Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Ludumdare #35

by Robert - Jam Entry

It has begun!
Someone has summoned the Great Archdemon Beelzael.
No one can beat him, except for one person... YOU!
Take over the roll of a necromancer, gather bodyparts that alter your skills, to beat Beelzael!

WASD to move. Mouse for shooting and Tab for inventory. You can equip items faster by right clicking on a item slot

--Parallel Universe Studios--

Robert vater - Programmer, Pixeler, Genius
Julian Höning - Musician, Sounddesigner, Pixler

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#539Audio(Jam)2.84
#611Mood(Jam)3.00
#629Fun(Jam)3.00
#744Overall(Jam)3.02
#897Graphics(Jam)2.66
#956Theme(Jam)2.64

Comments

hellojed says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:35pm

A perfectly cromulent game. Unfortunately I could never find Beelzael after he was summoned. Weapon pickups were great, but I couldn't find a 2nd chain gun for my other hand.

homeworld says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:07pm

Got 2 chain guns and could shoot at the boss from outside its range, great inventory system and nice items, could use some upping in difficulty :)

Souperstrawer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:11pm

Quite a fun game. Controls felt good and the music was nice too. I had some trouble finding the boss, maybe some indicator would have helped.

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:25pm

Perlin-noise ftw! :D

First impression was that it was way too easy. Then I found the final boss.. Damn son! It felt like I was shooting that sob for hours! Died trying to kill him. :c

Simple but fun game!

Hope you guys had fun making it =)

pixzleone says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:58pm

Nice game!

EighthNote says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:54pm

It was fun! I couldn't find the boss though

Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:36pm

Fun game, could use some polish and maybe be a little bit easyer. Thanks for the entry! :D

tower07 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:01pm

Very good! Could have been great if there were a few more different power-ups. Finally beat it on my third try.

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:02am

Doesn't run. Also, please name your game something. -- I can't have a whole folder full of rar files all named "LudumDare.rar", it's too hard to keep them straight.

namrog84 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:03am

killed him! yay! he had a lot of life!

marod says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:45pm

Good game!

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:53pm

Somehow itch.io hosting is sooooo sloooow. I'm downloading the 30 MB in 25 minutes. :-(
And per default it asks everyone to pay/donate something for the game.

As for the game: It would have been nice if there were a description for the items so that you have an idea what they are doing. And there is an issue with the inventory there were free slots left and I could not pick up any more items. But also when I dropped items more appeared in the inventory,

Other then that the game was enjoyable, the music quite nice and I managed to defeat the demon. Nice work.

Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:17pm

Good and fun game !
Go vote mine ! :)
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=90478

Joror says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:23pm

Cool little game, the demon was pretty hard, could not get him down in the end. :D End-game battle was cool tho.
Might want to increase the nr of items & basic enemies.

johnbrynte says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 10:30pm

I had a hard time getting used to what was obstacles and what was ground, making me constantly wondering why I all of a sudden wasn't moving. Otherwise I liked that you had to move while shooting, it made it more interesting than if for example the monsters would recoil on every hit :)

oparisy says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 1:41pm

Hey, I had a very good time playing your game! The beginning was not very fun, but get some wings, a machine gun and let the fun begin! Liked the multiple musics, and the fact that the environment was destructible too, which added some interaction (destroying obstacles, digging grottos...). Liked how the pesky water ennemies target the boss instead of the player :)

I would have liked to understand better the difference between the different objects I pocked. I saw no point in getting mutiple objects of the same kind, too, that filled my inventory unnecessarily.

Yumeito says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 8:38pm

Fun little game :P

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]