Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

MURDERSHIFTERS

by Chaoclypse - Compo Entry

In the crowd, amongst the throng of citizens lie a killer who looks like any other... Your job is to track him down, and eliminate him.

MURDERSHIFTERS takes place in a world where MURDERSHIFTERS roam the streets. These vile creatures kill their victims and then utilize their energies to shapeshift into them.

Every MURDERSHIFTER is affected differently by MURDERSHIFTING. It can range from becoming slow and fat to becoming red with power. Use these side-effects to differentiate MURDERSHIFTERS from the crowd, and take them out with as few innocents caught in the crossfire as possible!

It's Where's Waldo meets Hitman! Play now!

P.S. To download the source code, click "more" on the GameJolt page and the option to download it should appear.

P.P.S. If you have trouble in windowed mode, try fullscreen mode, and vice versa.

P.P.P.S. There are two types of builds on GameJolt. The Unity3D Web Player version on GameJolt(when it goes up) and the zip with "post-ld" in its name are both done after the Ludum Dare compo deadline. They contain a small bugfix for the shooting, but do not rate based on these ones. The Unity3D Web Player version on this page as well as the normal zip download are done within the time limit. Also, while I'm at it, there is a version on itch.io. That one is fully up to date, so do not rate that one either.

tl;dr Just rate based on either the Unity3D Web Player version on this page or MURDERSHIFTERS_x86.zip on the GameJolt page. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#4Fun4.34
#10Overall4.21
#21Theme4.28
#34Humor3.80
#37Innovation4.07
#55Audio3.77
#67Mood3.75
#76Graphics4.03
#1248Coolness47%

Comments

lordsavage says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:00am

Easily the best game I have played so far, Well done!. The only gripe I have is that it is VERY difficult to get a clear shot on the monster without killing a civilian or five.

But please let me repeat, this is a great game, loads of polish and smooth game play.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:16am

very fun! thank you and well done

sez says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:44am

Very fun to play. Laughed when I got eaten for the first time. It is very punishing though and really unfair as its really hard to shoot the murdershifter without killing everyone.
Well done!

Lythom says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:54am

Hi, here's some feedback.
What I liked :
- Fun murder party idea
- Fit te theme very well
- good realisation
What imo could be improved :
- make the murdurer harder to find bu easier to kill (to lower the skill cap needed by the player the hunt the murdrer)
- A message the congrat the player after beating the last level (to give a "completed feeling").

Overall a very good realisation of a neat idea. Thanks for the game !

mrnannings says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:14pm

Great game! Looks very finished already!

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:49pm

That little speedster f*cker! Haha!

Really clever game! Never seen anything like it.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:42am

This game is absolutely awesome! I loved its concept, gameplay and the animations were really cute too.

brummer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:17am

Fun game. Reminds me of some XBLA games and spy party, except against AI. The red guy is really difficult.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:19am

Great Job! Very neat idea.

Thijs Tak says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:26am

Pretty nice game. Bit hard to actually get the shifter between all the civilians though.

PulsorHD says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:57am

Very good game, loved every second of it, music is good same goes for sound effects and gameplay.

ocarson says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:31pm

I like the concept a lot, all in all a cool game, quite a lot of work has been put in to the levels too.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:53pm

Great polish, very "juicy". Love how the murdershifter turns into you and wobbles around after he killed you.

ranmaru90 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:58pm

Awesome game!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:43pm

Cool game! The third monster type absolutely wrecked me.

PeachTreeOath says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:20am

Extremely solid, easily one of the better ones tied to theme.

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:35am

Really great stuff. Very much enjoyed playing this. Love the collateral damage and the feel of the game. Superb audio. Well done.

Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:23pm

We hate serial killers 'cause they steal our job ... (poor civilians ...)
Amazing game doing fast ! Very fun to play !

Freank says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 1:56pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:28pm

this is one of the best i played yet - my only complaint is that there are too many civilians to get a clear shot - keep working on this one - great job

randomhuman says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:00pm

Challenging. I think I did more damage than the murdershifter! Interesting concept and very fun game, and I love the little wobbly sprites!

medidog says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 6:17am

Really innovative idea. However: I understand that the challenge is to kill the bad guy without killing too many civilians, but I thought the gun we had at hand was way too messy. Especially considering that the bad guy needs a few shots to actually die. But still solid entry for a compo!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]