was hard to counteract. But that was small, and overall I really enjoyed it! I especially loved the art. I actually liked how it was a little eclectic due to four people contributing. Great work!

Pythius says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:18pm

This game sure has plenty of potential. I really enjoyed the atmosphere and the way the morphing mechanics were implemented, it reminded me a bit of The Lost Vikings (but with a single character if that makes any sense).
A few improvements on the level design front and this game would have been golden. Kudos!

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:02pm

One of the top games in the JAM!!!! Fantastic job!!!! I love the voice sounds!!!

SHLFStudios says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 1:11am

Great Game! I wish I didn't have to start from the beginning every time though!

talgautb says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:51am

cool, but hard to control him

Odyssey says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 11:09am

Great game in the time limit. Except the sound was a bit annoying

thegunmaster says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 2:53pm

Really good nice, simple mechanics but goes well with the theme. Only 2 problems I had is that the controls are too slippery in the air imo and the loading when restarting takes way too long, a problem that I had with my own game aswell.

Malvern says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 3:22pm

Unfortunately, this game crashed my browser after I died so I am unable to review it. (Firefox 45/Windows 10)

Roland M says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:34pm

Great sound and voice acting. =]

Rock Eaters says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 10:33pm

classic paltformer but the main character and chameleon are really nice, i like the backround with rain too !

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]