Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Prince Charmless

by Pietro Ferrantelli - Jam Entry

"The Prince Charming has been cursed by an evil witch and he suffers an awful spaceshift. He has to reach the top of the Princess Tower to meet the prettiest one so as to be deliver from his misfortune !"

This was supposed to be a Compo entry but I ran out of time.
It's been a long time I didn't participate in a jam in solo ^^


----------- PRINCE CHARMLESS -- INSTRUCTIONS -------------------------------------------


Each Level is constitued by several parts

I/ The Tower Climb : Reach the princess

1. Left Click to jump
2. Hold Left Click to climb walls
3. Right Click to dash (unlockable at level 6)

II/ Mirror on the Wall : Make yourself beautiful despite of your awful mutations

1. Left click on corresponding buttons or use keyboard shortcuts to select a tool
2. Use the tools by following the in game instructions
3. make yourself pretty your ugliness break the mirror

III/ Your sex-appeal : the princess let you pass to the next level depending on your sex-appeal

IV/ Curse Time : Choose a disgusting upgrade

V/ Happily Ever After Shop : Use your golden pieces to unlock new stuff for both dungeon and mirror levels



---------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Pietro Ferrantelli - @PietroFerrantel - Design, Sound, Code & Art
Donat Watine (my uncle) - Music

Inspiration : Shrek and The Fly

Keyword : Web, HTML5
Bugfix : The non following camera bug on Level 5 on Firefox has been fixed.
PS : For some unknown reasons, the game cursor doesn't display on some computers.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
Fun(Jam)4.36
Overall(Jam)4.45
#4Humor(Jam)4.49
#13Audio(Jam)4.27
#17Graphics(Jam)4.60
#18Mood(Jam)4.27
#21Innovation(Jam)4.25
#271Theme(Jam)3.68

Comments

lyskaros says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:19am

My instant new favorite ! Everything is just so fun and hilarious ! Can't imagine how a single person can do that in 3 days !

Sentu says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:04pm

YOU WON. Seriously, this is BY FAR the best game I've seen this comp. Super clever and funny concept with an outstanding variety in gameplay. How did you make so much content in 3 days ?! 6/5

Dreschler says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:18pm

You should try to show up your game! It's awesome! You need more rates!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:22pm

really funny game, i like it. Great work!!

Yword says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:46am

Really interesting idea and fun, very good in all aspects! Well done!

Ithildin says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:37am

Top marks here! I love everything about the game (except the pimples...ugghhh!). Great graphics, humour, sound, brilliant concept, execution...should I continue?

Awesome job, congrats!!

josefnpat says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:40am

Very nice game! I like the mix between mechanics. Would have been nice to introduce elements one at a time instead of throwing them all at the player at once! Great job!

El Cabaro says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:29am

I remember seeing some of your earlier entries do really well and wonder "how is this guy so good?"

Really cool game. The mario sound effects are great.

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:59am

hahahaha I'm still laughing!!! What a cool and funny experience!!! Excellent job guys!

Casey Jordan says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:10am

A lot here! :D

A bit unforgiving, though. I wasn't able to see all of the content. I agree with josefnpat about progressively introducing mechanics.

PowerSpark says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:33am

What a great entry! Congrats!

SHLFStudios says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:56am

I think you are a lying butt-crumb saying you made this game in a weekend. thats impossible. this is way too good and complete... cant be done! cant be done i say! #allthestars

ultravioleta says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:17am

This is awesome!! really funny, I want more levels!

tmpxyz says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:07am

So fun and hilarious, love it.

MatMortatti says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:21am

MAN, now that was awesome.

Seriously, you managed to create a huge amount of really good content - is this possible?

Now, I think the game is a little too hard. It would be interesting to improve balancing a bit. Well, maybe it's because I should try it more - back to playing!

Naestra says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:16pm

MASTERPIECE

This is the greatiest fun I've seen this LD, the concept is super funny and the execution is nearly perfect.
The level of polish is insanely high, everything is super juiced and feels rewarding. (The sex-appeal score with drumroll, the blood particles when you died, the sreenshake, the effect when you get a key or a coin, the hilarious sound effects when you pull a teeth or explode a pimple.)
It's also pretty challenging in a good way, the level design is nice and I love how the game reserves suprises and unlockable features for those who really try to reach the end (I had to restart the game 4 times before I beat it, the Prince became so fabulous on last levels haha !)

The pixel art is top-notch, I love the colors, the little particle effects ect. It really captures the spirit of the game as much as the soundtrack which is memorable.
The number of details you put in it is incredible and each time I restart I found more of them. (the "Happily Ever After Shop", the blood that become green at level 7, the poop that explode when it falls on spades)
It also totally feets the theme in a very unique and funny way.
(oh and I found the wall climb mechanics works really well, should me a feature in more platformers instead of regular wall jump)

I will definitely com back later to play it again !

