Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

LD35 Fluffy Shape Racer

by hnzlmnn - Jam Entry

Hello there and welcome to our submission for the 35. Ludum Dare!

This game was inspired mainly by pink fluffy unicorns while being highly
encaffeinated and served with a lot of other types of food that somehow happen
to start with the letter c...

To put it simple (not that it's even getting complicated...) You have to fit shapes
in the front to the cut out shapes on the wall to be able to pass through it.

The shapes are moving faster and faster, so be quick!
To select which shape to change press the accordingly positioned arrow key then
select the desired shape by pressing the according WASD key or the space bar.
For ease of learning these keys are shown on screen.

In case you already got the shapes right and no time to chase for the wall
use your magical teleportation powers by pressing the n key.

Do you want a challenge? Quick observation and reactions? Then hardcore mode is just
right for you. You start with increased speed and disabled shape hints.

Have fun with fitting the right shapes and the unicorns!
Feel free to like, share and comment or whatever else there is.

You can find us here:
http://caffeineaddicted.de/

Who did what:
Felix Richter(@felix5721): Textures and Game logic stuff and fluffy clouds
Niels Bernlöhr(@k0rmarun): Textures and Game logic and ruining keyboards (R.I.P. L450 keyboard)
Maria Stepanov(@riastefan): Food provider, entertainment, and a bit of "at least I tried"
Malte Heinzelmann(@hnzlmnn): Framework, GUI and everything else

HAVE FUN!

Seizure Warning:
A very small percentage of people may experience a seizure when exposed to certain visual images, including flashing lights or patterns that may appear in video games.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#465Theme(Jam)3.44
#560Humor(Jam)2.40
#575Innovation(Jam)3.00
#672Audio(Jam)2.23
#861Fun(Jam)2.71
#936Overall(Jam)2.81
#959Mood(Jam)2.41
#973Graphics(Jam)2.47

Comments

Gametery says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:05am

It's a nice concept! I just felt like normal mode is very slow and hardcore is too fast. I think little bit tweaking could make this much better.

ragnarolis says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:38pm

Nice game. It's a bit too easy on easy mode and extremely hard on hardcore mode. But that's an easy fix. Good job!

Lumicgames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:39pm

Fun game, at first hardcore more was extremely hard but after a few goes It get's better, still challenging tho.

SgtBursk says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:47pm

My favorite part was the decision to go with a unicorn as a shape. Square...triangle...circle...star...UNICORN! The left shape was sometimes hard to see until the end, due to the blue and purple floor blending into the shape cutout. And using the top reference is cheating!! Hardcore is waaaay too fast. Fun game.

Munchy2007 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:09pm

Took me a while to work out what was required, but once I did it played quite well. Some sound would have been nice.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:18pm

Nice game, but it doesn't feel light. However, good job!

Verz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:18pm

Nice game! fun to play :)

WitchBoys says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:19pm

Funny concept.

adsilcott says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:19pm

This game hurt my brain trying to play it, in a good way! I like it! No complaints

FloatingGhost says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:19pm

It's rather... bring on the wall. In a good way <3

Maybe slowly ramp up the speed in normal? That'd be nice :)

iapc says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:47pm

Why doesn't the speed go up in normal mode?

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:50pm

What a funny game, lol. It would be nice even without the hints on top.

Upwily says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:53pm

Web player size was awkward so that it did not fit on my screen and kept scrolling when i pressed up and down arrows.
Game idea was clever

kestrelgames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:13pm

I like this insane reaction game! Maybe it would ramp up less punishingly if there were less boxes to shapeshift in the beginning.

Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:34am

Using space or arrow keys gives problems with low resolution screens, some keyboards can't make some keys combination work.

esayitch says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 5:09pm

Pretty cool, challenging game :) About the only thing I could "complain" about would be the music as it got repetitive and annoying for me. But that's really subjective.

Good luck, nice entry!

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 5:49am

crazy good job, love to ride the rainbow

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]