Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shapeshifter's Quest

by allstar602 - Jam Entry

Kill creatures and steal their forms. Shapeshift into these forms to obtain special abilities that will aid your progress through the dungeons.

Notes:

The arrow is a little finicky with the button in the second area. It will work if you keep trying different spots when shooting.

There is an ending, you will have to think about it.

The game is a bit hard at the moment. I wasn't able to add in check points, so if you die you must start over from the beginning. Do not fall in the holes.

I wasn't able to implement an attacking AI so all enemies will flee from you in terror if you hit them.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#308Theme(Jam)3.64
#711Overall(Jam)3.05
#777Fun(Jam)2.82
#839Innovation(Jam)2.68
#895Mood(Jam)2.57
#1416Coolness44%

Comments

vctr_seleucos says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:47pm

Good job!

PulsorHD says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:21pm

Very fun game, well made only flaw it had was the lack of music, but overall I enjoyed it alot.

Fabraz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:29pm

Cute.

ConorOD says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:45pm

Quite fun, with some nice ideas, although jumping was a bit tricky and being sent right back to the start each time was a bit frustrating.

Big Cow says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:48pm

I like what you did with the theme. It was satisfying changing into different things and collecting new creatures to turn into. Great job.

Mr.Chippy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:20pm

I liked it a lot. :)

ajayajayaj says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:43pm

nice

AceyT says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:47pm

Good job !
As you said, it's missing some checkpoints, but I would also suggest some music for the mood ^^

uprightpath says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:27am

Very. VERY! Hard.

Jumping seems to be rather bugged for me. Also, I died by transforming too close to the edge. The slime did it (stupid slime!)

purrpurr says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:23am

I liked this, it's one of those ideas you can get excited about. Bit hard though, in the nes-era way of the word of having to start all over again.

Spiria says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:53pm

Good ideas for gameplay. would be much fun with music :)

csanyk says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 11:11pm

I got stuck on a wall in rat form, and couldn't get unstuck, and couldn't shape shift, either. It'd be fun to come back and see this when you complete some AI, and provide more of a goal or story to the game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]