Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Turbo/Glide

by rnlf - Compo Entry

Turbo/Glide is a car racing game with a car that is secretly also a glider plane.

The plane doesn't have any engine, so you have to build up kinetic energy in car mode.

Controls:

[Up] - Throttle
[Down] - Brake
[Left] - Pitch plane left
[Right] - Pitch plane right
[C] - Turn car / flip plane
[X] - Shapeshift between car and plane mode
[R] - Restart level

Note that you don't use [Down] to steer up ;-)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#66Theme4.05
#86Overall3.80
#88Fun3.79
#98Innovation3.83
#256Audio3.16
#256Mood3.25
#257Graphics3.51
#266Humor2.78

Comments

rosden shadow says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:15pm

Nice work!

Robber says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:48pm

incredible fun to play!! i thought the 'tracks' in the menu meant different radiostations or something so i started with track 2 and missed some of the instructions :D Love the graphic style, it fits the feel of the mechanics/physics so well..

Mantlair says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:14pm

That animation is intense. I got an error on Track 4. http://imgur.com/8blR6FN Beside, that enjoyed the game!

Rakowu says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:41pm

really like that one xD My car did a wheelie xD..... but really funny. Really nice work.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:43pm

I can't seem to get the hang of it. Very good idea, though.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:52pm

Awesome game, love it. Everything is great. Got crash like after 10 mins of palying.

CoderDozer says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:54pm

explosions are fun.

Titan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:56pm

I loved it :)
mine is a lot like yours, but easier and with less content:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=19671

ORECROS says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:01pm

Really awesome work, wish the screen was zoomed out so i could see more of the track

JoeManaco says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:05pm

Cool!

CMLSC says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:09pm

Nothing wrong with it. :D

Wirdo91 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:13pm

Nice game, though i would think the controls for the plane should be 'up' and 'down', same as the car

Syldarion says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:15pm

I really enjoyed this. I wish the camera was a bit further out. And also, I was able to move before the timer counted down on level 2.

varuns says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:27pm

Nice! The instructions for turning the car into a plane were a bit crowded though.

chriiis88 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:30pm

Tried to run it with LÖVE 0.8.0, which is the latest version available in the Linux Mint repositories (I know it says 0.10.1):

conf.lua:2: attempt to index field 'window' (a nil value)
Error: player.lua:15: attempt to call method 'getDimensions' (a nil value)
stack traceback:
player.lua:15: in function 'sprite'
player.lua:53: in function 'load'
main.lua:73: in function 'load'
[string "boot.lua"]:378: in function <[string "boot.lua"]:373>
[C]: in function 'xpcall'

Is there no way to package the game with an executable for linux?

I would really like to play this.

rnlf says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:32pm

@chriiis88, wow, LÖVE 0.8.0 is really old, no wonder it didn't work. I'll see it I can package it.

Conk says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:40pm

Love the transforming! Controls are a little hard to grasp, and the static background made judging speed quite difficult, a part from that though, amazing work!

Reallysketchy says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:15pm

The controls were a little hard to handle, but the game is really fun. Great job!

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:33pm

Great job :D Was great

Z4f1 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:35pm

Great work, but the airplane did do some weird stuff and would not turn. Anyways, great job!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:38pm

Fun and very challenging, one of my favorites this gamejam.

meganukebmp says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:51pm

Amazing job! Really pushing LÖVE2D to new heights.

w1n5t0n says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:37pm

Realy fun game!

amras0000 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:52pm

Had a lot of fun with this one. last two levels were a bit too difficult for me, but that's not a bad thing. Only complaint is that it felt like sometimes, especially right at the start of level 4, I'd lose a bunch of my speed when switching to the glider, and other times doing the same thing I'd keep a lot more. That made it a bit hard to predict when to transform into the glider or how to do the run-up, since the tiniest input change could make a huge difference over the course of the flight.

