Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Crazy Race

by holgk - Compo Entry

Crazy Race

As a race driver you want to win. But this time it's diffrent you need to win!!! It's the last race of the season and only a win makes you the world champion.
But what!!!!
Someone put transformation portals on the track. When you drive through them your vehicle will change.

Tutorial:
you can use a xbox-360 controller:
left stick to steer, accalerate and break
On standalone builds you can use LT to brake and RT to accalerate, too. (Unity is messing up this feature on webGL build :( )

or keyboard:
Accelerate with w-key or arrow-up-key
Brake with s-key or arrow down-key
Steer left with a-key or left-arrow-key
Steer right with d-key or right-arrow-key
(keep in mind: playing a racing game with a keyboard is more challenging then playing with a controller)

Have fun!

Info:
Please don't use the options button on the webGL build. An error will occur.
For those of you, who have difficulties controlling the vehicles and/or have performance issues and using the webGL, please try the standalone version. Thanks!!!

P.S.:
Please tell me if there are any problems with the Linux and OS/X builds. I'm currently not able to test them.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#357Humor2.52
#443Graphics3.06
#540Audio2.42
#632Fun2.88
#664Overall2.97
#667Mood2.59
#746Theme2.88
#820Innovation2.45

Comments

F4KETHIS says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:48am

The options button on the main menu threw an error for me, and the framerate on the web version is pretty choppy. Impressive work though!

lanestp says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:50am

It gives me a database error when I try to play. Will try again.

Aaranos says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:51am

Unique idea, and handles fairly well. The laps are a bit long though. I think I went two minutes without seeing another car.

ViliX64 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:17am

For some reason I can't move right. :(

ORECROS says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:22am

I lost control ran into a wall and never saw another vehicle again

Dooskington says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:22am

The controls were super floaty, and it was really hard to drive the car at a high speed.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:24am

Had to download mac version to get a playable experience, but pretty fun once up and running. Would've loved a little more sound and UI. Nice job!

Would love your thoughts on my game -- Tito's Revenge
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=65699

murraya2 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:29am

Great concept, but it's very hard to control. Crashing into walls utterly wrecks you. Also, much of the course feels bland, and if I'm not around the other racers it can get boring quickly.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:55am

The keyboard controls are unplayable. Played standalone.

Per says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:09pm

Fun racer with a nice twist.
Got that exception when clicking on "options" as well.
Didn't have any problems with the control, although I am used to playing PC games with keyboard.

mutonizer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:59am

Controls are floaty for a racing game and not sure what the "shape shifting" mechanic bring to the table.

Arvydas says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:52am

The handling was pretty difficult and hard to manage. Also, the game took quite awhile to load. I think with some rework, this could be something very pleasing :)

kallotec says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:44am

Cool game! A couple niggly things for me was crashing into the edge of the striped barries on the corners. And not being able to reverse when crashed into the walls. I noticed the frame rate dropped quite alot which I think was when there was lots of trees to render. A good challenge though getting used to different vehicles mid-race :-) Great job!

Manou says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:22am

You managed to finish a racing game in 2 days congratz!

Raptorij says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:22pm

very great game 10\10
I fell into a hole under the bridge could not go on a rocket

WitchBoys says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:04pm

I laught a lot when my cart was transform to a boat and I didn't see the road anymore =)
Too many trees with too many details I think. The game is laggy on web. You did a Huge work, congratulation!

aemiliu5 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:55pm

While the laps are a bit too long and the physics when crashing and driving at high speeds aren't the best, it's an okay game overall :)

Imperial Unit says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:15pm

An interesting idea of having your vehicle change form throughout the race with each form having their own strengths and weaknesses. Only real issue I had was that the AI crashed early leaving me to drive around the track by myself, but for a 2 day project this was a very solid effort.

NightShadow0 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:30pm

The controls are pretty floaty (gamepad on standalone build), the boat seemed to handle best but having the flag cover so much of your view is a bit annoying. The track is way too big, i played for several minutes and never lapped, and if you crash once you'll never see another car again, making it quite boring. Some music would've helped too. The idea is interesting, but too ambitious for 48h i think.

adsilcott says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 1:05am

I might try the stand alone, because the webgl version is pretty choppy, even on by beefy computer. I think taking out some of those trees would probably fix the frame rate. Otherwise it was fun! the controls were very sensitive, better with a controller, but again that might be the web version. The game has a nice clean look and feels pretty polished. Some kind of message at the end of the race would have been nice. Also the rocket car sounds like a bathtub draining haha! Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]