5 stars all around. It deserves more rates !

Manou says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:03pm

Ok, this game is flawless, from content to design to sounds, nothing negative to say about it.

5*

bytegrove says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:32pm

Incredible! So much stuff in this game, and everything is just so hilarious. That prince sure is nasty. xD
Fantastic work!!!

neondx says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:33pm

game was ultra fun, beautifull, music was great. level design was way too hard

Aaranos says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:12pm

I got to level 5 but then it would not show me the upper part of the level, just went off screen and died.

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:46pm

Wow, just, wow! So engaging! I don't know which one of the mini games are my favorite!

I love the graphics and art, and that you did it all by yourself! That is super awesome! You're a jack of all trades!

No negatives on this entry, just positive!

Hope you had fun making it and thanks for your kind words on my game =)

Florent Juch says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:25pm

Awesome on all points ! That work man, only in three days ! The game is hilarous and super fun ! Thanks for this good time !

blob says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:53pm

Well that's glorious. Best entry I've seen. Game gets really difficult (made it to lvl 7)... How do you remove redness from eyes?

Jolly Serpent says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:44pm

Such a weird (in a good way) game. Love all "pieces" of gameplay, crisp pixel art, sounds, music - it's all incredibly well done.

LOSTALLOY says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:40am

Awesome game! I wish the jump and wall climb were assigned to different buttons, but maybe not! Anyway great entry! The music is so funny :D

t4u says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:01am

Bug: in level 5/9 camera doesn't scroll up.(Firefox)

I love the idea but after the while I stopped liking mirror levels. I feel like there is not enough feedback for the player in mirror levels - why prince is (un)attractive.

For the gameplay itself this is a gem. Everytihng runs smoothly. Game is eye-candy and sounds just add to overall perfection.

Overall: Very strong entry

local minimum says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 2:07pm

Really well done entry. Hard but well done. I managed to get to the forth level somehow. Would have liked to spend more coins on buying hearts. It would also had been more interesting if it wasn't the typical prince and princess framing. Controls worked really smooth. Took me a little while to figure out the brushing in the mirror as the other actions were showing their selection/action more directly. Enjoyed playing.

sergicollado says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 2:52pm

It's so cool, I love graphics and it's so fun

mar3k says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:01pm

Amazing game, so well made. But for me it might have been a bit too gruesome, luckily I already ate. The controls were very unique and there were lots of content in it. Also graphics were amazing and music as well. Overall really well done!

Goutye says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:35pm

What a perfect game! I didn't understand why I am always starting with 4/5 heart or 5/6 heart everytime. I was able to reach the 8th level 3 times and I gave up! Perfect and really amazing. Have my 5 stars

reckhou says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:42am

Great game!

Freank says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 10:23am

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

tentacode says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 10:41am

Alright, five stars eveywhere, absolutely stunning to do that all by yourself for a jam, very imressed

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:12pm

Wow!! I love this game!! I think the idea is super original and the story is so funny :D Great work!!

panurge says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 3:19pm

My favourite game of this LD so far! Hugely polished and heaps of fun to play. The dual mechanics worked well and complemented each other nicely. The sound effects, art and music were spot on. The whole thing just felt right! :)

I hope you continue to develop this - I can see it making a very successful mobile game.

Only one tiny quibble - I hit the same bug as some of the other players and found the screen wouldn't scroll up when it was supposed to (I was using Firefox).

Nomys_Tempar says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 3:28pm

Really cool and well done !

Apr 25, 2016 @ 10:04pm

[Bugfix Update] The camera follows the player correctly on Firefox now, and I just published the game on Itch.io. Thanks for your comments everyone :)

AnaGF says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 10:04am

Great game, 5/5! I laughed a lot!

marmpa says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:52pm

Wow i was impressed.REally nice music and concept.REally good job.

MintArcade says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:15pm

Clearly this game deserve to be at least in top 10. Awesome game.

cakeknuckles says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 1:00am

wow, this game was fantastic!! extremely polished for a jam and really fun. great great job :>

tomlum says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 3:32am

A well deserved perfect 5. Flawless execution of a wonderful concept. Every aspect just works perfectly with every other aspect, art, music, gameplay.

Strike says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 7:41am

The platforming part has some Super Meat Boy feeling, which is actually a very good thing. This entire game is just perfect ! Good job !

bytegrove says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 10:57am

Hilarious game! Super impressed by all the stuff and game modes you managed to get in there!
I love how the mirror breaks, haha! xD
Nice work, all the stars! ;)

goibon says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 12:02pm

Wow this entry is so good, really well done!
A bit hard to play with trackpad, but then again that's the way it is with most games that require major use of the mouse.
Amazing humor in this game as well, loved that the princess was so repulsed by me that she threw up :P

Apr 27, 2016 @ 12:41pm

So funny, I couldn't stop laughing! The game is awesome and it's very complete. Good job!