Wan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:29pm

This game is soooo hard... But there's some charm to it, something with the car/glider animations and the overall feel of it that made me come back for more despite messing up my controls and crashing every 5s!

After checking the last gif on your entry page I confirm that you car animation is pretty sexy :)

I didn't manage to get the hang of it though, I don't know if it's the keyboard mapping, how unresponsive the glider is, how I couldn't get to build speed before switching, or how the physics behave in general, but I just couldn't get used to it. Good thing the crash animation is fun to watch!

I managed to finish levels 1, 3 & 4 still.

The game was really fun to play, and the art style is both unusual and charming in its own way. The music & sounds were fitting and reminded me of DOS games.

Good entry, congrats!

ocarson says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:13pm

Among the best entries I've played. really cool, tight responsive controls, interesting physics, very clean visuals, and an overall very fun game.

APantaloni says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:15pm

It took a while for me to get the hang on the plane controls, but it contributes to the fun I guess. And this game is definitely fun to play! Minor thing: after completing a level I'd default the selection to "next level"

Sir Magic says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:00pm

I really like the idea and the animation is great. I still feel the plane is a little hard to drive.

MintArcade says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:13pm

Nice game. Great fun, really cool game

jeroenwimmers says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:23pm

really hard to play. I like that the airplane mode glides and makes no sound but it's hard to control. it also seemed difficult to use X for shifting and C for shifting. I think because you learn C first.

I think it would have done better without the direction change altogether.

ashdnazg says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:26pm

This game is not addictive at all, I can stop trying to break your records whenever I want.

For now I choose to keep playing.

(rest of the feedback was transmitted through the IRC channel)

Interface says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:08am

I really suck at this game :-) Takes some practice to master the controlling of the vehicle but overall I like it. Also, the exe crashed when closing - no big deal since I was closing anyway but just so you know.

pokipsy says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:38am

Loved it, so addictive ! The last track is way too difficult for me though ^^

ZpeedTube says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:45pm

Good work! :)
A funny thing is that I also have a carplane in my game. :D

unit684 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:03pm

Great game, I had to force my self to stop playing to go to bed :D

Mekuri says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:09pm

Great work. I had a lot of fun. It was fairly hard, but in a good way. The game froze for me a few times when dying on track 4.
All in all, a solid entry- Good job!

andyman404 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:23pm

The web version would not run in Safari, but it ran fine in Chrome. Fun game - was quite challenging for me. Congrats on finishing the game for the compo.

johnasebok says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:26am

Very cool and fun. The sound almost reminded of the days of playing Pole Position at the arcade. I made it through the first level but died more often then a nOOb playing Dark Souls on the second one :P

Tijn says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:44am

I've been trying a million times, but I still can't manage to get through level 4 :(

But I'll keep trying, because this game is loads of fun! The graphics are top notch. Not just the car/plane, but also the explosions and even the menu is very nicely styled. The audio is pretty cool as well, from the nice countdown sfx at the start, to the engine revving and even background music. This game feels very complete and polished, which is amazing for a compo entry. Well done!

esayitch says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:49am

Too difficult for me, but flying the plane was pretty awesome xD Even though it ended up in flames most of the time :'(

Graphics were suitable, sounds were pretty cool too, and the concept of shifting between car and plane on the go was pretty nice as well.

Good job, good luck!

EvoGenGames says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:48am

very good entry 5+!

Jungle says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:15pm

Amazing work! Great concept, fit theme perfectly and with fun! Congratulations!

Chikoness says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:15pm

This is brutally intense, couldn't even pass track 1 lol! Great elegant game!

AnaGF says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:27pm

Nice funny game. I think plane's controls could be perfectly UP and DOWN. The instructions are hard to read in-game because you are running a lot. However, it's addictive.

SojaBird says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:34pm

Very well done transform animation.
Controls are a bit difficult and was only able to beat the first level after 10 or so tries.

