Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Morphine

by ALobker - Compo Entry

Change shape to fit through the gates. Originally I wanted to use blendshapes, but this turned out to be a major hassle.

Controls:
Arrow keys to move lanes
Z or 1: Cylinder
X or 2: Low bar
C or 3: Triangle
V or 4: T-shape

Gamepad support is implemented but doesn't work very nicely. Use D-pad and ABXY.

Created in Unity. Mac and Linux versions can be compiled from the source.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#171Theme3.81
#225Fun3.47
#237Mood3.27
#340Overall3.35
#390Audio2.87
#464Humor2.20
#504Graphics2.94
#747Innovation2.63
#1201Coolness48%

Comments

luquio says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:54am

Great idea!

ccglp says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:55am

Seems like the best runner I played in this LD by far, good game and very well crafted mechanic and forms.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:01am

I think I died 3 or for times on the first obstacle, but after a little bit I got the hang of it. Great fun!

Spud says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:08am

Like it's name it's addictive

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:39pm

Simple but great!

Only got a score of 149 though. Got super hard after a while as you have to memorize which key corresponds to the correct shape. Maybe some icons in the game would help?

Hope you had a fun time making the game =)

KodingNights says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:04pm

Fun. Having played my own game for the last 48 hours helped in choosing the correct shape for the portals. :-)

EstrelSteel says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:17pm

Nice. Icons that tell you the shapes of icons would have been nice though.
I got 189.

Asturk says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:25pm

Liked the idea of your game and the fast pacing of it. You just should left some more info in the interface of the game of which shape is in each buttons, in a corner of screen during the game, not only at game menu. But i enjoyed it and its quite challenging too!

BoltKey says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:33pm

Addictive af, as I like to call it - Flappy Bird effect. You always feel like you can do better after every mistake you make. You know exactly what you did wrong, and you know you are not going to do it the next time.

Got 419 so far. But I will be able to get more hopefully.

The ding sound should go off after you pass the obstacle completely. It was frustrating when I died thinking I was safe after I heard the ding.

I love this style of games, and this one was very good. Great job!

falloneus says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:36pm

Real solid take on shapeshifting! Solid all around

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:47pm

Great concept. Addictive. I would recommend you to add some information to know all keys which could change the artifact to cube, circle, etc. Cool and funny ++

KaiseanGames says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:51pm

Can't rate cause I didn't submit, but this is great. I liked it a lot.

hippy dave says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:30pm

Title screen is not wrong, this is seriously addictive - just been playing it for ages :) Bit of polish and this would be a fine full game. I want a mac version so I guess i'm gonna have to build it :)

Allthebees says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:13am

Addictive! I really the clean aesthetic, definitely fits the shapeshifting theme!

Ted Brown says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:22am

Top scores, my friend... I basically made the same game this weekend! I think your choice to add left/right controls was perfect, and the difficulty increases at a perfect pace. Great job! er... Please rate mine! :D

arzi says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:27pm

Simple fun gameplay, simple but nice art style, short yet strangely addictive sessions. You've definitely nailed the LD way of making games!

Interface says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:13am

Haha, nice! Great work, simple but effective (and yes, addictive). This was actually my original idea (similar) but it morphed (shapeshifted?) into something entirely different by the time I was done :-)

Krammetje says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:57pm

Very well made game.
Fun to play

jakass says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:07pm

Good idea!

APantaloni says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:02pm

Solid endless runner that's fun to play, looks nice and has a good addictiveness factor ;)

Arnage says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:59am

Finally managed to get a semi-decent score at 239 :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]