Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

In/Out Of Shape

by RockNRedPanda - Compo Entry


Get fat and loose weight instantly to interact with the objects in every room.

Find the button, press it of course. That will open a door, enter it.

Help little johnny through this experiment that will put his special super power to test.

Spikes may kill you.

PS: I do apologize for any minor bugs, unpleasant SFX and poor art quality, but the idea is still there. Apparently, mountain dew does not make me a super human.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#209Humor2.94
#286Theme3.64
#570Overall3.09
#657Mood2.61
#675Fun2.82
#1448Coolness42%

Comments

Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:17am

Hehehe it's more frustrating than Montezuma's Revenge on C64 :)
I'd like it to have some "get ready" information just to let me know I't another try.
And perhaps I'm just impatient, but I thought it would be awesome to be able to choose difficulty level, with at least one second more for noobs like me...

Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:00am

That third level is so difficult, but the use of the theme was great

merrak says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:04am

Great interpretation of "shapeshift".

pirate_shell says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:27am

The artstyle wasn't anything special really, but it did the job well enough, so I can't fault the game on that. Especially considering how great the actual game is, it's hard to throw flack around. It's not super polished, but it is good geniune fun and feels like a real game which is a thing that not a lot of LD games have going for them. The mechanics were a fun take on the theme and I think adding a restriction to the amount of times the player could switch forms was a simple, yet brilliant way to add depth. Overall, great entry!

stoo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:38am

The door opening noise is harsh!

esayitch says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:18pm

Heya, I liked the concept of shifting between weights. Could have used some background tune (even autotracker would have made it happier IMO).

Nice entry and concept :)

Good luck!

psychomonster says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:06pm

Good use of theme... damn this game is hard... but hey its good for people who wants to have challenges :)

AlexLamarche says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:52pm

Couldn't get passed 2nd level cause the time was too short.

May 4, 2016 @ 8:23pm

Lovely concept! I enjoyed this, thanks.

Reiv says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 2:33am

Nice concept and mechanics! I Liked the variations you made in every level and the restriction to shapeshift a specific amount of times, it makes you think every move. Took me a few tries to beat third level. Overall nice game! P.S. Practice more your pixel art! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]