Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Craft a Raft

by SUNFURY - Jam Entry

Play as a cute little noob that lost in the middle of the sea because he ran away from his mother
and now have to navigate his way throug the harsh sea on a raft that you craft (no pun intended ;) avoiding obstacles.

How to play:

Reach the flag on each level avoiding obstacles using the items that you get in each level by draging them on to your original raft.

-Place the Raft for more building space.
-Place the Propeller to push your in diffrent ways.
-Place the Tire to bounce your self from objects, tire has much more durability then wooden platform.

Tips:
-Use space to switch between playing mode and build mode.
-Use 1-9 keys on your keyboard to activate controls (like the propelor)
-You can restart with R key on the keyboard
-*YOU CAN SHAPESHIFT YOUR RAFT DURING THE LEVEL!* (switch to build mode - bottom right corner button)
-*THE SAND AND THE VORTEXES DO NOT DEAL DAMAGE.*

======:::SUPER COOL FEATURE:::======
You can create and share your own maps by clicking the hammer button in the main menu!
*to create ground you must enable physics (top right button)
*you must create a player (press M to create one or choose from obstacles list)
*if you want to change the first level of the game save it as "firstlevel"
*your maps are saved to "%localappdata%\rafsode_physics", when loading them ignore "level_" prefix

level editor shortcuts:

Mosue left click - place items in the map
Up/Down Arrows- switch creating items category
Left/Right Arrows - Choose item
Delete - Delete item on mouse position
Control - Create ground
Shift - Erase ground

Mosue right click - Set properties
Mosue right click + Space - drag

R-Restart
F-Change size
S-Save
L-Load
T-Test

======::::::::::::::::::::::======

To see updates of the game you can visit our twitter:
http://twitter.com/teamSUNFURY

And tumblr:
http://sunfuryteam.tumblr.com


Enjoy,
Yours trully,
SUNFURY

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#82Innovation(Jam)3.84
#88Humor(Jam)3.66
#153Overall(Jam)3.71
#213Mood(Jam)3.57
#245Fun(Jam)3.47
#287Graphics(Jam)3.79
#385Audio(Jam)3.17
#628Theme(Jam)3.24

Comments

Kashank says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:18pm

I literally lol'd at the screen shot. Super clever name, I'm a fan of the alliteration. This game seems well thought out in terms of the raft components, obstacles that get in the way, and the damage system. I found the controls to be a little bit cumbersome and would have preferred if I could switch to build mode without having to use the mouse.

My hat's off to the amount of work you've done on this game!

Freank says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:06pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

VividReality says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 2:35pm

Very innovative and fun game!

marmpa says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 2:45pm

REally nice game.Love this type of games where you solve a puzzle with different ways to go to an end point.REally creative use of theme

SUNFURY says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 2:48pm

Thanks for the nice comments :)
And really glad you liked it!

Freank I registered to this website, can't wait to see the video :P

MementoGames says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 3:01pm

Great entry!
The art is awesome and I loved the music.
Pretty cool of you to include the level editor.

Apr 24, 2016 @ 3:58pm

Excellent little game! It's a shame you didn't have time to design more levels to put everything into practice, but it's clear all the parts are here. I'll be keeping an eye on this one!

SUNFURY says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:10pm

MementoGames
we thought maybe people will make their own level and share it, we were curious to see what people will come up with :P

RockhopperGames
Thanks!
We're defiantly going to continue this game and add more levels and items, we're enjoying the concept and making this game :)

FBJazz says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:34pm

I love this game. I think it's just the best. It's really polished and it screams potential. I wish it had more levels, but I think that, given the constraints, you've put together something really great. Plus, there's a level editor. This is one of those entries that could actually be a full-fledged game!

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:45pm

This was a super cute game! I really liked this concept and had a ton of fun making my raft. I really enjoyed figuring out how to optimize my raft and the destructible was a neat addition to the gameplay. And you had me entertained to the very end. Great job!

cakeknuckles says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 2:01am

wow, what a great concept for the theme. the art was super cute and the game played well, really impressive job! love that there's a level editor too.

lumscum says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 3:35pm

Had a lot of fun with this one!

APantaloni says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 3:41pm

Really cool concept well executed. Colorful pixel art graphics, very appropriate for the game. The music is nice, if a bit repetitive. Slow paced put enjoyable and relaxing... when you're not crashing against rocks ;) Well done!

jcsirron says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 7:01pm

I am amazed by the quality achieved by the game! It plays well, has tough puzzles and is a lot of fun to boot! Great work!

Apr 28, 2016 @ 7:04pm

AMAZING! THE SHAREABLITY FEATURE IS TRULY WONDERFUL LIKE MY EX-WIFE WAS IN BED

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 7:22pm

Awesome game! Fantastic work. Loved every second of it.

CaptainPilot says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 8:17pm

Really neat little game. Got stuck on the level with the mines which was quite frustrating otherwise I liked it

QuexD says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 12:40am

Very fun game play. It is quick to grasp but can be used in interesting ways.

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 7:20pm

I like the graphics and the idea of this game! May the controls are a bit confused at first but it's a good work.

TheCain says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 7:35pm

Very polished game.

Aaranos says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 10:37pm

I like the art and audio. I wasn't big on the gameplay. Game is well made despite that however.

Rock Eaters says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 12:31am

fun mechanics, great graphisms and cool music. its a pretty good game !

tomlum says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 3:22pm

Super interesting mechanic and I love the silly physics and the lil dude :D

ryjcio says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:59pm

I rlly would love to play this, but I cannot run it on Windows 10 :<

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]