Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

anthropomorphic suspect

by dunin - Jam Entry

A kind of mastermind with a sort of match-3 thing.

Help the old lady to found the thief...

In hard mode, you have 15 parts of body instead of 12.


Tools
- Phaser library!
- Sublim Text
- boscaceoil
- GraphicsGale
- a personal tool for rotoscoping pixel art (I will tell more about when it will be finished...)

update 06/24/16: I release the alpha version of my rotoscoping tool: https://dunin.itch.io/ptop !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#89Humor(Jam)3.65
#111Innovation(Jam)3.75
#199Overall(Jam)3.64
#236Fun(Jam)3.48
#347Graphics(Jam)3.69
#382Mood(Jam)3.30
#435Theme(Jam)3.47
#606Audio(Jam)2.62

Comments

FenyesJ says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:51pm

10/10

Crimson713 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:05pm

Nice game! I love the pixel art and the "detective" feel it has.

Tharky says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:05pm

Gotta be honest, music was annoying at first, but the game was pretty cool! Really innovative with the mixed game types and pretty fun. Artstyle was amazing and I can't wait to hear about that rotoscope tool :) Good job!

FloatingGhost says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:10pm

Incredibly nice implementation and art - the old woman spouted so many completely random lines :D

i... genuinely can't think of a criticism here for the actual game, it's pretty darn good. The soundtrack could use a little work - there, there's my nit-picking <3

Honestly though, consistent art style, easy-to-learn mechanics, and a solid,bug free game. Good work :3

Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:08pm

love it, and its built on Phaser too! nice :)

jdmazz says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:11pm

Very charming little puzzle game. Good in pretty much all ways. You put quite a bit into the story. Good job!

redwizard says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:12pm

Very good! Congratulations.

ginger9 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:31pm

Sometimes I get the answer but there are no specific parts. I don't understand soon, but still very interesting.

Adipson says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:30pm

very fun ! bravo !

Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:26pm

This was a neat idea, good job!

Cowa says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:28pm

Love this art. And very funny!

Danman9914 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:31pm

Cool concept! I beat easy mode after a second try. Awesome art for the different body parts.

hijomo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:34pm

nice puzzle game. the shifting was an interesting twist.

mrnannings says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:28pm

This one is very funny! I'm not sure but i think it is sometimes not possible to win after some guesses.

BoltKey says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:38pm

Really great idea. Doesn't fit into the theme too well, but I really like these merges of classic games if it works out. And it did in this case.

Omg, the graphics. They are perfect.

tayl1r says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:42pm

dang, i think i lost even tho i guessed right because other suspects took priority. oh well, neat game! nice graphics and idea.

Ithildin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:33am

Great concept, and nice execution! The matching and detective mechanics fit together very well.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:01am

This is clever. I felt dumb because I beat easy mode without realizing you could shift the lines VERTICALLY. That made hard mode much more reasonable.

APantaloni says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:18pm

Cool concept! Nice puzzle, I like how you have to be aware of the unintended combinations when sliding pieces. Not a fan of the music. Anyway good job!

MurderPunch says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:30pm

Awesome game! Had a blast playing this with my fiancee.

RafaSKB says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:51am

Simple and fun! =)

GrimGary says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:02am

The only thing I really didn't like about the game was the music which was hitting my misophonia a little hard. However, it was an overall good take on the "Mastermind" board game.

medidog says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:19am

Nice puzzle game

kestrelgames says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:17am

Really like this one, nice Victorian-ish style. Original take on match-3, where you DON'T want to make too many random chains. .........argh, I just read the comments and didn't realise you could move vertically either. oh well, still beat hard mode, haha!

Raptorij says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:40am

6\8

Strike says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:07am

Very good game. As people mentioned, sometimes we guess the correct solution but must create random combinations to clear the board while praying to get the right parts before running out of tries. Except that random part, I really love the game.

Kazetsukai says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:05am

I enjoyed. Good game.

MatLab says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:39am

Had fun here. I liked when the music theme starts when making the first combination even if the music theme stay a bit poor in time.

fizzhog says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:13am

Very nice jam game. With a little retheming I could see this working well as an educational but fun game for kids on touchscreen devices.

bryGPO says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:14am

Love the art in this!

blob says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:28am

Pretty original idea!

Larzan says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:02pm

Wow, great, i thought of something like that but couldn't make it fun and interesting, but this is a great idea you have there and it plays really well.
Beautiful images, nice one!!!

arhpositive says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:26pm

This hit the right spot as I'm currently reading through a Sherlock Holmes novel. Brilliant idea. Top notch execution. I liked it a lot. Beat it twice on easy and once on hard.

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:51pm

Nice take on the theme, love the pixel art style.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:57pm

Game concept is so fun! And lovely graphics. Nice work!

DSSiege11 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:40pm

So simple yet so great :D That's all I'm going to say, now I'm going to play it one more time ;)

TheMightyTeam says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:56pm

Simple concept but difficult to master. Well done!

celia14 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:26am

The graphics are really stylish and the game is great - an innovative combination of simple, fun ideas.

DivineOmega says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:36pm

Good fun and a good use of the theme.

Graphics and sound seemed both consistent and polished.

Pestel Crew says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:02pm

Good idea, I liked it. I'd played in something like this on your phone. Cool prototype.

gurkenlabs says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:52pm

I had much fun playing this, it reminded me of playing board games with my siblings :)

Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:41pm

Really liked the concept and art style, nice entry.

Aaranos says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 10:14pm

I think she needs meds if that is what she thinks her thief looks like. I found it to not be very fun, but the game plays well.

dollarone says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 2:14am

Excellent idea! Music fits. Love the old lady :)

Only complaint is that hard mode was too easy: http://imgur.com/WKRA4XW ;)

great stuff. ps phaser yay!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]