AAGH Games says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:50pm

This was an innovative take on the theme, and surprisingly challenging with a solid learning curve.

Allthebees says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:21pm

This game is a boat load of fun! ( probably more like a car and an airplane full??) The game is really quite polished, my only (tiny) gripe is that you often can't see the obstacles ahead in the level as the camera is small so you are required to fail a few times to learn the level.

Slothmachine says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:51pm

Great idea, lot of challenge and clear gif showed nicely what the game is about even before starting to play.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:00pm

A very challenging game. And as usual with your games, I'm left wondering "okay, how did you make Love2D do *that*?" Time for a look in the source code, I think!

Squid says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:02am

Cool game! this is really hard.

jakass says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:45pm

Cool idea! Wow! I really liked this!

Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:26pm

Really difficult. I only passed stage 1 and 3. In stages 2 and 4 I can't seem to get anywhere with the plane mode, it just flips over immediately when I shift. Maybe I just don't get the right moment to do it.

The graphics are very cool though, the 2d/3d hybrid style is really clean.

Kerdelos says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:13pm

This a refreashing break from all those geometric games but I have a very hard time trying to control correctly the plane. And the switch between plane and car is beautiful !

WetDesertRock says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 3:05am

I really liked what you did with the game. The physics felt "right" however they did bug out once and awhile.

Your game was also really frustrating at points for me. Reasons why may of been the controls, sometimes I mixed them up. However I have a feeling that is a me problem and not a game problem. Another thing I noticed is that it seemed like a guessing game for when I needed to lift off and what not, it made it really hard to reproduce what I did in the previous attempts. There are a few methods you could use to help this. The first would be added details in key spots (ie a light where you need to switch to a plane). That however may be a bit too obvious and you want your player to make their own decisions. The next method is just adding more detail to the game. It is pretty sparse as is, and adding grass, lights, a sky, any sort of prop would help give the player something to know where they are. All of the landscape looks the same, making it hard to know where you are. The last method I could see to help this is to zoom out the camera. You are really close to the player, and while this may be nice, zooming out would help you see more of the stage at a time. You could get even fancier and have the camera be dynamic, zoomed in when you were slow, and zoomed out more when you got faster. Or something like that.

Your sound was grating. I think you could've mixed your car revving sounds much lower. It was too loud and got annoying after a bit. Another thing you could try is to make it a little more dynamic, have it rev up and simulate it shifting gears. You could also ry putting a low pass filter on it. Higher frequencies tend to get more annoying faster. Or so I have found.

Your music is also at a constant volume, it never seems to let up. Perhaps making the lead synth get quieter when the whole ensemble gets introduced. You can also have it drop out once and awhile. Maybe try adding a delay to it. The drums were also too present in the mix I think. A good way for mixing drums is lowering the kick and raising it up until you can just hear it. Same for the rest of the set (this works the best when they can be controlled individually). You have a lot of interesting aspects to this song, and your lead synth tends to cover them all up.
Another part to it being too "loud" is the fact that I never heard the second part of the song where the lead synth actually does drop out for 10 bars or so. The music restarts whenever you die. Perhaps you should make the song loopable and loop so the player can hear the whole track.

Apr 27, 2016 @ 9:50pm

Really neat concept! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/7kJFcods5hA

Tegu says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 10:56pm

Really challenging game! I love the idea, especially as the glider does not have an engine. I had moments of fun and frustration with it. :)

Some assorted and redundant thoughts in the following.. Sometimes it felt like I was just lucky but I guess I'm just not yet good enough to play this. At first, I was constantly mixing X and C but it get better after a while. Sometimes I lost nearly all speed after shapeshifting. Especially on the final level on the second plane part I just couldn't get enough speed to get up. I just kept stalling and crashing but later it turned out I was shapeshifting a bit too late. Quite delicate controls, that is. I'm relieved to see that I'm not the only one struggling with level 4. When I finally got up and further, of course I crashed right in front of the finish line. Multiple times..