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 1:23pm

This is definitely one of the bests!
The graphic is one of the best, it's totally funny, the idea is unquestionable unique, as well as the mechanics! You did an AWESOME work!

toastedgames says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 3:46pm

Doesn't match the Theme.

DariusYT says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 4:45pm

Holy... My favorite game this LD out of about sixty entries I tried so far !

What can I say ? Dat polish man, everything is just so funny and juicy! Best fun, audio and humor I've seen so far, the graphics, innovation and theme are spot on : it's a real gem with a pretty neat replay value ! Super theme interpretation too, it's like an hilarious game adaptation of The Fly.

I would be interested to make a let's play video of your game (in german). Could you please send me a mail at dariusYT@gmail.com if you would like too ?

MementoGames says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 12:50am

Just amazing!
This is so perfect that gets me angry. Damn!
Congratulations, dude!
Awesome and flawless entry.

medidog says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 1:35am

Excellent game! This is seriously the first entry that I could not get enough of! Although I'm stuck at 4th level, since it gets pretty tricky, I will keep playing to beat the game! Would love it if it was on Android! Cool!

Apr 28, 2016 @ 3:54am

This is fantastic. The controls are great, cleaning him up is hard but super fun, haha. Great submission.

Apr 28, 2016 @ 1:15pm

One of the funniest entries I've played so far, love it. Like the way you handled the mirror aspect and used it to add more to the gameplay and story, very clever. Graphics are also great, definitely one of my favourite games so far.

BSODDevTeam says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 1:59pm

Great game!

Cerno_b says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 8:07pm

You sir are a genius. Your uncle too. Please tell me that you will make a full length game out of this. It is so cool!

Rock Eaters says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 10:17pm

Hahaha, very cool game and nice level design

Palys Plays says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 10:38pm

Amazing game! Good work.

ProjectX593 says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 2:49am

Really great game, and challenging too! Could easily be one of the winners I think!

okoto says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 4:55pm

Everything has a good synergy, I would put a more readable font in the tool tips. Congratulations.

APantaloni says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 6:01pm

Very well done! Polished and funny. Graphics and audio are top notch. Nothing bad to say about this, really. Well, except that it's not really much about shapeshifting.

mooncalf says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 6:30pm

Thanks for reviewing my game.

This is truly epic. Particularly noteworthy were the controls. I'd never used mouse buttons to platform but it felt great and my meatboy training translated 100%. My one gripe is using lives ... you are keeping users from fun content. Let them experience as much as they can manage imo.

Epic entry. Well done. Bravo? Stupendous!

Globosphere says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 6:42pm

Flawless entry, a real delight to play through. Most fun and funny game of this LD so far and the level of details and polish is just amazing. I love how the theme was interpreted : the Prince transformation is well done and hilarious (I laughed so hard when the third eye appeared for the first time). I also loved the fact that the mirror breaks because of your ugliness and that mirrors levels become more difficult when the prince loses his hair and pimples can spawn on the top of is head. The happily ever after shop is also a great idea, it allowed me to pick between dungeon and mirror upgrades depending on which part I was bad. You seem to master gamefeel (Vlambeer-style screenshakes haha !) and what make a game engaging in general (thanks to unlockable features such as toothpuller and dash). The level design and difficulty curve are spot on. You made this ALONE at 18 YEARS OLD ? Fucking genius ! Looks like a winner to me.

Apr 29, 2016 @ 7:13pm

Finally managed to win the game. Damn level 9 is so hard ! +1 follower on twitter and itch.io ;)

Apr 29, 2016 @ 7:16pm

Oops I commented my own entry instead of the one I was playing. Sorry for that haha
@thanks for your comments everyone !

ChummyWinds says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 8:14pm

Very awesome! I loved it!I played it 4 levels deep then died sadly, and began again just for funsies, but stayed around a lot longer! I played like 4 times, and got a buncha levels in when your player starts lookin really ragged and old. Loved this game! 5/5

ito123456789 says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 1:41am

5/5 in all categories. The ammount of content and polish is extreme for such a short time. Also the game looks and sound great.

The concept, design and execution is almost flawless.

This is the LD35 winner for me.

Rulrite says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 1:42am

Incredible job, Pietro; very well done. I can hardly believe this is a jam game - I've no idea how you put it all together so fast! It's just so high-quality in terms of graphics, sound, gameplay... Your uncle did a fantastic job with the music, too.

