Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Galaxy Shifter

by Willsr71 - Compo Entry

==DESCRIPTION==
Galaxy Shifter a game where you try to get the highest score possible while defending your wall against attack from invaders.

As my first game for ludum dare I am slightly proud of it although there are admittedly a good many aspects that could be improved upon.

Made in JavaScript and HTML5 using Phaser.io

==CONTROLS==
WASD to move
Point and click to shoot
Escape to pause/unpause

==CHANGELOG==
* Fixed Highscores displaying nothing
* Player is now asked for username instead of inputting null
* Notify the player that if no nickname is given they will be listed as anonymous
* Fix scores being entered as 0

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#536Fun3.01
#585Humor1.83
#618Audio1.86
#658Theme3.06
#736Mood2.38
#762Overall2.83
#811Innovation2.49
#868Graphics2.03

Comments

Tanton-H2X says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:40am

the first demo play of my ld#35,The rhythm is little gentle at first(no one shoot me,they just run run run), cool ambient(if there are music, it could be more cool)
when they got the left-side of my screen,i died ToT(I've always thought that no touch no died )
still in jam,will come back to vote a time later.

Dia6lo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:25am

Great mechanics, but I think that:
- stream of enemies is too broad for player shooting speed
- it would be awesome if background music would match game's rythm
- player progression (upgrades), as well as overall game rythm is pretty slow

talgautb says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:27am

may be music to background?
and some space ship?

hunttis says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:31am

Cool concept. I think the controls are great. The pacing is a little slow and sometimes it looked like I hit an enemy, but the bullet just passed through.

With better pacing and maybe getting upgrades more often it could be really a lot of fun :)

mactinite says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:36am

At first it was pretty relaxed, then I got like 15 arrows at once. That was intense.

makiki99 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:34am

The idea is nice, but... theme is nearly unused. I know it is hard theme to think about, but well. Anyways it is a fun game, could be better if the bullets moved a little faster. Graphics are clear, audio is okay, the only thing bothering be is that hitboxes seem a little but wonky.
Still, good job.

bagface says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:49am

Fun game. Starts a little slow, then it gets crazy fast!

timeshapers says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:51am

At first I was like "i don't get it..."

But after picking up some powerups, holy ,moly!

Good job creating such an awesome experience from such basic shapes. Really feels powerful!

Unfortunately, once you do get powerful, nothing can stop you. So very little replayability.

M2tias says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:30am

Nice idea. It's fun, but it has a lot of balance issues. It's too easy before it's way too hard. Graphics are a bit dull too. Overall nice little game :)

Broxxar says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:08pm

http://i.imgur.com/ysW7GM5.png

I wouldn't have even thought to cheat if your post didn't mention it... Muahaha!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:38am

I had fun! the pacing should be a little more gradual - a few tweaks there and I could lose lots of time enjoying this game. So satisfying when you can spin around sending shots every direction!

F4KETHIS says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:07am

Fun take on bullet hell but it was super easy to just hold down fire and win - the weapon sound was just killing my ear too.

Larzan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:29pm

Nice choice of game engine :) Sometimes i died without knowing why, but it was really fun to play i have to say :)

Mr.Chippy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:11pm

This was really fun. I like the idea of it. I have no idea what was going on it the background. It was a bit easy. I got fourth place. :) The sound was pretty bad though. The mechanics were really nice though. Good job. :)

Inateno says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:57pm

Slow at start I was gonna leave the game, then a bonus appeared...
Oh I'm now a "bar" yay game is quite faster and more interesting, triangle then square and at square game is finally interesting !

What disappointed me: Hitboxes.
On the "explosion sprite" it is completely unfeet and I died to many times for nothing.
In shmups games already do a hitbox smaller than what it looklike, never the opposite.