Often the plane did not really turn after shapeshifting and flew forward even though I was holding the turning key. However, they key might be not to hold all the time but a bit less at a time. Or at least I felt like the plane controlled better that way but there is still some learning. On the other hand, as the goal is to finish as quickly as possible, learning to do a better time is rewarding.

I also managed to do some wheelies. However, sometimes I didn't bother braking but changed direction, which ended up in wheelie and flipping over.. Just gotta be patient. On wheelie, the car sometimes got stuck vertically while still being able to switch directions (but not affecting anything). Once the car happened to flip over due to wheelie but got stuck upside down. I think I mashed some buttons during that, so I tried to get it to glitch again by mashing X or X and C. Occasionally, I could glitch trough the wall and fly outside the map (briefly before crashing into another wall). :D

The appearance is quite appealing in its low-poly feeling. Especially the car/plane looks cute in its shiny material. The animations are cool as well and give a little Transformers feeling. However, the engine sound could have a bit lower volume compared to the background music.

Incredibly addicting. I couldn't stop until I finally finished the final track (took waay longer than it should have).

(I should have left out over half of this but have to sleep now.. Especially now that I read WetDesertRock's great comment.)

the31 says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 12:34am

Nice! Great idea, perfect for the theme. It was really fun but also frustrated me a lot in a few ways. (I played the compo version.)

This game really suffered from the small screen space, I think. There's no way to see what's coming, and without planning you need to go into a lot of situations knowing that you're just going to blow up in the end. A map, zooming, panning, something would be a great addition. The lack of visibility gets annoying when you're decently far into a level, especially combined with the next point.

I didn't really understand when I should have good control over the plane. It seemed like if I went too fast, it would either rapidly pitch up or be completely unresponsive to controls. I felt like I had very little control over what was going to happen when entering plane mode, which I'd guess tripled the number of times I would need to play a segment because it seemed like I would randomly not have control.

The only reason I hammered on those point is that I think this is a really neat idea, and I really want to see it improved! (I'll be checking out the post-compo after writing this.)

Audio was very fitting--I just wish the music didn't always restart at the beginning so I could hear more of it. I left it running just now, and there's a lot more to the song than I ever heard during gameplay.

Unfortunately due to those gameplay points, I couldn't finish the last level. :(

Awesome game, I hope you can get it polished up!

fenwick says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 2:11am

The controls could have been a lot better. Why have left and right pitch the plane? Why have a button to flip over / turn around at all? I really love the idea and the gameplay gifs make it look super fun but the controls are too hard.

WizzardMaker says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 8:40am

Great game, nice graphics, but the god damn replay button has to switch with the restart button, because I am a fast person who wants to restart instantly while playing, but this button lets me wait like 2 minutes before I can play again. It's still a great game don't get me wrong, but this makes the game a bit annoying.

thebrainfuse says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 9:15am

I got an error where the pl-ar crashed and then sunk underground, so that the game restart option did not come up... still, So Addictive!

rnlf says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 9:30am

@thebrainfuse, there is an undocumented R key to restart the level :(

Veracius says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 11:03am

Pretty cool game, the sound almost blew my ears and there are a few bugs, but otherwise enjoyable.

Insality says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 2:32pm

ohmyg. It is a pretty cool game already!
good mechanic, nice level desing, exelent game feels at all!
great work!

LeReveur says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:53pm

Very challenging, good game !

May 1, 2016 @ 8:44am

Sweet game! Simple to learn but hard to get good at, and fun regardless :)

May 4, 2016 @ 4:22am

lol. that explosion was the best. i found this to be very difficult. xD

May 7, 2016 @ 3:35pm

Clever concept. Was quite fun to change between the plane and car and I liked how you needed the car to use the plane.

broknecho says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:14pm

Nice entry overall! The physics with the car being rear wheel drive was a little hard sometimes but was fun none the less.

Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]