I've really nothing bad to say about this - and you already know how well you've done thanks to all the other comments! You're extremely talented, and you should be very proud.

Thankyou so much for your comments on my own game, by the way - they mean a lot, coming from someone like you. And I hope you don't mind a new follower on Twitter...~

Yakka says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 1:02pm

Okay man, this is awesome. It's a huge amount of work. The only thing that I disliked is when the prince gets uglier with time, whatever you do. It is very frustrating: you shave him and a few seconds later, new hairs! But it's okay, the whole game is great. 5 stars!

May 1, 2016 @ 9:17am

Wow, quite an experience. I was constantly switching between "this is sooo disgusting" and "This is hilarious"

Great job :)

May 1, 2016 @ 11:44am

This game is my number one of ludum dare so far, everything is great the sound, the graphics and the gameplay is very good and innovative. Could use a continue so you don't have to restart from the whole game again if you fail.

Broxxar says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 3:00pm

Incredibly well done! I died on level 9 though and was really sad to see there are no checkpoints or anything, especially given how brutally difficult the platform levels get :(

kik0729 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 3:24pm

Really one of the best entries out there!

Khaoz_Fang says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 4:09pm

Very funny game.WTF did I do..

graebor says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 4:57pm

Wow, amazing level of polish. Love the controls, the levels present just the right amount of challenge to be intense but not too frustrating. Fantastic job!

3rdChance says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 5:24pm

fun game and nice graphics =D!
One of the best!

VapeurTeam says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 8:26pm

Even though I was a bit puzzled with the tools (it felt like i shouldnt waste time reading the description), I had SO. MUCH. FUN! It's great, very tight in and by itself. Amazing work!

LeReveur says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 8:30pm

Ha Ha Ha really funny and challenging game, and this charming prince seems to be more acurate to the reallity... Well done ! :D

Joror says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 8:48pm

Awesome! Really cool platforming mechanic, combined with a very silly and funny transforming mirror game. Quite a complete package.
Only minus would be that the fail-system is a tad harsh. But I'm also not a very good platform gamer. ;)

Galderik says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 9:03pm

P.E.R.F.E.C.T. Parfait. Perfecto. Well deserved all 5s.

Diel Mormac says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 9:15pm

This game made me laugh a lot and it's so addictive!

Everything about this game is really awesome, the art, the music.

An inovative idea combined with very well designed levels, the game have a good balancing, is simple, cute and troll :F hahahaha

I did reached the level 9 and only stop to play because I needed try other games, for sure I'm going to back here to play it more!

I can see this game reaching the top 10, great work Pietro, as expected!

Tselmek says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 2:12pm

Pretty cool, awesomely polished and the sound effects are hilarious, great entry!

PinkIndian says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 2:54pm

This was fun. Way too hard though... Loved the graphics and the platformer gameplay. Innovative way to control the player with mouse only.

KairosXIII says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 12:18am

Wow, that was tons of fun, had me laughing the whole way through. That guy whistling when you complete a level really throws it over the top, love it! Audio was spot on, it really helped to set that clever silly mood. Awesome mechanics with simple controls, can't beat that. Good job!

NightShadow0 says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 12:39am

I like the main mechanic, super simple one-button control, works really well. The mirror part is... different. Not really my cup of tea. I can definitely appreciate the inventiveness, though, and the amount of content is impressive. Other than that, i just wish the upgrades persisted after the game ended. Nice work!

luzog says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 8:16am

FUCKING AMAZING GAME, love it !
Man, this game is just a 5/5 on everything... Creativity at its finest. SO MUCH FUN.

kestrelgames says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 5:50pm

Really good, it neeeeds to be a phone game for sure (tapping mechanic would be perfect for the mirror game which I find really difficult with a mouse) :)

GaryS says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 5:47pm

Excellent work - as others have said, the level of polish here is exceptional. I enjoyed the gameplay and found the whole thing rather amusing. Well done!

TheCain says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 3:20am

Very impressive.

flummox3d says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 8:49am

Really should have more precise controls, but otherwise a really great game. Nice work! :)

oxysoft says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 2:22pm

excellent entry. it had the perfect difficulty, excellent art and sound design, etc. just a great entry all around

May 8, 2016 @ 6:56pm

You were featured in Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-orIwB_E_qw

managore says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 3:51pm

Easily one of my favourite games. I love the combination of platforming and click-a-thon, even though it seems I'm pretty terrible at skin care and dental! All the little details make this game very fun and very satisfying. Thank you for making it!

David Cookie says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:18pm

Perfection! The platformer is already really good and there's an even better game with the mirror stage!? Just amazing how you manage to do that in just 3 days. You could almost sell it right now with this level of polish! Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]