No music and almost no arts, I know it is hard to do everything in a compo entry ! ;)

Anyway, the game as a potential, is cool and need more tweak.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:27pm

This was pretty good. It was a little slow in the beginning, and it felt like there was no skill at the end. The audio was also a little grating. Its fun for a few minutes of play.

PelvicThruust says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:35pm

Nice one for your first game. Cool machanics.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:23pm

Difficulty ramps pretty well, but sadly i just don't see this game doing much with the theme. It's shapeshift, not just shape.

SeaMonsterGD says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:52pm

Slow start, the games really show his potential when you first collect pick-ups. There's few balance issues though and some hitboxes problems. Nice work !

TeamScripta says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:05am

Mad props for doing an HTML5 game in Phaser! Open source FTW!

tjxx says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:30am

Fun game! It had a slow start but became a lot tougher as I started destroying more and more enemies. Nice work :)

GodsBoss says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:35am

Success is too random in my eyes. On my first attempt I got only a few green and blue arrows and was quickly killed. On my fourth game or so I got 9 sides, a bunch of green power-ups (they make you shoot faster, right?) and was nearly permanent on yellow. I hat to deliberately kill myself or I would have been playing forever, without much skill, just shooting around and gathering upgrades.

Matzigon says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:48pm

Not bad for a fist entry! :)

APantaloni says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:34pm

The core game is solid, but it takes a while to get going; I'd have skipped the beginning with next to no enemies. Music and better graphics/some animation would be great. It'd be nice to see this expanded upon :)

Udell Games says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:14pm

Possibly this starts *too* slowly, but by the time it ramped up it *really* ramps up and gets very fun! I like the upgrade system and the fact that different modes play fundamentally differently. I felt initially it wasn't well explained that I had to lead the shots and just felt glitchy, but once I realized that I was quickly in the zone. Graphics are bare and the game needs a lot of juice and some background music, but overall I quite enjoyed playing it, and that's the mark of great mechanics.

Arvydas says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:26pm

fun game, i think that the start is maybe too slow and can give a bad impression of the game, but when it starts, the action is pretty hectic, well done!

psyxose says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:02pm

Good game, I liked it.

IvanFon says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:59am

I really liked this one! Very fun mechanic! The difficulty scales pretty quickly, which makes you want to play again to see if you improved. With some music, this could set a great mood as well.

BitDare says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:47am

Simple, but great mechanics. It was definitely fun. Nice work.

docteurSid says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:50am

This is very hard if you take any of the upgrade items. If you work on the level design, this can be a great game !

Soron says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:55am

That was fun! It would be nice if the difficulty increased a little more slowly, so that it's easier to get to high numbers of sides.

webadev says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:48pm

Not much sounds, gameplay not really interessting. Background is good, space is beautiful. Shapes a bit too simple. Menus are cools. This game is a bit boring, really slow and hard to aim correctly.

kleinzach says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:37pm

I got overrun super fast. I'm not entirely sure how I am supposed to keep them back, perhaps I should be more in their midst to make all the shots hit... Anyway I love a good space shooter!

illuware says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:39pm

This was a neat idea for a game. Difficulty ramps up immensely though.

WizzardMaker says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:47am

Nice game! It was really fun to play, I missed some music, but it works without it

SHLFStudios says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 5:13am

This was pretty fun to play.. although a little difficult to get high scores!

danieldsj says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 1:53am

I thought I was doing well by killing all of the circles, but then all of a sudden, I died. I think the game was very safe and didn't really use the theme, but this is a great first-time LD submission. Keep it up!

Rock Eaters says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 6:11pm

the game is too slow .

Adipson says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 8:41am

original

AinoraZ says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 10:00pm

This really really needs some ambient music and some sick beats

csanyk says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 5:33am

Gameplay is awkward, but I think this game has potential if the controls could be improved.

Feels similar in some respects to the game I made. I like your ideas.

ermrk says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 6:32pm

It has a fun gameplay. I appreciate the mouse aiming. It is not common in the games like these.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]