Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shape Shift

by paradxil - Compo Entry

UPDATE: After receiving multiple complaints about the menu I have uploaded an updated version of the game to itch.io that allows you to select levels using the mouse. You can find the link below.

--- About The Game ---

I programmed this game in python using pygame. You control a shape which you shape shift to match it with shape templates that enter the screen. You then move your shape with the mouse over a the correct shape template to complete a match. Survive for as long as you can to unlock new levels.


--- Menu Screen ---

Use W/S Keys to select a level from the list on the left.
If the text is grey that means the level is currently locked and you have to unlock it by achieving a high enough score on a previous level. The requirements to unlock a level are listed after the level name.

Each level in the level list has a number next to it. This number is the score for that level. The score is equal to the number of seconds you survived in the game.

If you find the game too easy use A/D to change the difficulty. Each difficulty has unique scores for the levels.


--- How To Play ---

Controls: Mouse, Mouse Wheel, WASD/Arrows, and QE keys

Mouse: Move your shape over other shapes to complete a match.
Mouse Wheel: Scroll to change your shape between a triangle, square, and pentagon.
AD: Change the color of your shape.
WS: Change the size of your shape.
QE: Rotate your shape.

Certain levels only require you to control certain properties of your shape. When the level starts it will highlight the controls you need to use. Use these controls to change your shape to match the template shapes (outlined shapes) that enter the screen. Then move them on top of the template shape to complete a match.

*You lose when you let shapes fall off the screen.*

For example, if a green hexagon outline enters, then you would have to use AD keys to change the color of your shape to green. Then you would use the mouse wheel to change your shape to a hexagon and finally move your mouse to make your shape hover over the green hexagon.

You can unlock new levels by achieving a high enough score on the previous level.


--- How to Run ---

Run the ShapeShift.exe found in the download. I compiled it for windows only. However, you can still run it from source if you have python 2.7 and pygame installed on your machine.


--- Other Notes ---

One:
If you dare look at the source code you should be warned that this is some of the ugliest code I ever written. I was cramped for time this weekend and programmed it all in one main.py file. There are no comments.

Two:
The music is pretty bad. You can mute it using the M key if you so desire. Parts of it are ok but I simply did not have enough time to make beautiful music. I decided to include it as a category to be judged but almost did not.

Three:
Let me know if you think the levels are too hard or too easy etc. I had a hard time getting the difficulty correct. Some of the later levels are really hard even for me.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#150Audio3.43
#186Fun3.55
#380Graphics3.23
#411Theme3.45
#428Overall3.26
#495Innovation3.06

Comments

murraya2 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:15am

Incredibly inaccessible. There may be an okay game here, but I really can't reach it through the menus. When I finally got to the game it was okay, but it didn't last long and was very hard to control.

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:26am

Nice music, the game was pretty fun, though i was only able to see squares, i tried all the difficulties, but only squares.

Katamori says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:31am

Thanks for reviewing my game - now it's my turn.

At first I couldn't understand, how it works, but when I catched it, the game became amazing. I especially love the way I automatically clear out shapes when I'm even only a bit close.

5 for Fun.

Mieeh says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:38pm

Very confusing menu and little took me some time go get going but it was a fun little game when i finally understood it-somewhat. As a pygame user myself, i really enjoyed the visual effects(the explosions) xD

pixzleone says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:07pm

Difficult, but cool and pretty. Good job!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:49am

Nice game. It is a hard game and I had to replay it some times to understand how to play it. Menu is not that clear.

paradxil says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:57am

Thank you guys for all your input.. I'll definitely try to make the menu clearer in the future. I did not realize it was a problem but that's probably because I'm the one who made it.

Cosmologicon says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:59am

Maybe I'm weird but I didn't have any trouble figuring out the menu. I think it's a great idea for a game, but ideally it would have a well-balanced progression of difficulty that ramps up steadily over time, rather than having the player select it. You're right that this is a hard thing to do well, though. I found Sizes, even on easy, to be just beyond my ability. I got in the 50s a few times but never quite finished it.

I like the chill mood - not sure why you didn't want to be rated on mood but I would have given it 4 or 5 stars. The explosions are a nice touch.

bvisness says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:57am

Nice game. The hitboxes are just about right - you don't have to be exactly on the shape to dispatch it. Tracking one or two shifts at a time was fun, but above that got a bit hard. Though this does seem like the kind of game that you get better at with practice.

ranmaru90 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:04am

The user-unfriendly menu aside, this is quite the game! Love it.

JJJANEE says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:22am

I absolutely loved this game! I would totally get it if it was a mobile game lol. The graphics looked simple but I absolutely loved it; it just looks really elegant and smooth and the 'fireworks' were really neat. The music was nice and fits the game really well. The control was so smooth! I really enjoyed playing it and I had a lot of fun! The concept fits with the theme really well too! It was so creative. It's just perfect :) Awesome job!!
Just one tiny thing... It was really hard... I have a terribly long reaction time so this game was really challenging for me. Nevertheless I really enjoyed it! The fact that I still had fun although I was losing so much further proves that it was a great game. ;)

igrir says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:40am

It's fun and challenging. I don't know about you, but I really like the music though! It somehow reminded me a nice old school feeling.

Asturk says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 11:22am

Very nice game, and the music was very good. It took me time to get used to the game commands, but it was a good game, though!

martymon says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:37pm

pretty good. Very accessible. I had fun.

Freank says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 5:17pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Aaranos says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 3:54am

Simple but it is fun. I didn't think the music was bad and actually thought it added to it.

drentsoft says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 3:54pm

Nice game, controls smoothly.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]