Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The Ball Wizard

by Grand Mustasche Studios - Jam Entry

The Ball Wizard is a game about the bad kind of shape-shifting; unwanted for the one who tries to reach greater heights.

HOW TO PLAY:

Climb to the top and defeat the Ball Wizard.

He will shape-shift you.

To survive, make sure you are located on a flat surface.

CONTROLS:

Move: WASD + Mouse

Jump: Space

Restart: R

UPDATES:

* Fixed bug where some players could not respawn after dying.

* Removed embedded game, using a link to the game instead.

* The mouse sensitivity got ridiculously when building the game as WebGL, turned it down to make the game playable.

* Added Windows build.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#466Humor(Jam)2.59
#515Audio(Jam)2.89
#696Graphics(Jam)3.07
#731Innovation(Jam)2.83
#807Theme(Jam)2.97
#895Mood(Jam)2.57
#957Overall(Jam)2.76
#1047Fun(Jam)2.37
#1448Coolness42%

Comments

vootele says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:24pm

Didnt get the point, sry...

nextreality says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:53am

I like the graphical presentation of the game, but dear sheeps up high it was tough. I could make it to the third platform just barely, but my mouse kept leaving the screen so I died more time than I would like to admit, but I kept trying, so good job on making the game effective on getting you right back into it!

Kuality Games says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:42am

The game looked interesting but I couldn't get the idea

Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:44am

First try, mage convert me in a ball,I died, ok. Next tries only fell again and again.

Arvydas says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:59pm

I like the concept and graphics. Mechanics were pretty nice as well, though I could not seem to make it to the top lol. Good work

iossif says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:20pm

i did not really understand the game. the idea of the small ledges and the mood were nice though.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:41pm

I really like the idea! Funny sounds were nice as well.
It's a shame that sound from first transformation was not repeated on the next ones. :D

Unfortunately, I was unable to get it past 2nd platform, I always lose at the 3rd transformation. I don't like that the planks are so thin. It would be ok, but contols glich out a lot when you hit a wall, so you must move on the edge, which makes game a lot harder that it should be.
Good job overall.

P.S. To all of those who didn't understood the game: Well, you guys should read the description. The mage transforms you into a ball once in a while. To survive, you need to stand on flat platforms when it happens.

MementoGames says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:00pm

Nice concept! I can see this working on mobile. I think you guys should keep working on it. The movement felt weird sometimes. Add some wind sounds e more challenges ;)

I don't know why people aren't getting it, it's very straightforward.

LeoM says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:08pm

The concept is nice (I think I understand) but it's too difficult with any check point.
Their is still a lot of collision bugs that make the game almost impossible to complete.

I managed to reach the 6 or 7th platform, but it was only luck.

joemid says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:22pm

Ooo! I get the point! You're trying to make me mad! Srsly, tho- this is probably the simplest, yet most frustratingly hard game of this LD. I know what I gotta do- I just can't do it! Video of a speed run please?!

Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:44pm

interesting concept, and good graphics!

I didn't get the point at first, maybe some kind of in game explanation could have helped.
I tried to play it on web, but the mouse was always leaving screen which made me die, reason why I also played the windows version, this time, with no problem.

I finished it, but the "fight" part with the wizard is... well... strange.

Xanjos says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:39pm

The strange collision issues actually make this a lot harder than it is (sometimes you ended up being snagged near the walls) but it's still finish-able but overall it's a pretty fun and interesting entry.

Also here's proof that I actually beat the game :V - http://imgur.com/KBZIOnO

hippy dave says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:53pm

Original idea! Hard as hell.

Riftpoint says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:15pm

Nice game, really challenging gameplay and level

AnaGF says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:33pm

Idea is good, but it is hard to understand. Colliders are a bit buggy, maybe would be better to use box colliders instead of mesh colliders.
Graphics are fresh and neat, by the way!

medidog says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 3:16am

Interesting approach to the theme..

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]