Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

BattlefieLD35

by ViKing Games - Compo Entry

BattlefieLD35 is a bullet hell where you fight against PoV for not letting Kittens be the theme. Shapeshift between 9 forms with different attack patterns and abilities using the Num Pad. (More info available in-game under the help menu.)

Game Controls:
Arrow Keys - Move
Ctrl - Slow down
Num Pad or Shift - Shapeshift

Menu Controls:
Arrow Keys or Mouse - Switch options
Enter, Ctrl, Shift, or Left Click - Select option

Changelog:
4/18/16 (Fix 1):
-Fixed some bullets going through turtle shield
-Fixed battle sometimes never restarting

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#7Humor4.28
#92Overall3.79
#137Fun3.63
#180Audio3.33
#256Theme3.68
#401Mood3.00
#448Graphics3.05
#671Innovation2.79
#2061Coolness20%

Comments

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:43am

HOLY BULLET HELL!!!!! yeah this game was fun.

Marc F. says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:25pm

Pretty cool game, very fun to play. Especially like the healing and shield form. Only thing I'd ask for is a way to choose exactly what form to shapeshift into as it takes a while to cycle through all forms. But overall very good, graphics and sound, as well.

brainstorm says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:32pm

Amazing work! Loved the intro!

Jin47 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:24pm

Great game with the funny story at the beginning. I just found the sounds a little too aggressive. Good job

JJJANEE says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:27pm

This game was so much fun! It was challenging and funny, and the graphics and audio were awesome! I really enjoyed playing it. The controls were super smooth and the rules were easy to understand. I basically just remembered jellyfish and turtle and used anything else to attack. The effects were great.
Great job! :DDDDDDD

corupta says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:26am

Darn, PoV gets mad when has low health.

Spoiler:
Bottom right corner is blind spot. It dodges almost everything.
(Snake + Jellyfish in the bottom right corner wins the game)
It was even hard to win that way tho.

Kinda fun game :) Funny story.

chaosBrick says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:13am

The concept itself is very simple. The controls are smooth, but the sound is a little bit too aggressive.
Really nice intro, btw xD

djosef says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:02am

lol

Freank says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:01pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on www.indiexpo.net ? It's like itch or gjolt.
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

torcado says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:37pm

hahaha that was hilarious. i loved the character switching mechanic. i wasnt able to beat it though.
nice job!

Arvydas says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:29pm

an intresting take on the bullet hell genre, hilarious and fun, i feel like maybe the shapes are too many, a less shapes with more specific functions should be better in my opinion, good work :)

StMatn says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:59pm

Awesome work!
I like the graphics and the audio is really great! Its hard as f*** to win, but that only makes it more satisfying.
Only critique I have is, that most of the form arent really needed. I only really used the dragon(?) and the jellyfish.
All in all very nice work :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]