Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Aeroteque

by dustyroom - Jam Entry

A diagram of a rabbit's hole.

Hop as many times as possible! These primitive platforms gradually disappear: with each time measure they lose an edge, until there's nothing left.

Warning: This game is hard.

Controls:
WASD + Mouse - movement
Space - jump in air
R - restart

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#35Audio(Jam)4.08
#35Graphics(Jam)4.50
#52Mood(Jam)4.05
#93Overall(Jam)3.87
#128Fun(Jam)3.68
#129Innovation(Jam)3.70
#295Theme(Jam)3.65

Comments

RttStudio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:10am

Omg I love it! Someone make this game into VR! More seriously, this is my favorite entry so far, nice atmosphere, colorful,fun... I didn't find it challenging after getting use to the camera, maybe remove some shape?, Really addicting game!

psychomonster says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:30pm

Cool and very stylish artwork. I love this minimalistic presentation! You should think about to make a post-LD-Version! Very good joB!

sepharoth213 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:47pm

Great game! I was getting pretty poor performance on my macbook running arch linux. The game was a bit too easy, but I love the graphics and the sound design. Nice job!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:02pm

A great experience, loved the graphics

ponywolf says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:52pm

Very nice entry. I played for a while with the arrow keys before I realized that I could mouse-look. Great presentation, fun casual experience. I would experiment with control styles to make it even more casual friendly.

zugende says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:54pm

Loving this game! Absolutly amazing! What inspired you choosing this design pattern?

AceyT says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:16pm

Love it ! Simple, cool, shimmering graphics for our eyes to enjoy, a good little music playing in the back and with the perfect tune that give a good humor.

If I could, i'd offer you a cookie !

blinry says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:23pm

Best score: 107 - but I didn't know you could double-jump :D Very, very addicting! The controls have a little much delay for my taste. I'll definitely come back to this, thanks for making it!

kestrelgames says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:40am

Stellar graphics and style! Great audio too.

hellojed says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:28am

Great style and music. One of the best LD games I've played!

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:57pm

Nice game, I really liked the visuals!

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:58pm

I'm watching you on stream and playing as well. I would like to get more than 20 jumps! haha.. awesome game with killer tunes!

medidog says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:11pm

Fun game with amazing graphics and nice audio. Could only enjoy it for a limited time though.

tentacode says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:05pm

Catched me by surprise, cool concept and nice realisation :)

studdert249 says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 7:30am

Cool use of the theme and the pastel art colours were great. Admittedly I kept just wanting to play so I could hear more of the backing track, which I loved.

Jin47 says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:22am

Really great concept. simplist but beautiful graphics. The music is great too. Very good job you all!

mitya1234 says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:43am

This was cool!

Apr 26, 2016 @ 9:18am

Fantastic sound and visuals!

Steven Pinto says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 9:25am

Great concept and amazing visuals.. lot can be done with this game and yes do try to make it for VR. probably you could make it more challenging, by letting the player having to jump on only specific shapes and the shape he has to jump on keeps changing :)
Anyway all the best :D

Insality says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 9:46am

visuals and sounds are fantastics!
Great style and very interestings to see how i play it
But gameplay is weak place :(

Dasginger says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 10:15am

This is a really good idea! The platforms sync up really well with the music, the art style is really nice and the music is a great match for it all!
I didn't have any problems with the controls, I thought they were responsive and sensible enough. I'd love to see this developed more, like having the islands generate so that they lead you on a path, forcing you to move eventually.
Still, really nice game!

luvShape says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 10:41am

the graphics deserve to be in top 100 for sure! beautiful low poli realness. Might be a good idea to test it on different music though, overall one of the best designs I've seen by far

Asturk says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 10:51am

Very nice game, the graphics and music are really well done. The colors all around give a very good mood too. I just think the challenge could be a little more intense, like have more diffenrent obstacles or become a little more faster over time. But very good idea and game!

AnaGF says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:22am

Amazing graphics! Game is interesting an funny, too. Would love to see this on VR!

jk5000 says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:28am

Weird and wonderful.

merzlot says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:52am

Whoa! What a beautiful entry! Really love the colors. Music is awesome too! Good job!

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:56pm

Love the music, some of the best original music I've heard in this LD so far.

The designs are really clever, I love how the amount of edges on each platform also acts as a timer as well.

sndr says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 1:13pm

Awesome! I really really like the core mechanic and how it relates to the theme! The art is fantastic and the overall feel is very good! :) 5 stars for you!

TeamScripta says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 1:28pm

weeeeeeeeee!

Nesferjo says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 1:29pm

Amazing! I love it! The gameplay is fun, and the music and graphics are very very cool and fit perfectly in the game. Very nice entry, congrats :)

flummox3d says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 7:06pm

Simply beautiful. An all around 5 game for sure. Great work! :)

Naca says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 3:27pm

Woooooow fantastic game!!! Please listen to the VR suggestions!! I love the colorful atmosphere and the song is soooooo funny (as the game is). You're a true music magician, dude :D I'm sure that half of the fun with this game is due to its amazing music and colors. I will definitely play your past LD entries, because they look so good!! Congratulations, no doubt this is one of the best entries at LD35 :D

LOSTALLOY says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 4:26pm

This is very cool, not only the environment is very engaging, but the song also contributes to the atmosphere! Great entry!

CaptainPilot says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 11:47pm

Loved it. A very fun and jolly atmopshere and cool little concept. The one thing I'd change is to keep the music going when die. The complete silence breaks the mood.

FiSilva says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 11:30am

Amazing visuals and audio. And super fun

MementoGames says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 2:39am

The music is AMAZING. Can you share it?
The graphics are very beautiful. And trippy!
The controls are good and easy, but the mouse was too fast for my taste. A little more variation on the gameplay (bonuses, multipliers, powerups) would be nice. But hey, 72h! :)

Great entry, guys.

Marius says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 11:12am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! We're realizing a video with several winners of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]