Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

CatKoonBut

by SojaBird - Compo Entry

Enter forest of pixel-eagles and forever-fall.
Play around and spread your wings...or die!



"An ambient game about collecting, hiding and flying."




HELP INFO ETC
- Use the mouse to look around.
- WSAD allows you to move around.
- Escape toggles mouse-lock.
- Ambient experience controls are found inside the game (bottom right)
-> [C] Bird eyes
-> [L] Hero lock-on
-> [V] Hero eyes


Note:
Does your mouse feel sluggish/unresponsive?
Try downloading the standalone for a smoother experience.

Note 2:
Sorry, the game might be a bit too hard in the first stage.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#30Mood3.96
#96Graphics3.93
#103Audio3.58
#289Overall3.41
#459Innovation3.12
#468Humor2.19
#596Theme3.16
#757Fun2.68
#1248Coolness47%

Comments

Fartenko says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:10pm

Gameplay is interesting and game itself looks pretty cute :3

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:26pm

Gorgeous, adorable, easily one of my favorites in this jam. Wonderful style and mood.

Biliogadafr says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:40pm

Indeed ambient :)
I was hoping that I will become a bird in the end... why?

SkullPixel says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:56pm

This is really cool and innovative. I will say that your mouse controls are very buggy.

Pusty says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:19pm

Intresting! Really nice

Hempuli says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:25pm

Very neat! The browser version lagged a bit for me and that might've made the game harder than intended, but I found it pretty tough to avoid the birds. I really liked the Proteus-ish graphics and would actually really enjoy a game where you fly among the birds!

Syldarion says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:29pm

The artwork was really well done for this, as well as the audio. It wasn't immediately apparent to me that I needed to hide though. Maybe needs some sort of natural mechanics introduction in the future.

Red_Fan games says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:30pm

Nice styling, unique concept, love it!

mf1214 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:30pm

Fun game and pretty challenging. Good job!

Nolocality says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:04am

I like it...but than again I'm a sucker for sprites in 3D games and goofy sound effects.
Either I suck or the catapillar section is hard as hell lol, but I wouldn't dock a star for that.

The way the world falls together...very nice.

Sweet game.

Arvydas says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:29am

Really great immersion and environment!

Paulgami says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:39am

Really like the atmosphere! I really wanted to fly around, but yeah the first stage is a little harsh. Also the billboard trees get in your face a little up close.

teamross says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:56am

Love the art! The gamemplay is quite interesting! I tried a few times! I just didn't get what was exactly the bird vision. Was it to check every enemy position? They moved so fast and were so many that I could't even make a strategy to move safe!
Overall, good job! :D

Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:00pm

It's a shame it's so hard, as I found it a little frustrating. There was no real way to know where the birds would be so it was mainly just luck if they got you. It is beautiful though, hiding the main guy and just flying round as a bird was a nice relaxing experience. Top marks for mood

Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:47pm

Holy... What a lovely entry ! The artstyle is just fucking great and reminds me Proteus and some of Tom von den Boogart's games ! The mood and audio are perfect too and the concept is interesting. One of the most memorable entries I've seen so far, especially in Compo ! The Great, great job.

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 3:28am

Actually, I thought the first stage being brutal was rather fitting, given you're a caterpillar. I was less of a fan of the camera being so close to it, though. I definitely thought it was an interesting experience, and there were many places where it definitely felt like you hit the mark. The cocoon stage, for example, requiring you to wait a minute and hope for the best, was a really brave design decision. That said, to me, the butterfly stage was most broken. For a control scheme that's meant to make me feel free, kept me grounded and myopic due to the flowers stuck into the ground, and thus, giving me little reason to explore. I think that stage could have used a little more work.

TheCain says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 2:34am

I'm griping about the lack of ending screen, but other than that it was a pretty and nice game.

WERT Studio says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 8:17pm

pretty relaxing with the music

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]