Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shape Shooters

by Funske - Compo Entry

*NOTE*
PLAY THE GAME IN FULLSCREEN TO STOP THE SPACE SCROLLING ISSUE
Sorry about the inconvenience.

Shape Shooters is a game for the Ludum Dare 35 48 hour competition. With a theme of “shapeshifting” you must resize yourself to accomplish tasks. Match colors in order to pass gates, and change you shape to take down enemies!

Controls:
Space: Change Color (Square)/Shoot Bullet (Circle)
A or D: Change Shape
W: Grow
S: Shrink

As a square you are able to get taller or shorter. Depending on your height you can get through specific obstacles. Get through the color coded gates by matching their size and color. Shrink down in order to fit through small hallways. Circles can shoot bullets. Change into one by hitting the ‘A’ or 'D' key, and then fire away by mashing ‘Space’. Circles can also get bigger for a stronger punch, but be warned that they don’t move that fast.

Tools:
Sublime Text 2 (Text editor)
Paint.net (Image Creation/Editing)
Soundation.com (Music Creation)
SFXR (Sound Effect Creation)
Tiled (Level Creation)
Enchant.js (Game framework)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#15Theme4.35
#28Audio4.00
#226Innovation3.52
#239Overall3.48
#302Mood3.16
#391Fun3.25
#568Graphics2.80
#1448Coolness42%

Comments

Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:37pm

The music is very cool! But I would like to see which direction the character is facing and the controls were pretty strange for me (probably because of different keyboard layouts) But overall it's a neat little game!

thatguyarch says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:55pm

The animations and audio are well done, and it's a pretty fun game. I like its design, and I don't think I've played a game with mechanics quite like it .

namrog84 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:43am

good music and nice puzzle game

BitDare says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:56am

Nice game with a fun puzzle like design.

Jac817 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:56am

This was actually super fun, my only complaint is when you press space in the web build it scroll down and puts the game window out of view

dwhiffing says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:59am

Glad to see another web based game! I like all the different shape shifting elements you put in. The music was awesome too, it made my gf dance!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:39am

Great job! Wouldn't expect anything less from our master Funske!

psyxose says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:28pm

Very good game.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:34am

Great game! Simple graphically, but fun and clever.

Great job! :D

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:05am

Cool game with a great music choice and some very interesting puzzle-like elements.

I'm guessing it wasn't intentional, but the triangles were able to shoot one shot after they were dead and invisible, which made for some frustrations. There were also spots where circles seemed to block shots after they were gone.

mrStrings says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:19am

That's some cool mechanics, this entry is really good.
Now, the one thing, I think, you should be careful about (and note that I NEVER said anything like that for jam games haha) is that I felt that you put too many mechanics at the same time.

For example, it is possible to create one extremely awesome shoot'em'up with the idea you had of changing speed/size/strength in real-time. It's also possible to create one high-octane racing game, completely distinct from the first one, using the color-coded barriers' thing you did.

BUT, when you joined the two ideas, I found it to be rather confusing.

You see, some of the which I find the greatest game designers state firmly that a good game is not about breadth of the mechanics, but the depth in which you explore them.

That's my humble opinion :)

Also... hey, if you are interested in our entry, it is on my teammate's account: you can play WolfBit here:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=87729

Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:46pm

This was rather entertaining, but I would use another key for shooting/changing color in a web version.

Freank says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 4:18pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

TheCams says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 12:22pm

Nice entry, fun puzzle game. I had the same scrolling issue when pressing space on chrome and it made the game almost unplayable :(

May 2, 2016 @ 4:15pm

Neat game! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/CILyMGd9ZnE

Satyre says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 12:07pm

Music is the most motivating part to continue the game. I like the gameplay a lot. It was interesting to see, that you used the theme the whole game and not only at some parts. Great work!

Louspirit says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:44am

Very nice compo entry :) Many levels, amazing dead animation :P
Please think of azerty keyboard next time

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]